We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Air Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wild Air Guest House
Ranked #5 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stonehouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We don't usually give excellent reviews, but this B & B warrants it. Everything about it is A1,
The room we requested we were given and was exactly what we wanted.
We were asked what we wanted for breakfast and the choice was extensive and set us up for the day.
We cannot thank Clare enough.
A truly lovely B & B

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are very well aware that it is impossible to please all of the people all of the time. But receiving reviews like this makes all our efforts worthwhile. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room and breakfast so much that it warrants an A1 and many thanks for giving us an excellent review. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    27
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
330
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent one night in this small B&B and very much enjoyed it. The room had spectacular views out to sea and over the outer harbour of Mevagissey. The owner was very friendly, cooks a good breakfast and encourages guests to talk to each other. The bathroom was good. Everything seemed very clean and we would cheerfully return. There was a parking space in front of the B&B. (There are several stairs here and, like most of Cornwall?, it is on a steep hill, so it's not for people with mobility problems.)

The B&B is on the coastal path (the walk out to Gorran Haven was great - with several views of a seal). The most pleasant way into the village centre is to go down through the park in front of the B&B - head down and left - and you will emerge on the path along the harbour. This keeps you away from the busy road leading in and out of Mevagissey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnfortunateFursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stop over with us whilst working in the area. Many thanks for taking the time to submit a positive review for us and we hope you will come across the bridge again one day for a longer break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely 4 night stay at Wild Air. Incredible views from the room, excellent home cooked breakfasts. Landlady Clare was very friendly and helpful. I really doubt if you will find a better situated or more homely accommodation in Mevagissey! We also met some really nice fellow guests there and would not hesitate for a minute in returning sometime soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
What a lovely review from a smashing couple. Happy to hear that your 4 night stay was all positive and look forward to greeting you again in the future. Many thanks for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay at Wild Air. The positives; parking on site (I know it might be old to put this first - but in cornwall villages parking is a big issue), views out to sea from breakfast room, the room (1st floor - large enough to have a sofa, great views from windows, ensuite was a good sized shower room), breakfast was very good (vast choice including smoked haddock, we liked the large shared table as this encouraged chat with other guests), Clare (host) is friendly and helpful (lending maps and guidebooks plus recommendations for eating).

The only possible thing to consider before you book is that it is a 5 min walk up hill from the harbour - but that enables the views and the parking. If you have mobility issues this may be an issue but otherwise just enjoy the views across the harbour as you stroll along.

In its price bracket this is an excellent B&B.

Oh and Mevagissy is a very wonderful fishing village - not as touristy as others.

Room Tip: upstairs ensuite room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to do such a comprehensive review about Wild Air. I am of course delighted that you enjoyed our breath taking views, our breakfasts (we pride ourselves on our selection given the size of the B&B) including sharing the table with other guests as well as the information I was able to supply to enhance your stay with us. As you rightly point out we are up a hill which in turn affords fantastic views and the addition of onsite parking for ALL our guests which is a MUST in Mevagissey and is clearly mentioned on our website.

Mevagissey is indeed a wonderful fishing village and my husbands family have fished here for 400 years, we have extensive knowledge of the area which we are delighted to share with our guests to help them get the very best out of their visit to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a fabulous short break at Wild Air. Our room was clean and had fantastic views of the harbour. The breakfast was great and Claire was a lovely hostess. She gave us lots of good advice on great walks and where to eat. The parking was a real bonus. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezzandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Very happy to read how much you enjoyed your short break with us and that we were able to tick all your boxes. I am glad the advice I was able to give you helped enhance your stay and you are definitely right about the parking being a bonus in Mevagissey. See you soon and many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife & I stayed 2nights here on a trip to Devon & Cornwall. Clare & Mike are great hosts & made a memorable stay with their generous hospitality & attention. The accommodation was very clean & comfortable with stunning sea views. Breakfasts were excellent with a large selection to choose from. There are many places to visit & the harbour a walk down the hill. We highly recommend Wild Air & hope to revisit.
John & Barbara Ward

Room Tip: First Floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
A great pleasure to welcome you both back to Wild Air and many thanks for taking the time to do another review. So pleased that you enjoy all that we have on offer and we are already looking forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this first class guest house. From the moment we entered we were given a warm welcome from Claire our host. Claires attention to detail is just perfect,from the immaculate room to the wonderful choice for breakfast, nothing is too much trouble. There are 3 rooms and all guests eat together, and although this may seem a little daunting Claire has a way of putting everyone at ease, creating a relaxed and friendly ambiance.
We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights, a lovely room overlooking the beautiful harbour, superb weather, fantastic food and a wonderful host - Claire cares about her guests and this is reflected in the way her guest house is run,she is on hand to offer some fabulous ideas on places to visit providing maps and literature if required.
Thank you - we very much hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay with us. I am always delighted when guests enjoy their stay and especially so when they take the time to write such a glowing review. You are very right when you say I care about my guests, they are the most important thing about our business and this is reflected in the large list of returning guests that we have, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Air Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Air Guest House

Property: Wild Air Guest House
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an outstanding location with magnificent sea views Wild Air offers high quality accommodation, excellent customer service and attention to detail. The stunning breakfast room overlooks the Lighthouse Quay where an excellent selection of local and homemade produce is served. Beautiful patio where you can enjoy your pre-dinner drink or afternoon tea. Complimentary Wi-Fi and onsite parking for all guests. Close to Lost Gardens of Heligan & the Eden Project, a central base for touring the whole of Cornwall. In our 14th year of trading we are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wild Air Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Air Guest House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing