We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has a certain charm...”
Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #15 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It has a certain charm...”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 and whilst by no means being the best B & B I have ever stayed in I thought the Fountain Inn had a certain charm about it. The price was reasonable, the breakfasts were good, the pub itself was lively - and included a free performance from the Mevagissey Male Voice Choir! - The landlord Bill and his staff were very friendly and had great local knowledge which was given freely and they all had a smile on their face and nothing was too much trouble - even the removal of a wayward fledgling Seagull which gave us a sleepless first night, but when you are 50 metres from the sea you can't expect not to hear the local wildlife!

The room (Room 1) was clean and tidy with a comfortable four poster bed and although the TV lost it's signal once or twice I wasn't that bothered as it made for a nice escape. The only downside was that it was reached via a narrow spiral staircase which did have a fair amount of bird mess on it but I think it would be like painting the Forth Road Bridge cleaning that up all the time.

In the pub, there were good Real Ales on handpump - the St Austell Brewery HSD was especially good - and a generally good atmosphere in the bar of an evening but there were some downsides such as no parking on site although there was privately owned parking available with a few minutes walk but at a rather hefty price but there is very limited parking in the whole village full stop so it was a case of needs must.

All in all we thought it was decent value...oh, and do visit The Lost Gardens of Heligan which are just up the road which are a real gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickson_maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    27
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oldbury
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we have been to mevagissey the last couple of years and both times made a point of going in this pub i just love it the place ooses character and charm the fish and chips are supposed to be great but never got the chance to sample them maybe next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely little pub with great atmosphere and none of the 'attitude' you sometimes get in Cornwall.
Delicious food and a good choice of drinks. I can heartily recommend the scallops and steak, cooked to perfection. Went back for Sunday lunch too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

we stopped off here for a couple of drinks, we were going to eat here but is was packed,
the ale was very nice and so were the staff. a lot of people were going for the fish and chips which I think is there speciality, a couple of people said it was really nice.
hopefully next time we will manage to eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This 14th (?) century inn in the centre of the Cornish village of Mevagissey is lovely. There are only a few bedrooms but at £60 (ensuite) and £45 (double) it is worth it. The breakfasts are lovely and you can also book in for dinner which is worth it out of season as other options can be limited (although the local fish and chips make it a real treat). The inn has two bars and the locals can be very welcoming. Good points - We escape there on a relatively regular basis as it is easy to find and easy to get to by train (to St Austell) and then by taxi (about £10) or by the local bus service (very regular). Bad points - we found that one of the bedrooms was very cold and damp but then it had been raining consistently all year !

Room Tip: There's not much choice but ring to ask for advice....they're all rather cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Wonderful fresh homemade food including the chips! Portions more than ample, cannot comment on the desserts as we were all too full to have one, friend and welcoming staff, quirky and cosy environment full of history in this historic fishing town. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaysunLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Your hosts, are tremendous. The staff working there equally so. We had a family trip over the last bank holiday weekend. The friendliness and attention to detail was superb (and genuine too!).

Only downside was 'sex-rampant' seagulls and a guard cat. The latter being dealt with.

This place is an old and lived-in building with history in abundance. An ideal base to explore the area, and once again, run by fantastic staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#21 of 34 in Mevagissey
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: St Georges Square, Mevagissey PL26 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Mevagissey
The Fountain Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing