We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced basic hotel”

The Headlands Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Headlands Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Reviewed 19 July 2011

having stayed at the headland hotel we found the view to our room was fantastic,over looking the bay ,the breakfast was good, and the bar was nice.
unfortunatly we found the room was just basic pine furniture,the bathroom shelve was broken and the toilet seat was loose having to tighten it myself,we went out for a couple of hours and came back to find our room had been left unlocked when they had been in to change the loo rolls,anybody could have just walked in,which could happen anyway as the keys are left in a box at reception.
if i had left this hotel only paying £40-£45 per night i would have felt i had a good stay but having been charged £82.50 per night i felt it was hugely overpriced for the standard,

As previous reviews have stated the hotel managers partner was very miserable and just wandered around looking as if he really did not want to be there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmds217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were greeted by Sally who was extremely polite and friendly. Our room had spectacular views over the coast towards Port Melon , it was very clean as was the bathroom the furniture was a little basic but adequate enough for our needs. We thought the breakfast was excellent and varied not like other reviews we read .We had a very pleasant drink in the bar with Sally (the owner ) before going out for our evening meal . Our overall opinion was very good we stayed for two nights but would have stayed longer if time had allowed .

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I had to chuckle after reading other peoples reviews on this hotel, especially the 'unhappy soul' comment regarding one of the owners. He is indeed the most miserable host I have come across and I'm sure would put anyone off going back there for a second visit, including my family. The hotel is in a good position overlooking the harbour, the family room we stayed in was spacious and clean, a problem with the shower was dealt with swiftly by the polite and smiling lady who can't possibly be in a relationship with the other chap. The only thing that sticks in our mind though is the sourpuss that we had to deal with throughout our stay, it is easy to see why there was a room available there at short notice and no where else in the village!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccajones1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We really liked this hotel. It has stunning views and is in a great location a short walk out of the village..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My husband booked this hotel for our anniversary last minute. I can only agree with a previous review that there was a reason this hotel was not fully booked.
For £90 a night it is extremely overpriced, the room was basic with curtains missing from one window. The toiletries were cheapest of the cheap not even a shower cap, everything in bathroom nasty plastic even the glasses. The towels were not changed for our stay nor bins emptied.
Very limited breakfast menu served in an uninspiring room with no curtains and birds mess over the window. The person serving I presume was the owner who was barely civil and looked like he would rather not be there.As there were no curtains and it was sunny I became unbearably hot and had to eat my breakfast quickly to get out.
The views from the hotel are stunning but I would have expected a much better experience for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

a very clean and friendly hotel were nothing was too much trouble.Food well presented and excellent.All staff I found to be very pleasant.
Rooms cleaned daily and to a high standard,very comfy,will be staying there again on my next visit.
if you are looking for a hotel with sea views,that is clean and staff friendly,I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I arrived at the hotel early to be greeted by a friendly member of staff and was told that I could leave my vehicle outside dispite it being longer than the average car, there was a space for larger vehicles at the end of the forecourt.

The member of staff who greeted me, showed me to my room and even offered to help me with my bags. The room was very clean and airy and i could see the sea from my window. The bathroom was also clean & tidy, and the shower more than adequate.

Breakfast was well presented and there was plenty to eat.

I found all the staff friendly and pleasant to chat too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walkingman-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
4.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.5 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
3 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Headlands Hotel Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing