We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at Tanglewood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanglewood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanglewood House
Ranked #20 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Long Crendon near Oxford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Tanglewood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at Tanglewood. The friendly welcome and hospitality were what we had expected, both from the majority of the reviews and from the phone call to discuss booking. The room was comforatble and the ample breakfasts were as good as their awards would suggest. Tanglewood is ideally positioned in Mevagissey within a short walk of the harbour and a good selection of pubs for an evening meal. Parking is difficult at most B+Bs in Mevagissey but at Tanglewood it is on site and free. From Tanglewood there are many great places to explore, we took in the Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Eden Project, the World of Model Railways and Charlestown, all well worth a visit and Virginia and Ken who have great local knowledge can recommend many other great places to see and things to do. It's not cheap to stay at Tanglewood but it is a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan & Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Disappointing! For a premium price B & B you expect something a bit special But sadly that wasn't the case. The service was average, the bed was uncomfortable and the breakfast although surprisingly award winning was without much taste. Bath robes although said included were no where to be seen. Also parking area is supposed to provide space for up to 7 cars. You be the judge!
If its value for money and a warm welcoming atmosphere that your looking for, I would highly recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 861Tony_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed there for 3 days and we have nothing adverse to report. Here is a random selection of words and phrases which apply: friendly, approachable, clean, great breakfasts, helpful, comfortable, professional.
Within easy walking distance of the harbour and a short car drive from the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Would we stay there again? A resounding "yes".

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at Tanglewood recently as part of a work related and holiday travel event and are still speaking about the excellence of this accomodation. As someone who travelled to about 150 destinations last year via approximately 35 flights both internationally and within Australia I would recommend Virginia and Ken's establishment as one of the finest accomodation properties I have encountered. The mix of warmth and professionality, the cleanliness and attention to detail and the superb location with onsite tourisem advice and guidance from such fantastic hosts made this 3 day stop in a busy 3 week trip a true pleasure. We live in one of Australia's premier tourist destinations near Noosa and Queensland's Sunshine Coast and found Tanglewood equal to any of our premier locations and would recommend this business and the beautiful Cornwall and SW UK region to any traveller. PS Breafasts are a must!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

If you go to Mevagissey you have to stay at Tanglewood B and B. Virginia and Ken are such great hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are great, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Loved every minute.

Room Tip: Caerhays room is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneWoroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had the most memorable stay in this comfortable, spotlessly clean B&B.
The owners Virginia & Ken left no detail missed in making us welcome, the room and ensuite were cosy and nothing was missed.
The breakfasts were excellent. We chose somthing different every morning and eac

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

What can I say? We were looking for somewhere to stay on our first return to Cornwall for many years. We already had a soft spot for Mevagissey and found Tanglewood House. We wanted somewhere close to the harbour within easy walking distance. Tanglewood turned out to be the perfect location as it was nice flat walk only 200 meters from the harbour. It was even more convenient as it has off road parking for at least four vehicles. This was heaven. We sampled the delights of Virginia and Kens legendary breakfasts that set you up for the day. They are brilliant. The rooms are carefully named using local attractions and historic buildings. Virginia and Ken have appointed them very tastefully as well as being spotlessly clean. They have lots of personal touches around the house as well as outside. Virginia and Ken are the perfect hosts as nothing was too much trouble including recommending advice on places to eat and visit. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#2 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#16 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood House

Property: Tanglewood House
Address: Valley Road, Mevagissey PL26 6XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanglewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tanglewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing