We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it all!”

Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Kilbol Hotel is an oasis of peace and tranquility, and yet not far from many great places to visit. Our hosts were kind and considerate of both my disabled Mother and my dogs, and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was charming and the beds superbly comfortable. The dining room was delightful and looked out over the pretty garden, adding to the enjoyment of our excellent meals. The cream tea was excellent with scones fresh from the oven, and the treacle tart was the best I've ever tasted! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Have just returned from our second visit to this gem of a hotel that is ideally located for Heligan, Caerhayes and the Roseland area.
Jenny and Tony were most welcoming to us and our two dogs, the food was excellent and the wine list varied.
We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a good choice if you have dogs - it opens directly onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have just spent 3 nights in Camellia Cottage at Kilbol Country House Hotel. We have 2 Labradors and Tony and Jenny made them very welcome. The cottage is very spacious and has everything you could ask for including a lovely terrace leading from the first floor lounge. Tony and Jenny are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. As well as having the convenience of a self catering cottage you can also dine and drink in the hotel. If you don't fancy what is on the menu speak to Jenny and she'll always try to accommodate your request.
There is a large garden which is great for the dogs first thing in the morning and last thing at night. We will definitely be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_B133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Excellent and friendly place to stay in a lovely setting, rooms well equipped & very comfortable. Food very good indeed. Close to Lost Gardens of Heligan and convenient for Eden Project. Dogs welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Have just returned from a short stay at the hotel ,we were met by the owners tony and Jenny and instantly made very welcome with fresh coffee and biscuits , the room was excellent ,clean and with a lovely view over the gardens ,the evenings meals were freshly cooked and tasty nice choice each evening and the breakfasts were perfect ,one of the best hotels we have stayed in ,ideal for all the local sites cannot fault the hotel or owners at all ,despite us being only people there for our stay nothing was to much trouble ,looking forward to returning in the future hopefully for a longer stay ,many thanks to tony and Jenny for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just had a stay at the Kilbol and I would recomend it.
The room was of a good standard and the welcome was great.
The owners are a very nice couple as are their 2 dogs who require
a bit of attention!!!
If we venture down to Mevagissey area we will book the Kilbol again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nymshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Perhaps a little difficult to find but well worth the effort. Tony and Jenny were easy to chat to and clearly more than able to put the AGA to the best use – we were well fed and watered throughout our four day stay and found the hotel to be well furnished clean and most comfortable. A good deal of the food is produced in the hotel garden and is therefore fresh and tasty. A quiet location which met our requirements perfectly. We were holidaying in Cornwall – we also spent a few days in the Falmouth area – mainly to view the many suberb gardens and country houses in the County and of course this hotel is conveniently near the Lost Gardens of Heligan though other similar horticultural pleasures are to be found within a shortish drive. When at the hotel consider if you can spending a little extra on the lobster on offer, which Jenny is adapt at presenting in cordon bleu manner. We would certainly rebook if in the area again – even if the narrow roads are somewhat of a challenge!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
2.8 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
9.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages

Property: Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
Address: Polmassick, Mevagissey PL26 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Kilbol Country Hotel
Kilbol Country House Hotel And Cottages Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing