We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Welcome in Cornwall”
Review of Tremarne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tremarne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Following 2 throughly enjoyable stays at The Tremarne Hotel we then booked to take the family for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Michael and Fitz are the best hosts you could wish for and Norman is a mine of information. The hotel is excellent in every way. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant is so good we didn't bother to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have had are lovely but the Mellon suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Wife and I have'nt been down to Cornwall for at least five years, and decided on a late impulse to visit again.So we turned to Trip Advisor to find accomodation,
Having read the reviews on the Tremarne Hotel and as we usualy stay in 3 & 4 star Hotels we thought this is too good to be true!! Decided on a Superior room for seven nights but as we were late booking there were non available, Michael offered us a Standard Double (Largest of the standards) so with tongue in cheek we accepted, On arrival we were met by a very friendly Norman who carried our large heavy suitcase to our room number 8. If this is a standard room then a lot of 3 & 4 star hotels need to visit and take note !!! Cleanliness was second to non with this room as is the rest of the hotel,
The breakfast is plentifull with a vast selection. (although the wife missed her Kippers) due to supply problems). Complimentry biscuits every day on your hospitality tray is a nice touch, as are White Tablecloths in the restautant!! (Please note 3 & 4 star hotels, many of you do not have this anymore).
Having booked B&B we did have dinner in the restaurant on three evenings The food was excellent, as was the very attentive staff, Fitz, Michael and Norman go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible with their very jovial manner, Although Fitz's weather forecast's are on par with Michael Fish !! Hopefully we will see you all again, Thank you all for a very enjoyable, relaxing stay,
Mike & Linda.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the Tremarne Hotel, rooms were immaculate, food was outstanding and relly friendly staff. Norman never stops which is a credit to him considering 'he's 85' ha ha,
We were there for a walking break and the hotel couldn't have been better placed, literally right on the coastline path.
Thanks Fitz and the team, hopefully see you again.
General tip - ignore Fitz's weather forecasts

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed three nights in September, excellent service, friendly and entertaining staff. Very clean and well maintained hotel with good food. Only tiny criticism for us was that the room was small but very comfortable. Good position on the edge of Mevagissey with a good but steep walk down to the town or in the other direction down to the small beach of Portmellon and coastal walks. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is as good as other reviews say. We had a wonderful 4 night stay.

Absolutely spotless (and believe me I am fussy), lovely food and unbelievably helpful and friendly owners and staff. Nothing is too much trouble.

Mevagissey itself is beautiful. Take some time to explore it. If you find the hill down looks too much there is a local taxi firm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for one night whilst dropping off son at Falmouth univeristy. Very friendly welcome, lovely clean, bright and spacious room with a sea view. Walking distance from Mevagissey which helped after a long day in the car. The breakfast was great too.

Only complaint was that despite it being September and still warm weather, the pool was closed I'd even been out and bought a pair of swimming shorts specially. Shame

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just had my third visit to Tremarne.
Its just as good as ever.

Michael, Fitz, Norman and the team here excel, everything really is perfect.
Tremarne has to be one of the best hotels in Cornwall, the service is Top.
I had dinner in every night, its part of a deal offered, but you wouldn't want to miss it, there are Top chef's at work here producing really lovely food worthy of some of the best restaurants i have been to.
I had the Portmellon room, it had a balcony, with superb views of the bay, it was spacious, spotless clean, with lots of storage space, massive comfy bed, with bedding that smelt gorgeous and fresh, i didn't want to get up most days, also had a good power shower.

The only down side was that Fitz, one of the owners, had to go away on family business during my time here, his cheek, charm, humour and presence at dinner was greatly missed.
But I shall return, and am really looking forward to that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
244 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremarne Hotel

Address: Polkirt, Mevagissey PL26 6UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range: £86 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tremarne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel, owner managed, outstanding courteous service, spectacular location, magnificent sea views surrounded by unspoiled scenery, sandy coves and sheltered bays. All rooms en-suite, light, airy, individually styled. Restaurant, bar, lounge, outdoor swimming pool, garden, terraces, car park. The Tremarne Hotel, one of Cornwall's hidden treasures, offers both a contemporary and traditional feel away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living. Some hotels are merely a place to stay - the Tremarne is a destination. We look forward to sharing our hotel with you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tremarne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremarne Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing