We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Honeycombe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeycombe House
Ranked #5 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Val & Ian made us very welcome. Everything you could possibly need was in our room right down to the smallest detail.
Our room had a balcony which was a nice bonus and we had fantastic views of the harbour & village. The breakfast room had the same views and it great to be able to watch the comings and goings in the harbour while having breakfast. The breakfast its self was worth the journey. Ian & Val served up a cooked breakfast that kept us going all day plus there was a great selection if you didn't want the cooked option.
Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: We stayed in Albert which had great views plus the bonus of a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
242
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Honeycombe House, where we were treated to a first class experience. Superb location with wonderful views over the harbour and town.

Rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. Ours overlooked the harbour and was just magic. Plenty of tea/coffee and little extras! Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was excellent, great choice, plenty of it and simply, the best views imaginable.

Ian & Val were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We will return - sooner rather than later!
Dave & Sue

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, overlooking the harbour. Magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Dave619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My adult daughter and I were treated to a wonderful time at the Honeycombe House in Mevagissey. We were very glad that we spent an extra day at the Honeycombe House because of the great service and the location at the top of the hill overlooking the beautiful coastal town. Every morning the breakfast was fantastic as it was in the porch overlooking the town. Our room was the most comfortable and the breakfast was the best of our entire trip. When we decided to go into the village for dinner and it started to rain, Ian was right there to pick us up so we did not have to walk in the rain.

The only shortcoming was that I wish that we could have spent more time there. Truly the best B and B experience that I have had in the UK after several such trips. I highly recommend it and hope to get back there to spend more time next year.

Ian and Val where great and gracious hosts. Made us feel right at home.

Tom and Emily Tonniges

Room Tip: Email Ian and Val and let them know your needs and they will do everything possible to take care of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Myself and my partner took my mum and her friend for a 3 night stay in Honeycombe House last weekend and from the minute we arrived until the time we left we couldn't stop smiling !, it's always hard booking something you see on a google search, you just have to take pot luck but this B&B was the nicest we've ever stayed in, not only do you get a choice of anything & everything for breakfast but the view whilst eating is simply breathtaking.

The rooms were lovely and clean with lots of tea, coffee & biscuits.

Ian & Val were very friendly and welcoming too, we will definitely be returning to Honeycombe House and Mevagissey, they are both beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Honeycombe House and would not hesitate to recommend this excellent bed and breakfast. From the very warm welcome to the clean and comfortable bedrooms and not forgetting the fabulous breakfast choicesand of the course the view from the dining room, the best in Mevagissy. Thank you Ian and Val for a wonderful stay. Roger and Karen,Preston Lancs

Room Tip: The balcony offer excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We originally stayed here 10 years ago and decided to return for our 20th anniversary. The room we stayed in had amazing views over the harbour and a balcony to sit on. Ian and Val made us very welcome and also made a special effort to cater for some dietary needs for my wife. The room was clean with plenty of tea and coffee and also some biscuits and local fudge. The 2 balcony rooms also include a reserved parking space which was very handy. Breakfast was great and cooked to order. Plenty of everything. We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms for amazing harbour views and a reserved parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtufnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a very great stay in a nice, clean room. We loved the view from the brakfast-room over the harbour of mevagissey. Val and Ian are very friendly and helpful to their guests. Ian is a very good cooker. There's a familiar atmosphere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#7 of 34 in Mevagissey
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe House

Property: Honeycombe House
Address: 61 Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeycombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honeycombe House is a family run Victorian house situated a few minutes walk from the centre of the 14th Century picturesque working fishing village of Mevagissey. It is situated near the top of Polkirt Hill enjoying the most stunning views over both the inner and outer harbours of the village and miles of Cornish coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeycombe House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing