We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tremarne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$217
US$203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart(St Austell)
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
406
45
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
45
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan excellent hotelhotel is spotlessly cleanother guestson arrivalstandard roombooked this hotelnothing is too much troublewarm welcomecomfortable loungefirst classhotel is situatedreturned homenight staysurrounding areasecond to nonesea viewcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

OK, we are not usually hotel sort of people, prefering cottages etc. BUT.... The Tremarne proved to be a superb hotel - the rooms are excellent, the beds are like home and the hotels situation is superb for exploring Mevagissey and the surrounding area.

Two things really stand out -

1. The Tremarne is spotlessley clean - especially the bathrooms.

2. The staff (Fitz, Michael, Norman and all) are the best we have ever encountered on our travels - friendly, welcoming, helpfull and totally dissarming.

We cannot reccommend the Tremarne enough - just superb.

Dan & Clare

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullswoodskirmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

What a great hotel! Spotlessly clean, well decorated with a warm ambience. Everyone working here is an absoloute gem - and they talk to you like real human beings. Everything is genuine. Breakfast was wonderful ( we had the vegetarian) and it is obvious that the owners really care about the guests.
Don't overlook this place. It really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsherunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We first visited Mevagissey in December 2009 whilst staying in St Austell and fell in love with the beautiful harbour village straight away. We returned in March this year and spent 3 great nights at the Tremarne Hotel. Having only seen Mevagissey at 'quiet' times of the year we wanted to experience it during the summer to see if any of it's charm is lost when there are more people around. Luckily for us, it is still the place that we love and although there are a lot of tourists around, it doesn't take away any of it's charm and it didn't get too busy that it was overcrowded whilst we were there. It is a bit of an experience driving around the village with the narrow streets, especially on Polkirt Hill. If someone is coming the opposite way, it can become a bit of a stand off about who is going to reverse first!!!

When we stayed at the Tremarne in March at the start of the season, we were, with the exception of a couple of overnight visitors, the only guests. The service was excellent and we quite enjoyed having the place to ourselves! This time, the hotel was very busy and had a full compliment of staff, but the service was still second to none and each guest is made to feel special and welcome.

Michael is the quieter one, who keeps everything on the straight and narrow but often pops up with a joke or two and is always very helpful. There are no words to describe Fitz - he is one in a million and not at all GRUMPY!!!! The rest of the staff are great - Norman (Barman, Waiter, Right Hand Man etc etc), Sharon and Ruth (Waitresses & Housekeeping) - they always make conversation and offer advice about local places to visit. Everyone is obviously really happy in their work, which brings a great atmosphere to the hotel.

A special mention has to be made to Don the Chef. We had an evening meal in the hotel every night (we stayed 4) as, although there are a few restaurants in Mevagissey, we are quite fussy and didn't want to end up having chips every night. We are so glad that we did as we enjoyed every meal we had - especially the Carrot and Coriander Soup, the Pork, Duck, Vegetable Pancake and the Brill. A special mention has to be made for the banana and custard requested by my husband and the gorgeous Baked Alaska I had. Don went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our food. We were always full to bursting after dinner as the portions were always generous.

During our stay it was my birthday and I was presented with a cake after dinner by a singing Norman, Fitz and Don - not forgetting Michael and his amazing tamborine playing!! It was a lovely touch and a nice end to my birthday.

Our Room (18) was on the second floor overlooking the pool and sea. It was quite spacious with ample wardrobe and drawer space. The bed was huge and comfortable The bathroom was large with a bath and over-bath power shower. Like all the other rooms in the hotel, it was beautifully decorated and very clean.

Sometimes when you return to a hotel that you like, you regret it as it isn't the same as before. Luckily we didn't have this feeling at all, as although the Tremarne has everything we need and want - great rooms, lovely food, ample on-site parking, perfect location, it is the staff that make it special. I don't think there was one guest that didn't smile when Fitz walked into the room - I don't think I have ever met a happier person in my life - he can brighten even the rainiest of days with his funny stories.

So, will we return to the Tremarne for a third time? Most definitely - We still haven't stayed in the Portmellon Suite!! My husband also wants Don's recipe for the sauce that went with the pork dinner he had!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinkyandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

You may think, at face value, that this is just another run of the mill 2 star hotel - far from it. This hotel has a fantastic warmth and feeling about it - the staff and owners could not do enough for us, made our children feel totally relaxed and welcome, the rooms and entire hotel sparkled from top to bottom and the food was amazing. Perfectly situated for all local amenities and attractions and beaches, we could not say enough about our stay there - it was spot on. Most of the guests we met were repeat visitors - we can see why.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had a really enjoyable and relaxing break. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and that warmth was maintained throughout our stay. Great views of the countryside and - at a bit of an angle - the sea. Excellent dinner on our first night and only a few minutes walk to the village if simpler fare is wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews