We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay once again”
Review of Bodrugan Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bodrugan Barton
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay once again”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having stayed now for 3 times at this beautiful farm in spectacular surroundings I can't stress enough how much I enjoy it. Not only is the accommodation second to none the surrounding are out of this world. The location is perfect, providing many beautiful attractions at a short distance. Particular highlights during our visit were Falmouth, Newquay and the stunning Kynance Cove nr Lizard Point. The farm itself is a perfect location for an amble through stunning countryside down to a lovely, unspoiled cove where you can laze on the beach or venture through the rock pools. The swimming pool is a great advantage too, particularly if you have children with you. We chose this time to stay in Rockpool which is a simply gorgeous cottage with a stunning kitchen and spectacular views. All in all a perfect place to stay in what can only be described as my favourite English county.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebbles363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I feel really privileged to revisit Bodrugan Barton Farm again after a couple of years. I fell in love with it the first time and being here with my wife and two young boys just re-affirms that.

It's absolutely perfect for us here. A peaceful atmosphere, close to nature, hidden away in a stunning part of Cornwall and just a short walk from a pretty secluded sandy bay.

Bodrugan Barton is a family run farm just a few minutes drive along the coast from the picturesque Fishing village of Mevagissey. Tim and Sally do an exceptional job to make you feel really comfortable during your stay. A lovely basket of local goodness awaited us in Swallows cottage. This traditional stone walled cottage has everything we needed for a comfortable stay. A fully equipped kitchen, two comfortable double bedrooms, a large family bathroom and a large comfy dining/lounge area with TV, DVD and WiFi. The cottage is kept nice and clean, there are bath towels, tea towels, spare blankets etc and although the amenities are modern it still has a wonderful authentic traditional country feel to it.

Facilities include a good sized heated swimming pool, sauna, barn with ping pong table and activities and a lovely little garden with a covered dining/chill area overlooking the pond. You really can just sit back with a glass of wine and watch the Swallows chasing each other from here. A 15 min walk along a coastal path through the cow fields brings you to a beautiful secluded sandy bay that few people know about.

Bodrugan Barton was a great base from which to visit our friends, beaches and local attractions including Pentewan, Polkerris, Fowey, Volt, Watergate Bay, St Michaels Mount, Eden project and much more. For provisions there's a couple of large supermarkets towards St Austell or closer little village shops. We mostly ate out or picnicked but easily prepared meals for four in our kitchen when we needed to.

The farm has been around for several hundred years and run by many generations of the Kendall family! I'd highly recommend Swallows Cottage at Bodrugan Barton although there's a good range of accommodation to suit most people here. Best of all it's just a fantastic place to be, rest and recharge away from the 'smoke'. I think we'll be back!

Room Tip: Have a look at their website for accommodation and availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Bodrugan occupies a special spot in Cornwall. A tranquil,friendly family farm with great walks and scenery. A true escape. The food is a cut above traditional farm cuisine, and the setting pure Daphne du Maurier. You get a great welcome and a chance to experience the rural idyll and if you are lucky a chance to see the resident seal of the farm beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for ten days, in a self catering cottage called Swallows, one of several on this working farm. This is a relaxed place, Sally and Tim are friendly and accommodating, farm life goes on around you but is not intrusive (we loved watching the sheep and dogs!!). Swallow cottage is near the indoor pool which is a good size and a few steps away from the cottage. We had our own small garden with views of a pond that is a lovely place to sit with a drink or a book. A welcome basket of the makings of a cream tea and some milk and cake greeted us when arrived. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped, nice big bathroom, but I think we missed a dishwasher a bit. Tim and Sally and Tim's parents who also live at the farm are all so helpful and it was clear to us that they really do want people to enjoy their stay on their farm. We would definitely go back. Thank you for a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Swallows sleeps four in two roomy double rooms. One bed is a zip and link super king or twin. Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my second stay at this excellent accommodation near mevagissey. Wonderful fresh and local food cooked and served by Tim and Sally. Clean and arty accommodation with a modern twist. Can't wait to go back for a third
Time next year. We have asked for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Barn conversion which was for the people on the art course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank veggiegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had a great break here in March staying in the converted barn, my 3rd visit to Bodrugan Barton Farm. The first floor is designed as a studio for painting in my case, with a lounge area for relaxing and a kitchen area for food/snack preparation, the ground floor has a variety of single & double en suite rooms. The rooms are beautifully clean and the beds comfortable with fresh crisp cotton linen. Would also be great for large family holidays as well as craft/walking holidays. We were full board and we enjoyed the delights of Sally and Tim's delicious farmhouse food they are amazing hosts and wonderful friendly people, nothing too much trouble. Plenty to do here, just a short walk from the farm you can find a private beach, there is also an indoor heating swimming pool on the farm, gardens of heligan a short car ride and of course you have views from the farm of the delightful harbour of Mevagissey . I have wonderful memories of my holidays here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the barn for a painting holiday in October and had a wonderful time despite awful weather. Tim and Sally are excellent hosts - friendly and relaxed. The food is sublime - all local and fresh; we even had fresh mackerel for breakfast. The rooms are comfortable with fresh white linen. Bodrugan is a working farm and it is a delight to watch the working dogs go about their work with the sheep. Well worth the trip.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.0 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon Cove
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodrugan Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodrugan Barton

Property: Bodrugan Barton
Address: Mevagissey PL26 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bodrugan Barton Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing