We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little traditional pub with decent food”
Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #12 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Cosy pub with open fire and local St Austell ales. They do various food to eat in or take out. This was the only place doing fish and chips in Mevagissy out of season in early evening so we took them to eat by the harbour. The chips were ok, not as good as chip shop chips but the fish was worth eating here. My partner does not particularly like fried battered fish but this was perfect as the batter was nicely thin and the fish still big and juicy. £6.50 for cod and chips.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went there in August 2013 and sat upstairs. We ordered baked potatoes and waited.... and waited... someone who came in after us got served... we asked the waitress... who came back and said that they had forgotten about us! So what did they think we were sat there for? By that time, it was nearly time for our car park ticket to run out, so we had to go. Not impressed.

The pub itself looked good, but without good service it is nothing.

Room Tip: Don't rely on getting your dinner there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank CarrieOnScreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Super bar, great open fire and good atmosphere so what's the but? Well we ordered the fish n chips which came with mushy peas and tasted super, £6.15 fair enough BUT had we'd been told that as OAPs we could the fish n chips in the other bar for £4.50 OAP concessions of course we'd have gone through. It left a slightly bitter taste in our mouths. I bet a penny to a pound if we'd been from Cornwall and not tourists this deal would have pointed out to us!! OAPs take note.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One of our Son & Families local pubs, beuty fish & chips,steaks & breakfast,recommend Lillys poached eggs,we stayed here when our Son got married in November and we were made so welcome by Billy that it was sad leaving.
Wouln't hesitate in staying again.

Room Tip: Because we booked late we had a room without en-suit but still had our own bathroom outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishpair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Superb little pub/B&B in a very lovely scenic Cornish fishing village. Great rooms, great people and excellent value for money will recommend it everyone l know. Oh, and the food was yummy too, especially the fish and chips!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodgatewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The seafood dishes are excellent, lovely setting and very reasonable. Make sure you book as there is limited space and when the downstairs seating is booked requires eating upstairs.

Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a 3 day holiday celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary and had a fantastic time .The fountain Inn with friendly people ,great food and so near the harbour couldn't have been better.thanks Bill .trips to Charlestown and fowey are worth taking ; ferry from mevigissey to fowey return £12. Check out the retro shop ran by Dom &wife on the main street on left pass the ship inn.thank you all for being so welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlid1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#24 of 34 in Mevagissey
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wheelhouse
The Wheelhouse
#21 of 34 in Mevagissey
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
85 reviews
0 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#11 of 34 in Mevagissey
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: St Georges Square, Mevagissey PL26 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Mevagissey
The Fountain Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing