We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming, warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mandalay
Ranked #18 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming, warm and friendly”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have visited the Mandalay before and will do again as it is just perfect in so many ways. Jill and Joe always make us feel very welcome. The location is perfect and convenient for the harbour. Breakfast is a feast not only for the food but also for the wealth of information shared by Jill and Joe regarding Cornwall's wealth of sites and scenes. We always request room 11 as this has fine views of the valley and country side. The Mandalay is always very clean, located away from traffic and has its own parking, a godsend considering the small roads of Mevagissey. We usually book our next long weekend stay as we leave the last. Joe and Gill are lovely hosts, there is nowhere we'd rather stay in the region.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
76
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

It was our 3rd trip back to the mandalay in mevegissey and although it had been quite a few years we can certainly say that the warm and friendly welcome from Joe and Jill had not changed. The Hotel is an ideal location to explore the beautiful village of Mevagissey and to take in some of the amazing views from the harbour and coastal path. The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan are very close by and well worth a visit. The Hotel has great parking facilty wich is a must in Mevagissey. Once again Joe and Jill made us feel very welcome and supplied us with a fab and filling breackfast every morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

When we booked into the Mandalay we had never been to Cornwall but Jill told us all about it on the phone.She was very helpful.
On arrival we were impressed with the lovely garden and even more impressed with our bedroom.It was so cheerfull the whole place had a warm homely atmosphere.
The B&B has good car park and you only have a short walk to the village.
Joe showed us lovely walk across the coastal path to the beach.
There are lots of eating places in Mevagissey but after Joe's breakfast we didn't need anything until supper.
We have since recommended our friends to the Mandalay and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Jill and Joe are very welcoming and made our stay at The Mandalay a lovely experience! The room was lovely with en-suite and a big bay window. It is a nice stroll to the harbour with some great places to eat and visit. Mevagissey is a beautiful place! We hadn't booked anywhere to stay and stumbled across The Mandalay at 6pm desparate to find somewhere to sleep the night, it turned out we couldn't have reserved a better place and I didn't want to leave in the morning! The breakfast was great, nothing was too much trouble for them and the atmosphere was brilliant! We stayed in 3 different B&Bs during our trip to Cornwall and this was by far our favourite, in my opinion there is no better place to stay in Mevagissy or in Cornwall. Being within an hours drive from Lands End and Newquay it is a fantastic base to stay at while you visit other areas. Well behaved dogs are welcomed here too, not that you would have known there was any if like ourselves you are not a dog owner. We will return!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Cannot praise this hotel enough , Clean , comfortable , peaceful , excellent food, parking.
Mevagissey has all the amenities you need
The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
it's the perfect centre for touring.
Would not hesitate to reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinco126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Had only one night at the Mandalay - but it was a rewarding experience. Jill and Jo were outgoing, friendly and very happy to chat and help with silly tourist-type questions. Jo has a great collection of Australian reptiles - which we studied and discussed for a while. The hotel was situated up on a hill about 5 minutes walk out of town. Lovely front garden and little guest lounge area - great to relax and have a drink. The walk down to town is quick and easy - however the walk back up the hill could be taxing if you are unfit.
You can drive down into town, but parking and driving in the small lanes is very difficult. I agree that the bathroom was a little cramped - but this is to be expected in some of the older English buildings - so tourists must take this into consideration.
Jo makes a HUGE breakfast - and we both opted for the "girls" version of the full English.
Even that was big - meant for a big girl maybe! Visit to Landhydrock House on the way to Mevagissey was well worth the effort. (National Trust)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noosalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

First thing every one needs to know is that customer service is very good at Mandaley. Both Jill and Joe are very friendly and welcoming. They would always be available to give you tips on restaurants, sight seeing spots or anything that you need to know.
Secondly the "Full English Breakfast" or as I have seen in some places they like to call it "Full Cornish Breakfast". The breakfast had a choice of cereal, orange juice and a big English breakfast. Let's just say the second day I asked for half of everything.
I stayed in room 3 and 1. Both of them were twin rooms en-suit. They are modest but are more then comfortable. It is very good value for your money. Jill had told me before hand the shower opened into the room. The shower cubicle in both rooms just sits in the corner of the room.
Overall I rate this B&B at five starts for their service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMesquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.1 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 35 in Mevagissey
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#15 of 35 in Mevagissey
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 35 in Mevagissey
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Property: The Mandalay
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing