We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking out from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge living room with lovely sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge
living room with lovely sea views
living room
Main bedroom with sea and harbour views
Principal bedroom
Bedroom 2 - King size double or two small singles
Dining / TV room
Our new bathroom (2016)
Our new bathroom (2016)
'Rain' shower
small secluded courtyard
Views across the harbour
Looking down Polkirt Hill
Built on the site of the original Forge in Mevagissey
Looking out  towards the lighthouse from the living toom
Down the steps in front of the cottage - 'our' small beach - at least when the tide is out
Polkirt Hill just up from the cottage
Mevagissey
By the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stephjane...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage in great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location overlooking the picturesque harbour and very short walk to the centre of the village. Some nice pubs and restaurants to try out.
Cottage itself was very comfortable and well equipped. Just loved sitting in the evenings admiring the view - so peaceful and relaxing.
Mevagissey is a good base for exploring the local area - some lovely coastal walks, ferry trip to Fowey etc.
All arrangements and communications were prompt and informative and went smoothly. Definitely hope to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
So pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Forge. Peaceful and relaxing is how it should be. Thanks for the nice review hope you'll stay again in the future. B&C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David k
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“High spec accommodation, great location”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Polkirt Forge is very convenient to the centre of Mevagissey and all its attractions. The cottage was perfect - it had everything we needed, and is suitable for couples or families. We were also blessed with beautiful weather which of course made our holiday even better. Thank you so much for a wonderful week.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks David for the nice review. It is always gratifying to us when we hear that our guests have had a fabulous holiday staying at the Forge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_lindaper...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage and lovely position”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect holiday. Probably would not recommend to the very elderly or anyone with mobility issues as the cottage is on a very steep and narrow road. Also the car parking is reached by 38 ( we counted ) steep concrete steps. I would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you for your positive review Linda. Perhaps we should mention that the car park can be easily reached by path without the need to climb or descend any steps - I often take the easy option! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you Annette for such a lovely review. I think you have just summed up perfectly what Carol and I love most about the cottage and Mevagissey. We're so pleased that the holiday lived up to expectations. Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tillowe
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“comfortable cottage in great spot”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Recently refurbished bathroom and kitchen, both lovely. Perfect for a couple, plenty of space for four people.
Warm comfortable and welcoming within a few yards of the village and the harbour. Great views of the harbour, we loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Carol and I thank you for your kind review. It's really nice when we hear that guests like the improvements we are making to the Forge. Great that you enjoyed your holiday here. Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous cottage with stunning harbour views. Loved it!”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We enjoyed a brilliant October half term break at Polkirt Forge. The cottage is great, very clean and comfortable with everything you could need. There are lots of lovely pubs and restaurants in Mevagissey and a deserted beach just 5 minutes round the coastal path. The whole process was so easy and straightforward, superb communication from the owners and the house keeper. We would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. It is always lovely to get confirmation that our guests have great experiences when staying here at The Forge. We're continuing our upgrades this winter so if you stay again as we hope you will you will find a new kitchen (with dishwasher!) next time. Thanks again for booking the Forge - and for taking the time to tell others about your experience. Carol and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayneharv...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely family holiday and will definitely be booking again.”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned form Polkirt Forge having had the best holiday with the biggest contributing factor being this beautiful cottage. The proprietors have thought of absolutely everything to ensure that their guests have the most comfortable stay. It is a real home from home. There is everything needed ranging from a fully equipped kitchen to a case full of toys for the children. There was even a bag containing beach toys!!!! It is furnished to such a high standard and the bathroom was amazing!
The cottage is set in the heart of a very pretty Mevagissey, with the harbour being being just a two minute walk away where you can find all the quaint gift shops, bars and restaurants. The Mevagissey Male Voice Choir sing each Monday evening on the harbour. I would really recommend seeing this. My one disappointment is that we never got to eat at The Sharksfin as it was always fully booked. Would recommend early booking. However, we enjoyed meals at The Harbour Tavern and The Wheel House. Alternatively, we sat on the harbour and ate fish and chips (The Fisherman's Chippy is delicious) or grabbed a pasty from The Cornish Bakery.
There are some lovely local beaches just a short drive a way. Caerhays was our favourite and literally 10 mins in the car. Other local attractions we visited and enjoyed were The Lost Gardens of Heligan where you can build your own Wig-Wam and also The Eden Project.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Carol and I thank you for such a lovely review. It is always rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoy the cottage and the local attractions as much as we do. Thanks for taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Forge and hope you will choose to stay again another time. Barry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing