We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to find free entrance”

Mevagissey Aquarium
Radstock, Nr Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice to find free entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Interesting to see the local fish and crabs in large aquariums right in the harbour. Happily donated on the way out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    155
    100
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent free attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A brilliant use of the old lifeboat station. Free aquarium with a short video of the fishing industry in the area. Worth supporting the local volunteers who keep it open. A great little free educational resource. Thank you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ok, no awards here but nice to pop in for a look. The kids liked it and it was nice to break the day up a little.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Small, free aquarium. Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Based on the old lifeboat house, Mevagissey aquarium is a free attraction funded by voluntary donations. It is certainly not large, nor is it intended to house a large number of exotic species. What you will see is fish that have been caught along with the edible fish but which cannot be returned to the sea. As a way to see what the local sea life looks like it's quite good. I visited in August 2014 and 2013, and noted that several specimens were still present on my second visit. However the large spider crabs were no longer there.

As far as I can tell, as a once keen aquarist myself, the fish are well provided for. The "dead fish" some reviewers mention are whitebait which wash up on the beaches. They are put in as food for the exhibits. Talking to the volunteer working there I was told that these specimens can't be returned to the sea for various reasons. They seemed happy to me, swimming about and interacting with the contents of the tanks and other sea creatures.

No fee but there are two donation boxes - absolutely no pressure is put on you to donate. I would say it is worth a 15-20 minute visit, and is quite interesting but not extensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank absinthe_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a quick look in the Aquarium whilst walking along the harbour and it was great to see some of the local sea life. It's quite a small building (an old lifeboat house) with one room, so probably a visit for 15 minutes maximum.

Although its free to enter, it relies on donations and it provides a safe environment for some creatures that would unable to survive in the wild.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mevagissey Aquarium also viewed

Mevagissey, Cornwall
Caerhays, Mevagissey
 

Been to Mevagissey Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing