We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want”
Review of Trennicks B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trennicks B&B
Ranked #8 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Orchard Room for a couple of nights at the beginning of October and I have to say that it is all you could possibly want in a B&B and run by a couple, John and Clare, who know what they are doing and obviously enjoy doing it. The perfect hosts - they even welcome you with a pot of tea and home made cake. Things we liked:

1) It is within easy walking distance of the centre of Mevagissey, the harbour, pubs and restaurants. Perfect for going out in the evening and enjoying the odd glass of wine! Bit of a hill coming back but nothing too taxing. It has its own parking.
2) Our room was large, light, welcoming, spotlessly clean and airy. It had patio doors leading onto a patio with views down to the sea. The only noise you'll ever hear from outside will be the birds!
3) We had a lovely comfortable king size bed that you could get lost in - brilliant.
4) The bathroom again was spotlessly clean and had a shower that two could have got into (wish I was a bit younger!) and could deluge you with water.
5) All you could eat at breakfast, fresh fruit, cereals, gorgeous home made bread and of course the traditional hot english. You won't need lunch. All at a table that has views out to sea.
6) We thought Mevagissey was a pretty cool place, delightful harbour, narrow streets, traditional pubs and some nice places to eat. It was even within walking distance of the Lost Gardens of Heligan - well worth a visit.

All in all we had a great time and hope to be back some time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldPinDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

After having walked a hundred odd miles of the Cornish Coast Path our last night was spent at Trennicks. What luxury it was and what a delicious breakfast not forgetting the homemade brownies and shortbread on our arrival. Clare and Tony recommended a great fish restaurant just down the hill for supper and when there wasn't a taxi available the following day, Tony drove us to the station.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 75100SSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a superb overnight stay here in September. Such a warm welcome, great food and a real 'home from home' feel to the rooms. Always pot luck when booking places, but we completely made the right choice in Trennicks.
A must if you're staying in Mevagissey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Tried the rest? Now try the best.We have just visited what must be the best b&b in Britain. Tony and Clare are the hosts with the most. Trennicks is just perfect,well thought out layout. All rooms are en-suite have plenty of room and are very comfortable.Everyone receives a warm welcome and cream tea or tea and cake on arrival. No need to eat out in the evening, their meals are very,very good and,compared to the local restaurants, very reasonably priced.Even though the approach to Trennicks is a little narrow,we had no problems reaching it. (Left hand drive vehicle).
They are very knowledgable about all of the places of interest to visit,how to get there and where to park. Interested in walking? They can tell you where to go and how long,ish,the walk will take and where to eat.
We had six very enjoyable days with Tony and Clare and,as they were perfect hosts,we were a little sad to leave.
Ann,Eric and Cheryl Davies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric_davies_casasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for two nights and enjoyed a very warm welcome - lovely room, great breakfast and location. Relaxed stay, especially enjoyed the french toast and hot chocolate made specially for non-caffeine drinking husband. Approach road is very skinny - was glad my hubby was driving!

Was a little chilly for a dip in the pool but looked lovely and clean, with lounger cushions and towels provided. Delicious shortbread in room, and homebaked afternoon treats were great additions.

Not relevant for us this trip but we were interested to learn about a local company that delivers your luggage between your accommodation along the coastal path - great service for keen walkers and reasonably priced.

Salamander restaurant - was fully booked during our stay so we didn't get to try it, so good idea to book in advance. Did have a lovely meal in the Fountain Inn - recommend the fish stew. Also recommend the paella in the biodome at the Eden Project - we stayed there for dinner.

Room Tip: Lovely view from Lighthouse - of the Lighthouse and harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just spent a fantastic four days here . Tony and Clare are fantastic hosts .
To call Trennicks a B&B does not do them justice . The service and accommodation is as good as any top ranking hotel .
Tony and Clare go out of their way to make sure your stay is as good as it can be .Nothing was to much trouble to them .
If your looking for a relaxing holiday in Mevagissey Trennicks has to be the place to stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Mum and I stayed here last week and I couldn't recommend it higher. Clare and Tony are lovely hosts - nothing was too much trouble and so helpful and pleasent. Delicious homemade cakes seemed to pop up at every opportunity :-)

Our room was lovely - light and airy with lovely views of the harbour, the gardens were well kept with a lovely swimming pool, the view from the breakfast room was outstanding, as were the breakfasts themselves. We spotted games, DVDs, reading books, reference books - anything you could ask for.

Anyone staying here is in for a treat. Thank you for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone's throw Cottage
Stone's throw Cottage
#11 of 34 in Mevagissey
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trennicks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trennicks B&B

Address: Trennicks Valley Park Lane | Mevagissey, Mevagissey PL26 6RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that due to our swimming pool insurance restrictions, we are unable to accommodate children under 16 years of age. Breakfast with a grandstand view of Mevagissey Harbour and the sea, sampling local Cornish and homemade products from our menu. The three warm en-suite bedrooms have powerful showers and comfy kingsize beds. Trennicks is a B&B with great sea views situated at the end of a quiet lane, set in peaceful large landscaped gardens, where our guests can relax with a dip in the outside pool. Only two hundred metres walk to the centre of the village, harbour and South West Coastal Path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trennicks B&B Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing