We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Air Guest House
Ranked #7 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and could not have stayed at a better place. We are really glad that we picked this b&b as Claire could not do enough for all of her guests. It was very clean, compfortable and friendly. We would certainly stay here again. We stayed in the downstairs room and had a terrific view of the sea and the port.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your 6 night stay with us and glad you feel you made a good choice. We do try hard to keep all our guests happy and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks also for the messages you have both sent since your return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    28
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
346
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at Wild Air for 4 nights in July and would thorougly recommend it to anyone visiting Mevagissey.

We travelled here following a wedding in Sussex and were pretty weary from the drive. We informed Clare in advance that we were unlikely to arrive within the normal check-in times and she was so accommodating. Quickly showing us to our room when we arrived and making sure she had our all-important breakfast orders for the following morning.

So what to say?:

Room - we stayed in Room 3 which had an absolutely magnificent view over the harbour and beyond from the huge bay window (and a sofa that you could sit on for hours to admire it!). The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. The bathroom was just down the corridor and for our own provate use. This was perfect for us and again was spacious and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast - Delicious! All freshly cooked to order on Clare's AGA and made using local produce - it was divine. Clare took our order the night before to ensure that everything was ready for us when we came down to dine. In addition to the cooked breakfast there were cereals, toast, homemade jams, delicious coffee. Jon and I quickly adopted a "2 meal strategy" after having our fantastic feast in the morning. It was also fun to dine with the other guests, get to know them and discuss our plans for our trip. This was also the perfect time to tap into Clare's wealth of knowledge about the area. All 3 couples staying at the time found the walking path to the Lost gardens of Heligan following our breakfast chat!

Parking - you'll know if you've ever visited Mevagissey that parking is a must. There was a parking space available for each room which was perfect and was right across from a turning spot for ease of manouvering!!

Extras - the little extras, however, are what make Wild Air special. The outside dining area which we could use at any time. We ate fish and chips here one night admiring the view (in the glorious sunshine). The fridge in the breakfast room for chilling wine, cider (or soft drinks if you prefer!) to accompany the fish and chips. Clare was only too happy to provide glasses, crockery, cutlery, etc. A real home from home!

**Tip** - if you found this B&B on LateRooms I'd strongly encourage you to contact Clare directly to book with her. I wish I'd done that as I had no idea that they took such a huge percentage. Next time I'll be booking direct to make sure all my money goes to her business.

We chose Mevagissey primarily as a spot from which to visit the Eden Project but found so much more to do in the area - it's a shame we were only there for 4 nights!

Room Tip: We loved Room 3 - fantastic view over the harbour and our own private bathroom down the hall. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
WOW, thanks so much for taking the time to give such a detailed account of your stay with us. It really was a pleasure having you as our guests, and I too loved our breakfast time chats. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, the view, the food and the all important parking. It is equally good to hear that you noticed all the extras we provide and were also able to enjoy eating al fresco thanks to our fabulous summer. Many thanks again and hope to meet you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

As everyone else has said this is a lovely place to stay. Exceptionally clean and views are beautiful. Price very reasonable and such a bonus to have parking. Would recommend staying here. I loved every minute of Mevagissey :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We were delighted to welcome you to Wild Air for your first stay in Mevagissey and so happy to hear that you loved every minute of it. Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent two nights at Wild Air and it was wonderful. Clean comfortable and large room with views over the harbour; lovely breakfast and every facility to make the stay easy. Great location within walking distance to the village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We have been overwhelmed by the large number of Australians who have stayed with us over the last 4 years and as with everyone else it was an absolute pleasure to have you with us. I am delighted that you found everything to be fabulous and thank you for your lovely email. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recently just spent two nights at Wild Air guest house and I can't recommend the place enough. The view from our room over the bay and harbour was excellent. The room itself was nice and clean and tidy and decorated very nicely indeed. The breakfast was spot on and the view from the breakfast room was breath taking where we sat and chat with the other guests who all agreed it was a lovely place to stay. I did not need to eat again til late in the evening after such a lovely filling breakfast! Clare was very friendly and certainly made us feel very welcome and we would definitely stay here again one day.
All in all i would recommend the Wild Air guest house to anyone.
Martyn and judith

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Brilliant review detailing all that you enjoyed here with us at Wild Air, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. Indeed the views from the breakfast room really are something very special to enjoy, as you say breath taking is a great way to describe them. Many thanks for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A beautiful location, with fantastic panoramic views from the bedroom and patio area. Clean and tidy. Home from home! Choice of fantastic breakfasts.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Claire. We shall definately return
J&S..

Room Tip: On top of a hill. All rooms amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishguard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Really pleased that you enjoyed our panoramic views and fantastic breakfasts. It was a pleasure to have you both and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spectacular views over Mevagissey and the bay from our spacious, comfortable room are alone enough to highly recommend this B & B. Hostess Clare is a very friendly and helpful mine of local information. Breakfasts were excellent. A short walk to the lovely fishing village and within relatively short driving distances from many attractions in the area make this an ideal base for a holiday. A pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 902Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We think Wild Air is pretty magnificent too and we love to share it with all our guests. Thank you very much for such a glowing review it was a pleasure to have you all here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 34 in Mevagissey
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Air Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Air Guest House

Property: Wild Air Guest House
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an outstanding location with magnificent sea views Wild Air offers high quality accommodation, excellent customer service and attention to detail. The stunning breakfast room overlooks the Lighthouse Quay where an excellent selection of local and homemade produce is served. Beautiful patio where you can enjoy your pre-dinner drink or afternoon tea. Complimentary Wi-Fi and onsite parking for all guests. Close to Lost Gardens of Heligan & the Eden Project, a central base for touring the whole of Cornwall. In our 14th year of trading we are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Air Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Air Guest House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing