We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for £50 /night but it's not - please don't waste your money”

Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine for £50 /night but it's not - please don't waste your money”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is the first bad review I've put on trip advisor - I'm usually very careful but I am totally amazed at the other reviews and had to put the record straight.
I'm sorry we didn't say anything at the time but my wife doesn't like making a scene, especially on holiday.
To be fair it was clean, in a quiet area and the garden was ok but small, that is where it ends.
It's an overpriced 70's throwback.
We paid £126 per night for a superior room, which was tiny - just big enough to walk around the bed. The fittings were the cheapest available - cane headboard, bedside cabinet and drawers, that's it. Tony did say there were flowers in the room on the phone - 5 small sweetpeas in a jug !!
In fact everything about the hotel is the cheapest available, which is fine if you are paying £50 /night but not £126.
The bathroom was small, 70's style with no shower.The bedrooms and reception are in a cheap 70's style extension which is about all you see of the hotel.
The worst aspect was the noise from the room above, you could hear everything and I mean everything, television, talking, moving, walking we couldn't get to sleep until they went asleep above us.
Tony was ok but Jenny obviously didn't want to be there and she's overworked - she did the breakfast and waitressing all by herself.
She wasn't rude but she was surly, no smile and didn't make any attempt at conversation. She plonked the only menu on the table and didn't say a word.
Breakfast was awful - 8:30 only, that's it, no other time ! The muesli really was like sawdust, cheap and nasty, Fat poured out of the cheap sausage, bacon was salty, eggs were tasteless. I left it and walked out. It was so bad we had to leave a soon as we could.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keith3270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    16
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Please note that, contrary the Tripadvisor listing, this hotel is not in Mevagissy. I'm sure it's very nice and in a nice location but it is in a different village, Polmassick, which is 3 miles away - a long way to walk if you are not in a car.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brondesbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went to the Kilbol for a 3 night stay it was just what we needed, very relaxing and felt very welcome and comfortable. Tony and Jenny were lovely and work very hard to make sure their guests are happy. It was great as we were able to take our little dog with us. The hotel is very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfortable and the bedding was of a very high standard. We had supper at the hotel on one of the nights that we stayed and it was by far the best meal that we had the whole weekend that we were in Cornwall (beware of some of the pubs, not vey good at all !!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a fantastic week here last week, Jenny and Tony could not be more helpfull or kind even got my daughter a hula hop to play with!, i don't know many hosts that are as friendly and welcoming as these two. nothing is to much trouble and you must try Jenny Banoffee pe whilst your there!! delightful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had been due to go to Italy but had to cancel! Opted for short UK break and after much research came across this hotel. From previous reviews it ticked all the boxes regarding our needs!
On arrival Jenny warmly greeted us with the offer of tea in the sublime garden! This set the standard of the stay!
Lovely room with balcony overlooking the garden, all top quality fixtures and fittings etc!
Pre dinner g & t's taken in the conservatory! Local food beautifully prepared and served, wonderful desserts and a superb wine list with prices for all budgets! And if that want enough super breakfasts!
My husband has difficulty cutting food but when we explained this his meals came 'pre cut' including a wonderful steak! It was nice to eat together as normally I have to deal with his meal before starting mine!
Thank you Jenny and Tony for enabling us to have such a pleasurable break. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarAnnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After a 9 hour car journey on one of the hottest days this year we arrived at this amazing and most delightful hotel. As we parked the car we were greeted by a tiny flock of long tailed tits and total tranquillity. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated, the dining room overlooked the beautiful gardens as did the bar and conservatory, where we spent a quiet hour having a drink and watching the wild life in the garden. The food was plentiful and had a good choice for breakfast and for evening meals. The hotel is in a quiet little 'lane' in Polmassik which might be a little difficult to find but that is one of the hotel's best features as well as being close the Heligan and Eden Project. I would thoroughly recommend Kilbol and hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was an amazing find, a luxury, family run, hotel hidden in a valley near the two most famous visitor attractions in Cornwall -the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. The accommodation is first class and the food is even more so. Tony and Jenny always make you welcome and part of the family. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth checking out. Most, if not all, overlook the garden. The first floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc-H-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
2.8 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
9.9 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages

Property: Kilbol Country House Hotel and Cottages
Address: Polmassick, Mevagissey PL26 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Kilbol Country Hotel
Kilbol Country House Hotel And Cottages Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing