We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Fountain Inn

The Fountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
hants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Get in early and get a table! Food is great and generous portions. Very busy so tables are taken as soon as people finish. Beer very well kept and good choice. Everyone really friendly, lovely atmosphere and setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HantsDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    150
    34
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chance visit on the way home”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Called in here on the way back to Fowey, no tables available but we were assured by the landlord that if we popped back we would be ok, he'd never let anyone leave starving. We stayed and had a drink and a table was soon free in the Smugglers Bar. It is a proper old style pub with small rooms and bags of atmosphere. The food was excellent, the portions enormous and the staff friendly and efficient. Would recommend anyone to try it, but not on a night that I want a table.

Helpful?
Thank Sotonian1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Hidden away from the main town we found this tiny little pub with such a big personality. Friendly staff and a great selection of food to choose from. Even happy to do childrens food. It is very small and finding a seat was hard work but we were certainly lucky. I would definitely be back here for a drink and something to eat next time we are in the area. Thanks girls.

Helpful?
Thank Brackley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best real pub in Mevagissey”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub on a CAMRA recommendation and pleased we did. Local cider and beer on tap, friendly staff and if you're lucky on a Monday night, the local men's choir winding down from one of their regular concerts on the harbour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank writemerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WARM WELCOME - DELICIOUS DISHES - EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed our visit to this charming little place which was very busy and abound with character and atmosphere. A warm welcome saw us taken to the upstairs dining area where our table was cared for by a most charming and attentive waitress. Drinks arrived promptly whilst we perused the menu. My Scallops dish was extremely delicious whilst another had the Cornish sole which was huge and beautifully prepared. If I had to have one teeny word of criticism I would say too many chips on the plate ! More salad / veg and less chips would have made the meal even more appreciated. Yes we would definitely go back again !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Inn also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing