We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful - comfortable, homely and central.”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking out from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge living room with lovely sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge
living room with lovely sea views
living room
Main bedroom with sea and harbour views
Principal bedroom
Bedroom 2 - King size double or two small singles
Dining / TV room
Our new bathroom (2016)
Our new bathroom (2016)
'Rain' shower
small secluded courtyard
Views across the harbour
Looking down Polkirt Hill
Built on the site of the original Forge in Mevagissey
Looking out  towards the lighthouse from the living toom
Down the steps in front of the cottage - 'our' small beach - at least when the tide is out
Polkirt Hill just up from the cottage
Mevagissey
By the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wrenselli...
Piltdown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful - comfortable, homely and central.”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My family stayed for a short three night visit to catch up with grandchildren. It was a very pleasant experience and a wonderful introduction to Mevagissey.
The cottage has everything you could need plus more. It was a short walk into the village with the local shops and pubs and the views from the upstairs sitting room were lovely - especially at night.
We would definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Thank you for a lovely review of our cottage. Glad you enjoyed your short stay - and the views from the cottage, we love them too! Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will consider us again when you next visit Mevagissey.

Carol and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home from home!”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a wonderful find, photos do not do it justice! Perfect position in lovely village, a few steep steps to harbour or short walk to shops, restaurants and village life. Traditional Cornwall, great views of harbour, a lovely cosy but spacious cottage with everything to hand. Lorraine the housekeeper even waited for our asda shop to arrive before we got there! Can't wait to come back next year! Don't even hesitate to book it's just perfect!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
We are pleased that Polkirt Forge didn't disappoint and that you seem to have enjoyed Mevagissey as much as we do. Thank you so much for your generous comments and please do consider us when booking your next Cornwall holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in Mevagissey”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Polkirt Forge in September and found it absolutely superb. The cottage was a home from home and was so comfortable (particularly the beds) with ample accommodation on two floors. Very conveniently positioned within Mevagissey for the harbour (a 2 minute walk) and within walking distance of many good eateries. Perfect location for other Cornwall beauty spots and attractions such as The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. Owners extremely helpful with masses of local information and suggestions provided. Would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was there. So fully equipped it was impossible to fault.
Liked least: Driving in Mevagissey.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our cottage, Polkirt Forge. We hope the cottage will feel comfortable and relaxing for all of our guests from the moment they arrive. Its reassuring to know that you enjoyed the cottage - and Mevagissey. Carol and I hope you will come again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pru_Tebbs
Ilminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A relaxing enjoyable stay in beautiful unspoilt Mevagissey”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We found the cottage to be very comfortable and well equipped, and in a great position for wandering around the town and harbour. We sampled the local pubs, fresh caught fish bought from the quayside, and look forward to visiting this lovely, scenic part of Cornwall again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed Mevagissey - as you say, we are well located if you like freshly caught fish - in a local restaurant or purchased in the harbour and cooked in the cottage! Hope you will come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Town Centre
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Polkirt Forge and we are so pleased that it lived up to your expectations. (As a result of your feedback a new "smart" DVD / Blu-Ray player has recently been installed in the living room)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillian19...
wellingborough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot fault the cottage. Lots of space for us and our 2 teenage daughters. Mevagissey is a beautiful little harbour with friendly pubs and good food. Communication with owners was great. They and Lorraine answered any questions we had very quickly. Cottage was spotless and very comfortable. Driving round mevagissey was "interesting" and we made full use of the handy parking voucher. A much needed relaxing holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Carol and I are so pleased that Polkirt Forge met your expectations and worked for your family group. Our goal is simply to provide the comfort and convenience needed as the basis for a super holiday in Cornwall. It's always good to know when we succeed in that. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“Cozy, Convenient Cottage”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Clean, nicely furnished cottage stocked with all the essentials for a week's holiday. Very convenient location for travel (2 hours or less) to many destinations in Cornwall. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the harbor in Mevagissey. For international traveler's: we strongly recommend going to St Austell (15 minutes by car) to use the bank/ATM for cash withdrawals and to buy groceries. Visiting Fowey and Gorran Haven beach are a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property right in town and central location in Cornwall.
Liked least: Finding and getting to the property the first time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Polkirt Forge. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, we agree that Mevagissey is a great base for visiting any part of Cornwall as well as being a beautiful place to stay in its own right. We will look at the directions and see how we can improve them. Thanks again for the feedback and positive review of Polkirt Forge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing