We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”

Mevagissey Model Railway
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Mevagissey
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The display has obviously taken a lot of effort to put together, but it is tired. By that I mean it gives the impression of having been put in the room many years ago and nothing further being done with it. If it is raining and you like model railways then this is the place to go. It is not worth a special trip to Megavissey to see it. £4.50p entrance fee is a little on the high side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    44
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good display, but....”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited the model railway during Easter holiday, 2 adults, and 3 boys (8, 5 & 1) - eldest in a wheelchair.

Was impressed with the detail and layout of the railway, was obvious many hours of work had gone into it. BUT - while the display was very detailed, it did appear to be quite unkept - very dusty and 'old' looking, didn't look like much updating had been done for many years.

It was easily accessible with wheelchair and buggy, but we felt the £13 for family of 4 for no more than 20-30mins was VERY steep, especially for such a limited attraction. Not sure it warrants the advertising it gives itself, should certainly be more upfront as to the size of the attraction.

Unlikely to go again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TodF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“A railway modellers delight!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This attraction will not appeal to everyone and I can understand that some parents feel that it is not worth the money - possibly because they are hoping for an attraction that offers instant gratification for all the family, will keep the kids occupied for a couple of hours plus a café, play area and toilets??? Enjoy it for what it is - it's a model railway layout; nothing more, nothing less.
For two adults we paid £4.50 each and spent about 35 minutes walking round. For us, it was all about appreciating the time, effort and detail of the modelling and the multitude of scenarios depicted within the entire layout. There were also local themes depicted - the clay pits and the harbour for example. The detail was terrific - right down to the tiny chimney sweep's brush appearing at the top of the chimney to the Underground railway scene underneath the layout.
The displays in glass cabinets were very good, especially the Ferrero Rocher diorama competition entries and the ingenious fold-down display in a filing box.
I can't honestly see how some reviewers can say that they had seen everything in a 10-minute walk around. Maybe the price does seem a bit steep for some families but I can't see the owner making a fortune given the costs, time and effort. Taken as part of the whole Mevagissey experience it's worth a visit - but go in with your eyes open!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Fabulous for adults and children alike. Went in to miss a shower and stayed for ages. Incredible detail and really imaginative sets, including alpine scenes, movie sets plus loads of trains. A special railway or two for tiny tots and loads of models and railway memorabilia on show. Well worth a visit whether you're a rail buff or not.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcoast UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK when its not busy.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A bit expensive to go when you have to pay for wife who isn't really interested but I enjoyed seeing toys of my youth (thats' upset any railway modelers). I wouldn't like to go as a grown-up when its kids holidays as it's a bit narrow, nuff said.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stewyinpagham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mevagissey Model Railway also viewed

 

Been to Mevagissey Model Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing