We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disabled visitor”
Review of The Central Cafe

The Central Cafe
Restaurant details
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“disabled visitor”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The first chip shop you come too in village, a reasonable sized room to sit in and enjoy your food, which is typical seaside food, costs more than you may be used to in a city, but generally the food is good, fresh and made to order. The staff are friendly and will help you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    36
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bog-standard”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We went here a few times but the food was variable. For instance, one evening we had the tuna steak and it was very tough. The staff were friendly and obliging but there was a smell of old bins near one of the seating areas which put us off!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We visited The Central Cafe during the last week of September so it was not too busy (school holidays over) and I must say we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were happy and friendly, they served us with a smile and a chat, probably not always possible at busy times during the height of the season but nonetheless we speak as we find. The menu was not everything with chips as we found in most fish and chip cafes, I had prawn omelette and salad, my husband had
cod and chips, but then if chips are on offer he can't say no. The tea's not bad either, so much so I couldn't resist a second mug and prices for both food and drinks are good value.

Another point of interest are the numerous framed pictures, with short descriptions, of our Royal Family through the ages. We found them interesting, some people might not, each to their own.

If in Mevagissey again we would call in to the Central Cafe for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
From North Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

had a take away here twice during our stay to Meva, Haddock Chips and Peas were lovely, service first time was ok but the young girl on the second time couldn't wrap fish and chips to save her life I actually had to re wrap them in front of her on the counter, otherwise the fish and chips would of been on the floor, but food lovely

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffith-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Freshly cooked and absolutely scrummy. We eat in and it is spotless with excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crazylorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Central Cafe also viewed

Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Central Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing