We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
8
7
1
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
7
1
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at the Headlands hotel for an evening a couple of weeks ago. The booking was a last minute arrangement, but luckily there were 3 rooms available for us and the lady we spoke to on the phone was very helpful and accommodating. On arrival we were impressed with the hotel itself (lovely location / views etc.) but instantly struck by the rather rude reception we were given by the male owner, who threatened to lock us out if we weren't all back to the hotel at the same time later in the evening. Granted, as three guys in our late twenties / early thirties we're probably not the regular type of guest the hotel expects to be catering for, but it's hardly the welcome you expect when you've just shelled out almost £250 between you for a nights accommodation.

Anyhow, we checked in and went into Mevagissey for dinner and a couple of drinks and were back at the hotel at around 12.30. The nights stay was perfectly acceptable, bed was comfortable, room was clean etc. but it was the treatment we received at breakfast the next morning that was the real shocker. Breakfast is served until 9 and we were downstairs by 8.45. By the time we arrived to the restaurant the other guests had already had their breakfast and left and there was only one table left that had been made up. Unfortunately it was right at the back in the corner and the breakfast room has a fantastic view over the bay below, so we asked if we could move to the table right in-front of the window. The grumpy owner who'd 'welcomed' us the night before was serving us and didn't seem to have slept off his bad mood as the service we received was quite frankly beyond belief.

To begin with he grunted 'If you like…" in response to our request to move to the table with the view, but when we took him up on his offer he just seemed to flip. It started with, "no, actually can't you just sit there?", which we responded to with "well we'd really like to sit by the window if that's ok?".
Grumpy owner: "No, this one's already made up, I'll have to move everything. Sit there."
Us: "It's not a problem, we can move ourselves. We don't mind."
Grumpy owner: "No. Sit there."
Us: "We would really like to sit by the window please."
Grumpy owner (starting to get rather aggressive by this point): "Just sit there!"
Us: "Why are you being so aggressive? We're just asking to move to another table."

Grumpy owner, walks out of the room swears at us and leaves us at the table in the corner. By this point we were more amused than upset because it was all just a bit of a shock. Anyway, the guy comes back with coffee, slams it down on the table, grunts "COFFEE", then takes our breakfast order. As he's leaving the room, one of my friends (who happens to be of afro Caribbean colouring) asked if he could have brown bread with his breakfast rather than white. Now the grumpy owner clearly doesn't realise that when the restaurant is quiet you can hear pretty much everything they're saying in the kitchen, racist comments included, but the next thing we hear:
Owner to his (poor) wife: "Brown for the brown."

He was clearly enraged by our request to move tables because we also heard him telling his wife how he was going to throw us down the stairs. The guy was genuinely incredibly aggressive throughout our breakfast and it was completely unnecessary. We remained polite throughout the whole experience, but I refuse to let this guy get away with treating us the way he did, hence this review!

I can only recommend this hotel to people who want to visit a real life 'Fawlty Towers'. Like Basil and Cybil, the woman running the place is lovely, but her husband is an absolute lunatic. Never experienced anything like it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This would be a more positive review if (a) it was sold as a B&B and (b) it was priced as one.
There are several problems with calling it a hotel, and as a B&B it is very over-priced:

(1) Breakfast is served from 8 until 9 - and this was a weekend - this is not a misprint! If you can make this rediculously short window for breakfast then you will be offered a very well presented, freshly-cooked hot breakfast which is everything you would expect from a very good B&B.

It was a shame that a family group of four were prevented from sitting together, but made to split between two table at opposite sides of the breakfast room - even though there were no other guests staying! And yes, the out-of-bounds table was laid for breakfast.

(2) The rooms are adequate, and en-suite, but the showers are B&B-style electric devices which are impossible to get a good shower under, and run between boiling and cold at random. At £90 per night I'd expect a proper shower.

(3) The "bar" is also the lounge - and if you happen to be congregating after breakfast waiting to leave for the day as the 9 of us were, expect to get looks of dissapproval, and even a comment later in the day that you took your time getting going. Not acceptable if you call yourself a hotel and charge these rates. Also don't expect to get back from your evening meal out and have a drink in the bar without the landlady looking at her watch at warning you that it's only one as it's too late if you want her up to do your breakfast (this was at 1055pm). B&B attitude and staffing, but hotel prices.

(4) There is only breakfast available, and no lunch or evening meal is available. Perfectly normal for a B&B...

The biggest problem with this B&B, though, is the lack of customer service training which is evident in the landlord and landlady - who were the only apparent staff. They may have a quirky sense of humour in her case and be incredibly shy in his, BUT this should be trained-out so that guests are not made uncomfortable by it. Some examples:

Her:

"... there is always one of us around. If you can't see us, there is a bell on the reception desk - WE DON"T LIKE IT." Ok, Basil.

"We've been here 8 years, 7 1/2 too many" Is it Manuel's day off?

Him:

"... Marmalade? - they was some on the table, I checked - someone must have nicked it"

Mostly his conversation was confined to one-word replies, although by the third morning he did relax a little and I think, therefore, that he is simply a bit nervous of strangers.

Like I said - this is NOT a hotel. If it were 30% cheaper OR they dropped some money into the bathrooms, staffed properly AND all knew how to behave, then it would be excellent. As it is, it was pretty poor, and I cannot recommend at all.

The friends we were visiting told us it has been up for sale for some time. If this is true, then it explains a lot. With better management this could become a very good little guest house. It iwll need major work to make it a hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea-view - the best thing about this pretty dreadful place.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LightningLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

this is a lovely b&b in a superb location. we paid £45 per person per night in a sea view double room including breakfast. it was pretty good value considered i just paid over £90 per night for a single room the size of a cupboard looking at roads in central london. the seaview was unobstructed, it was amazing. the room size and decor were both very domestic rather than commercial, felt like stayed in a friend's guest bedroom with pine furniture and floral upholstery. we didn't mind, the room was clean and comfortable, reasonably space. bathroom was basic but sufficient. have free parking space. breakfast was ordered rather than buffet. it was ok, standard english breakfast, when asked for more toast, the guy came out with 1 slide of bread cut into 2, bit stingy. nevermind, overally a good stay, slept well and woke up with a mesmerazing sea view.

Room Tip: worth the extra to pay for a seaview room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great views, very comfortable room with comfortable bed. Very friendly, chatty & informative owners. Beautiful spot overlooking the bay to Chapel Point, with a short walk to Portmellon, lovely coastal walk further along the footpath. Also a short walk into Mevagissey centre, great fish & chips at the Centre Cafe! Most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TickledPinkCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

we stayed at this hotel in October and had lovely weather. Our comfortable en-suite room had the most fantastic view over the bay and all facilities you could want. The location as well as being stunning is very convenient for some of the best attractions Cornwall has to offer. We found the owners to be charming, helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed the walk into Mevagissey in the evening and found some excellent restaurants offering delicious local produce. All in all a great stay that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews