We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic few days at Wild Air”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Air Guest House
Ranked #3 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic few days at Wild Air”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked our two night stay as a last minute holiday and had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and well equipped but the view was quite something else...we even saw dolphins, an early morning sight to welcome in our day! The breakfast choice was comprehensive and totally delicious and it was lovely to sit around the breakfast table, chatting with Claire and the other guests, while looking out over the beautiful Mevagissey harbour.
Definitely excellent value for money, would highly recommend Wild Air for a relaxing and comfortable stay in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the most fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It was my absolute pleasure to welcome you both to Wild Air and I am of course delighted that you enjoyed our totally fabulous views, delicious breakfast choice and chatting at breakfast time. We have had many visits this Summer with some very friendly dolphins and I am so pleased that you got to see them for yourself. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words about your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    28
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
356
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned home from a 3 night stay at wild air, what can u say it was a great weekend room amazing food was lovely company was great. Clare made us feel very welcome it was everything the reviews said it was. Made some nice friends at breakfast and spent many hours chatting.will be back next year n back in room 3.(the view was breath taking).
Thanks Clare for a wonderful time u have an amazing B n B
From Eileen n Dave

Room Tip: Room 3 amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am as always delighted when guests enjoy their stay with us and very glad that our reviews help people to make the choice to stay at Wild Air as it did in your case. It was a pleasure having your company and we all really enjoyed chatting with you too. Look forward to welcoming you back next year to ‘your room’ with the breath taking view! Many thanks to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the comfy beds to the full breakfasts to the fantastic views you couldn't ask for more. Except Clare went out of her way to make us even more comfortable. I have no complaints and hope one day to re-visit. The town is fun to wander around in and at 72 I made it up the hill just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
WOW, what a title.......’Wild Air has it all.’ I am touched that you felt this to be the case. It was a pleasure to look after you all and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your very exciting itinerary. Great to know that you enjoyed Mevagissey so much and we hope to meet you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Clare went out of her way to make us and all the guests welcome. The view from our room was quite magnificent and it was only a short walk into the township. Maybe difficult for some to walk up the steep hill but it didn't bother us. Breakfast each morning was something to look forward to as the guests all sat together sharing stories. The amenities were excellent and clean. Only inconveience for some of us non-locals was the narrow street up to the accommodation. Would highly recommend Wild Air to anyone considering a nice break in Cornwell

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you had a great time whilst staying with us at Wild Air. We do point out on our website that we are up a hill, but if you require the magnificent view that we have there is only one way to get it I am afraid! Luckily for us the walk up has the best vista in the village. As you know I particularly enjoy chatting with all the guests in the morning at breakfast and the discussion often gets round to the narrow streets which are a huge part of the charm of Mevagissey. But there is always the alternative route for those guests who might prefer it. Many thanks for your review and recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hi, myself and wife recently stayed at "Wild Air Guest House" in Mevagissey.
What an experience, the best most spacious and clean en-suite room we have ever stayed.
The location and views are just fabulous. On the Wednesday morning we had a pod of Dolphins entertaining us in the bay, what more do you want? Monday night followed the "Male Voice Choir" around town, Wow free entertainment. Clare, what can I say. Charming, Friendly, Knowledgable about the local area and cooks the best breakfast, and what a choice.
The other guests were spot on, great company.
Thanks Clare for a Great Vacation.
See you again
Noel & Dawn

Room Tip: Any room, we were in the room down stairs and couldn't complain but the other guests said the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
From the moment you telephoned to make your booking I knew we would hit it off! And we did. I was delighted to be able to accommodate you both when you decided to come to Mevagissey to surprise your family with a visit to their campsite. Thanks so much for your glowing review about both Wild Air and myself; I am very touched, as I was with the tears on your departure. I would like to say I organised the free entertainment but cannot accept credit for that. Thank you again for your comments, photos, company and support on our Facebook page. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Over the years my wife and I have stayed in many guest houses some good some bad, but this one is the icing on the cake. One even gets that nice feeling when arriving, lovely house, superb sea views, (easy parking) and a warm welcome by Clare, all of which is second to none. What the glossy brochure doesn’t tell you are the rooms are impeccably clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. One thing is certain, when we come to Cornwall again we will stay here. Thanks Clare
John and Pat

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We have previously gained a Five Star grading, but decided to leave the system as we felt there was a huge inconsistency gap between properties and many guests did not understand the system. So I am delighted that this reviewer feels we are still worthy of 5 stars. It is 8 years since these guests last stayed with us and it was delightful that they returned and enjoyed their stay so much. Thank you very much for your lovely words about your stay with us at Wild Air and we look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a most enjoyable three-night stay at Wild Air.

The property is in a fantastic location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Mevagissey. It has stunning views of the harbour and out to sea.

We stayed in room 2 (first floor) which was spacious, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.

Each morning we were served a delicious, freshly-cooked breakfast with a wide choice of items. In a break from the norm, guests at Wild Air share one large table at breakfast. We found this created a fun, sociable atmosphere and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests over tea and toast.

The owner is extremely warm, friendly and helpful and she speaks with passion and pride about the area.

We would most definitely stay again - hopefully in the not too distant future.

Thank you Clare for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scareyCornwall, Owner at Wild Air Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to do such a glowing review for us at Wild Air, in addition your comments in our visitors book and email were very well received. It is easy to see from the many photographs submitted on Trip Advisor as well as those on our website that we have the most amazing views, but it is reviews like this that people take notice of so we are very pleased to receive them. As all our guests know breakfast is particularly a very special time for me personally as it is a time of great conversation, fun & information sharing and I am delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Wild Air Guest House

Property: Wild Air Guest House
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an outstanding location with magnificent sea views Wild Air offers high quality accommodation, excellent customer service and attention to detail. The stunning breakfast room overlooks the Lighthouse Quay where an excellent selection of local and homemade produce is served. Beautiful patio where you can enjoy your pre-dinner drink or afternoon tea. Complimentary Wi-Fi and onsite parking for all guests. Close to Lost Gardens of Heligan & the Eden Project, a central base for touring the whole of Cornwall. In our 14th year of trading we are highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wild Air Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Air Guest House Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing