We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely family holiday and will definitely be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking out from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge living room with lovely sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge
living room with lovely sea views
living room
Main bedroom with sea and harbour views
Principal bedroom
Bedroom 2 - King size double or two small singles
Dining / TV room
Our new bathroom (2016)
Our new bathroom (2016)
'Rain' shower
small secluded courtyard
Views across the harbour
Looking down Polkirt Hill
Built on the site of the original Forge in Mevagissey
Looking out  towards the lighthouse from the living toom
Down the steps in front of the cottage - 'our' small beach - at least when the tide is out
Polkirt Hill just up from the cottage
Mevagissey
By the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jmh819
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely family holiday and will definitely be booking again.”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned form Polkirt Forge having had the best holiday with the biggest contributing factor being this beautiful cottage. The proprietors have thought of absolutely everything to ensure that their guests have the most comfortable stay. It is a real home from home. There is everything needed ranging from a fully equipped kitchen to a case full of toys for the children. There was even a bag containing beach toys!!!! It is furnished to such a high standard and the bathroom was amazing!
The cottage is set in the heart of a very pretty Mevagissey, with the harbour being being just a two minute walk away where you can find all the quaint gift shops, bars and restaurants. The Mevagissey Male Voice Choir sing each Monday evening on the harbour. I would really recommend seeing this. My one disappointment is that we never got to eat at The Sharksfin as it was always fully booked. Would recommend early booking. However, we enjoyed meals at The Harbour Tavern and The Wheel House. Alternatively, we sat on the harbour and ate fish and chips (The Fisherman's Chippy is delicious) or grabbed a pasty from The Cornish Bakery.
There are some lovely local beaches just a short drive a way. Caerhays was our favourite and literally 10 mins in the car. Other local attractions we visited and enjoyed were The Lost Gardens of Heligan where you can build your own Wig-Wam and also The Eden Project.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Carol and I thank you for such a lovely review. It is always rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoy the cottage and the local attractions as much as we do. Thanks for taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Forge and hope you will choose to stay again another time. Barry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-Physio...
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Doubly Fantastic - both location and accommodation 😀”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a stunning location, so close to all the bars, harbour, attractive shops and even Seals...
Accommodation- beautifully homely yet, modern and stylish with everything you could want, including coffee maker. The new bathroom is finished to a very high standard, if it wasn't for wanting to spot the local seal again... I may have lost a fair amount of my days in that shower!
Information pack was comprehensive with lots of clues of where to go and explore, both well known (e.g Eden only 20min away ) but also more secluded beaches and walks, costal path maps (many straight from the front door).
There were too many places to eat in that really we needed to stay for another week just to sample the all. We eat out often (all great meals) and equally the forge was greatly equipped for me to rustle up a risotto, or some sneaky morning pancakes.
I had a fabulous week with my mum and auntie, the area was well suited to us all.
I have already booked my next week away here with some friends later in the year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of the furnishings and overal style and feel of the property.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thanks Jo for providing such lovely feedback. So pleased that you enjoy the cottage and the facilities. You are the first guests to use the new bathroom so good to know that it met with your approval. We look forward to your future visits. B&C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Carol and I were pleased to hear that your family holiday was a success - that's our simple aim. Our plan is to carry on investing in improvements to "The Forge" so that our guests have the best possible experience while relaxing in Mevagissey. Thanks so much for you kind review. Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr Nichol...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent, well furbished accommodation close to the harbour.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Clean and comfortable, well furbished and within a few minutes walk of the harbour shops/restaurants and car park.
The owners had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable from start to finish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are pleased that you found everything at the Forge to your liking. We are already planning further improvements for 2016. Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. Barry and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay in a beautiful location !”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cottage exceed any expectations of myself / husband and children aged 11/16yrs . Cottage is equipped with everything you could possible need and more for any family of any age ! Clean and comfortable , beautiful views .lots of very nice places to eat within Mevagissey itself , and coastal walks . Highly recommend to anyone and will we hopefully be returning ourselves too !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thanks from Carol and me for such a lovely review and we are delighted of course that the holiday was a success for you and your children. I hope you will book with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrizzlyBe...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely comfortable clean cottage. All essentials supplied. A few maintenance jobs needed doing but nothing major that needed us calling the housekeeper for. Was disappointed that the small patio area was untidy and had no idea that seagulls feet could make that much noise - from the nest on the roof!! Had a nice holiday and Mevagissey has some lovely restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and liked the cottage. As you know from other reviews Sarah, Carol and I do our very best to ensure that guests find everything in the cottage in first class and clean condition. We also provide a feedback form for every visit so we can ensure standards are maintained and any issues promptly addressed. Mevagissey is fortunate to still have an active fishing community at its heart - Seagulls needless to say come as part of the package.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F
Cerritos, California
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Fantastic, quirky and great fun!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks in June. It had been a dream to spend a few weeks in a Cornish fishing village. Mevagissey was perfect - enough facilities/activities, yet real people live here. The house is a block from the center of town, an easy walk downhill for restaurants, shops, and the harbor. It was immaculate and had everything you could think of. The rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen had all sorts of appliances, including a washer/dryer and even an expresso machine. There was a small powder room downstairs and a very large bathroom upstairs with both a shower and a tub. The master bath and living room are both upstairs. The windows are double-glazed, so we slept like babies. From the living room, we had a dynamite view of the harbor and all the boats coming and going. It was close to the beach, just a flight of stairs, and to some good walks over the hills as well. It is on a hill on a street that is 2-way, but only 1 lane wide. We got used to looking outside before stepping into the street. Parking is included down on the wharf - a little intimidating the 1st time, but people were friendly and helpful and the walk wasn't too far. The area is centrally located to many gardens and manor homes in Cornwall. Barry provided excellent directions and instructions and was a great communicator! There was a key safe on the door so access was easy. There were a pile of brochures for all sorts of attractions as well as clear directions to operate the appliances. Sara, the housekeeper, came in after the 1st week to clean and was very responsive and helpful. She left us milk, cookies, jam, coffee, tea and sugar. Internet was fast throughout the whole house and TV was good - beyond the basics. There were just 2 of us, but there is another large bedroom. And there were games, a high chair and beach stuff. There was even a complete picnic basket. We have stayed in self-catering places all over, and this was just the best experience, a place we would like to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
You travelled a long way so we are pleased that you had such a great stay at "The Forge". Thank you for such a nice review. Barry and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing