We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous pub - great landlord and staff”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #20 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous pub - great landlord and staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well what can we say, we've just had the most amazing weekend at the ship, our special thanks to landlord lee, his wife di and two sons jack and ollie, your hospitality goes beyond anything we expected, our room was lovely, so looking forward to our new year eves break with you.

We would Highly recommend The Ship mevagissey for its warm friendly welcome, outstanding hospitality, excellent food and a pub with character and very welcoming locals.

Thank you, see you again in December xx Michael and Karen

Room Tip: Comments state swimming pool and fitness centre terrible - THIS NOT THE CASE as these facilities wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAZworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    50
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
33
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Went in here after all the reviews and was certainly not disappointed I had the beer battered fish and chips they were delicious and my partner chose mackerel (two lge ones) arrived on his plate along with new pots and salad our best meal all holiday would defo recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bageyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently enjoyed our holiday in Cornwall and in particular The Ship Inn In Mevagissey.
Ther welcome was warm and the food excellent. They even made a fuss of Noodle our Labradoodle, giving him biscuits and a lot of fuss. We returned a second time and it was just as good. We wish them every success, they deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yournewbathroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Fantastic !! Lee and Di and all the staff were just brilliant, dropped off all the belongings early, came back later to find them all in our room (top floor) so helpful along with Flowers and Wine that I had asked for, the food is Just Excellent never tasted Fish that simply melted in your mouth or Spare Ribs that were so tasty. great position near the Harbour and everything Mevagissey has to offer, an ideal base. Breakfast's were great and the choice and presentation of all meals here is exceptional. Will definitely be returning. Thank you All it was the best !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodleyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The menu was great, prices were reasonable but when the food came out you get great quality for your money. My homemade burger was delicious & the others others meals were all cooked fresh and presented beautifully. The staff were really friendly & helpful. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Don't use B&B's usually but decided to give it a go this time. What a brilliant welcome - much better than a hotel. We were made to feel at home straight away by Lee & Di. The room was lovely and clean, and free WiFi throughout the building- a massive bonus. The pub is exactly what a pub should be - clean & friendly with very well kept real ales. The locals were really nice too, always ready to have a chat at the bar. Breakfast was great, all freshly prepared from locally sourced produce.
Choose the Ship if you; want to be near everything, be welcomed into the community, enjoy breakfasts, like staff with personality.
Don't choose it if you like to be serve by robots in a sterile environment.

Room Tip: Room 4 could be a little noisy some mornings when the beer was being delivered - but if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinabaggaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay, the hosts lee and diane couldn't have been more helpful and attentative. The pub is a lovely olde worlde inn with low beamed ceilings. The food was very good and the breakfast was excellent with them offering a choice of cereal, yoghurts, juice, tea or coffee and a full cooked breakfast with alternatives available. I would definately recommend a visit if you are coming to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: Fore Street, Mevagissey PL26 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old cornish pub built in the 1600`s situated in the center of mevagissey fishing village which has a working harbour bringing in fresh fish daily...Meander around our streets and visit a choice of shops or catch the ferry across to fowey or just enjoy a fishing trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Mevagissey
Ship Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing