We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely awful”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

stayed at the hotel for 3 days the room we were booked in was dirty, hairs in bath and on shower curtain, carpets not clean cobwebs everywhere the drinking glasses in bathroom was obviously recycled and dirty, would not use. The bed linen had hairs in , window broken in room and very noisey, i would not recommend this hotel. The furniture damaged and unclean. We were moved to another room and there was cobwebs in the room as well, not one but many in both rooms, dirty socks left in draws, and the whole experience was awful. Manager or owner tried to dismiss it. The only good thing about hotel is staff. Breakfast, and evening meal which you will need a magnifying glass to view the vegetables. would not stay here again totally overpriced and four stars mmmmmmm dont understand that the rooms are unclean, and noisey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l cater l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John2016, Owner at Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Sounds like a hotel from hell! I am surprised you stayed for three days, I am sure I wouldn't have, especially with two rooms equally as bad. Yet during your stay you made no further comment or complaint and seemed pleasant and happy.-

We are meticulous in our standards of cleanliness. We score very highly on cleanliness in AA inspections, when all rooms are very closely examined. Many of our guests also comment on the high standard of room cleanliness. 88 Trip Advisor reviews out of 137 rate us as excellent.

I was not dismissive of your complaints about the room.Guests are always deemed to be right and so you were moved into another room for the night. As we were fully booked this could only be for one night. I checked that room before you were moved. It was perfectly clean, as was the room you vacated but we do not argue with guests. If you felt the room was unsatisfactory we would not want you to stay in it until it had been thoroughly re-cleaned.

The motives of someone who removes the duvet from the bed and examines the lower sheet on entering a hotel room have to be questioned. The bedlinen was quite obviously laundry fresh but you discovered one two centimetre straight hair. You discovered a sock in the drawer of the new room and, interestingly, you left items of your own behind in the room to be re-cleaned. Was this some sort of test or trap? If you try hard enough you will find something in any room to fuel a complaint . Our chambermaids are excellent but very occasionally they slip up. I am not saying that we are always without fault but in this case the hotel is unrecognisable from your description. Perhaps if we had been able to upgrade you or had given you a complimentary stay you would have been satisfied.

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We take careful note of all feedback. We have had a thorough review of our cleaning regime to make doubly sure everything is as good as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    80
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
249
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When the weather picked up we decided to try and extend a three night stay elsewhere in Cornwall to five nights but found accommodation in mid-August understandably a bit limited. We came across availability at the Trevalsa Court and decided to book. The location is lovely, right on the coastal path with views of the bay and just a short walk into Mevagissey. We had a double room, overlooking the garden and sea, which was clean, comfortable and well appointed (the bed was very comfy). We were a little concerned that our room was directly above the kitchen but it didn't affect us at all. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant on either night of our stay (which we regretted when other guests spoke so highly of the food) the breakfasts were very good and the cream tea lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner very pleasant - on a wet day he recommended a visit to the National Trust property at Lanhydrock and we thoroughly enjoyed it. If we are in this part of Cornwall again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were here for 2 nights at end of August . What a super little hotel find.
The staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful . We had a twin room as that wasthe only one left. The breakfast is freshly cooked to order which may take a little time but we didn't mind as we gazed out the windows at the lovely views of the sea.the gardens over look the sea and your able to access the costal path through the gate.
We didn't have an evening meal here but the menu looked very nice, we took a short walk to mevagissy in the evening to the many fish restaurants in the village. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return to this lovely country house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I had the single room on the edge of the hotel. Felt damp because it was cold. Needed a good clean
My friends double room upstairs was lovely but she did get the smell from the kitchen in through the window
Ate there on the saturday evening and the waitress was tidying the other tables of the serviettes etc whilst we were still eating.
Wouldnt stay again. The manager replied to my email of complaint and offered us a free meal. long way to travel for that.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John2016, Owner at Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
The room in question is very popular and frequently requested for return visits. It most certainly is not damp and we are meticulous about room cleanliness. No complaints were made at the time of the visit, only a request for heating during the hottest period we have had in years. We are very confused as to what went wrong here but offered complimentary dinners as a token of goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from 2 nights here. Highlight is the views from rooms overlooking sea. Rooms are well appointed and stylish. Public rooms are welcoming and comfortable in a country house style. We found service to be excellent and food good. For pub meal try the Crown in St Ewe. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123oliveoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for a cream tea on a beautiful sunny afternoon, what a lovely place, way too posh for us but nonetheless less we were served with a smile and the cream tea was nice..what a view! Can't comment on the accommodation but rest is nice..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frighty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel has a great location, wonderful views and a lovely building. The staff were friendly but our stay was marred by annoying little niggles.
My friend's room on the ground floor was too cold, but I had to keep my bedroom firmly closed in the evening due to the smell of fried fish wafting up from the kitchen. We decided to eat in the hotel on Saturday evening. The food was ok but there was little atmosphere, especially as the staff were clearing up the surrounding tables as we were still eating. The toast fiasco on Sunday morning was worthy of Fawlty Towers. My toast arrived 15 minutes after my breakfast. The neighbouring table got theirs as they sat down. How hard can it be to provide toast with a cooked breakfast?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weelachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
229 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel

Property: Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevalsa Court Hotel stands on a cliff top with most rooms enjoying fabulous sea views. It has an eclectic mix of ancient oak beams, mullion windows and oak paneling with designer fabrics, leather sofas and modern art. We encourage guests to relax and make the hotel their holiday home. Our food, with an emphasis on fish, is largely locally produced, deliciously prepared and tastefully presented. Golf, tennis, cycle and canoe hire are available locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevalsa Court Country Hotel
Trevalsa Court Country Mevagissey
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing