We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here 16.6.14 - 19.6.14 and were bowled over by the location, view, facilities, staff, cleanliness .................well, everything really! We had room 9 which although didn't have the sea-view was clean, pleasant, light and airy with everything you could wish for provided.

The bed was especially comfortable and we both slept soundly every night of our stay waking refreshed to enjoy the excellent selection of breakfast options. All served in a very timely fashion by Nikki's lovely Mum and absolutely PERFECT poached eggs (Nikki's speciality we understand!) whilst looking out at the sparkling blue waters of the bay. A view which literally takes your breath away every time you see it.

It's a stunning stroll into Mevagissey too, particularly through the park as it affords some spectacular views of the pretty harbour, especially at night with all the lights twinkling. It's a tough climb back up though so not for the faint hearted or anyone with mobility problems, but this is Cornwall people!! There are hills!! And steps!! You take your life in your hands driving through the narrow streets too, but it was all very relaxed and the locals are, thankfully, used to the "incomers" and their misunderstanding of the local 'give way' rules!!

Stunning place, so pleased to have found it and we will definitely be returning. I simply cannot rate this hotel high enough :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard, the only difference is the view, but unless you plan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chairofbowlies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    54
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
163
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paignton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent one night at the hotel on the 14.6.14. Lovely hotel with stunning views.Nikki and Adam couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The hotel was spotlessly clean will definatley go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend of 31st May with our 2 children. We had a lovely sea view room and Nikki and Adam (our hosts) could not have been nicer people. I would recommend this to families, as well as other travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed only one night here - would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel is set high above the bay with wonderful views over the cliffs and the sea. The picture window in room 1 shows this off to great effect.
The staff are very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast tasty, if a little slow.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a fantastic picture window looking over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in Room 7, which had unbelievable views across the bay. The location is fantastic, definitely worth the short hill climb up from the centre of Mevagissey. Breakfast, cooked to order, was too tempting to resist. We also ate in the restaurant one night and the seafood was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, staff were friendly and eager to ensure our stay was comfortable, as well as being very knowledgable about the local area. The bar, with its outdoor terrace looking across the bay, is a perfect spot for a sundowner. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mango_Espadrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. Nickie and Adam couldn't have made us more welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff are so friendly. Breakfast is excellent with a vast choice. The views from the hotel are amazing. It's definitely worth asking for a sea view room.

The restaurant is run by Mark and Debbie. Mark is an amazing chef. The menu is huge and so varied. Debbie ensures the restaurant runs perfectly. The prices are so reasonable. £20 for 2 courses or £24 for 3 courses .wine starts at £12 bottle.

We had a great holiday and hope to return later this year

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if possible. Take your walking boots. The walk along the cliffs has amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were lucky to come across this hotel by chance when looking at the last minute for somewhere to stay in Mevagissey. What a find!.

We arrived mid afternoon and parked in the guest parking which is off road at the front but could be tight to negotiate if the road is busy or the parking is already quite full. We had no problem.

When we first walked in the welcome from Nicky was great and we immediately could see how stylish and clean the hotel was.

We were very lucky to have room 11 which is a sea view with a decking balcony, what superb views and what a great place to sit and relax. Our room was immaculate and the bathroom was huge. Everything about the room was perfect except maybe for storage which was a bit tight but it didn't matter because of the view and the balcony. We slept very well during our stay and woke to a superb view and the sound of birds every morning.

From the hotel it is less than 10 minutes downhill walk into the centre of Mevagissey or into Portmellon (nice cove, small beach and friendly old fashioned pub). From either place it is uphill to get back but once you have done it a couple of times, you learn where to stop to catch your breath and to take in the views and it doesn't hurt any more.

The breakfast was great, the food was very high quality and was server very quickly.

We also had a meal in the restaurant, this is run as a separate business but everything was at the same high standard as the rest of the hotel and it seems to be very popular with residents and visitors alike so important to book early to get a table. Jean declared that the Haddock with Crab and Parmesan Crust off the specials board that night was the most delicious thing she had ever eaten.

We only tried the bar once and wish we had used it more, the selection of beers was excellent and the décor was great, the best thing of course was the view out to sea.

Difficult to fault this hotel, it is certainly one to come back to when we are in Mevagissey again.

Room Tip: Front rooms for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
585 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mevagissey Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mevagissey Bay Hotel

Property: Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mevagissey Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly hotel, situated in a fantastic position boasting panoramic sea views overlooking the beautiful and wild Mevagissey Bay in Cornwall. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Mevagissy harbour, one of the most picturesque in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mevagissey Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mevagissey Bay Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing