We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old pub”
Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we stopped off here for a couple of drinks, we were going to eat here but is was packed,
the ale was very nice and so were the staff. a lot of people were going for the fish and chips which I think is there speciality, a couple of people said it was really nice.
hopefully next time we will manage to eat here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This 14th (?) century inn in the centre of the Cornish village of Mevagissey is lovely. There are only a few bedrooms but at £60 (ensuite) and £45 (double) it is worth it. The breakfasts are lovely and you can also book in for dinner which is worth it out of season as other options can be limited (although the local fish and chips make it a real treat). The inn has two bars and the locals can be very welcoming. Good points - We escape there on a relatively regular basis as it is easy to find and easy to get to by train (to St Austell) and then by taxi (about £10) or by the local bus service (very regular). Bad points - we found that one of the bedrooms was very cold and damp but then it had been raining consistently all year !

Room Tip: There's not much choice but ring to ask for advice....they're all rather cosy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Wonderful fresh homemade food including the chips! Portions more than ample, cannot comment on the desserts as we were all too full to have one, friend and welcoming staff, quirky and cosy environment full of history in this historic fishing town. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaysunLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Your hosts, are tremendous. The staff working there equally so. We had a family trip over the last bank holiday weekend. The friendliness and attention to detail was superb (and genuine too!).

Only downside was 'sex-rampant' seagulls and a guard cat. The latter being dealt with.

This place is an old and lived-in building with history in abundance. An ideal base to explore the area, and once again, run by fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My review is based solely on stopping at The Fountain Inn for a couple of pints; I haven't eaten in or stayed at this venue.

Bar staff were very friendly, the interior is very comfortable, a classic English pub, lots of character and personality in the building and it's layout. The selection of ales was impressive and varied - a real find for anyone interested in trying different beers and stouts.

Mevagissey is a town full of character and this place fits in perfectly. The only negative I can find, and actually perhaps it adds to the charm, is trying to find the toilet. A real adventure - I think the locals like sending you the wrong way too... :)

From all accounts the food is recommended too but I can't testify to this personally.

You have to visit if you're in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MJB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Having never been to Mevagissy we had no idea what to expect but we were both pleased to find a working port with real people and businesses sprinkled with some tourist shops, the Fountain was a wonderful old pub which seems to serve just as many locals as tourists, the local people are all very friendly and are always willing to help, the food in the Fountain was wonderful the fish stew beat my partner it is an epic dish, I had the cod and chips with mushy peas this was so tasty, we stayed in room one which is at the back of the pub up a spiral stair case which does suffer from a certain amount of bombardment from seagulls, if you dont mind that and the gulls giving you a wake up call once in the room you have all you need for B&B, and I have to mention the breakfast Bill asks you what you would like and also suggests local foods, this is one one the best breakfasts I have tasted and the "hogs pudding" was so good I went to buy some before I left for home.

If you are prepared to look past the gulls you will have a great time at the Fountain and Megavissy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one which is up a small spiral staircase which as mentioned does sometimes suffer...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunksoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Fountain Inn is a traditional pub offering a good range of beers and ciders, great food and a warm welcome from the friendly landlord and his excellent bar staff. I was part of a group of 11, visiting Mevagissey for a weekend break - the Fountain was recommended to us by some locals and, once we were in there, it was difficult to get us out again!

I am surprised by another review of the food as being sub-standard as we were offered a large lunch menu from which we chose a wide range of dishes - all of which were delicious and very reasonably priced.

Mevagissey has several good pubs but the atmosphere in the Fountain Inn was so warm that we failed to get to some of them - not that I regret that decision one bit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.4 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mevagissey
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#21 of 34 in Mevagissey
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wheelhouse
The Wheelhouse
#22 of 34 in Mevagissey
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: St Georges Square, Mevagissey PL26 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Mevagissey
The Fountain Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing