We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very characterful inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #21 of 35 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very characterful inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The bar is nautically themed with much timber and flagstone floors. It is dark and cosy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed B&B and were given one of the newly refurbished rooms which was tastfully done, although the passages and stairs still need attention. Our breakfast was superb, with quality ingredients and cooked to order. Although there is no parking, you can get a discounted rate from the main town carpark if you mention that you are staying here. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    49
    20
    13
    15
See reviews for
30
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for one night with a pal whilst walking the SW Coastal path. The twin room was of a high standard and the breakfast was great. Would highly recommend for walkers needing to stay in Mevagissey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed in Mevagissey in Feb of 2014 for one night, And i would highly recommend this pub its got a great atmosphere and the staff are brilliant!

The room we stayed in was spotless and brand new but still manages to keeps the charm.

We had dinner and breakfast both brilliant and great value for money

The small town of Mevagissey is really pretty and well worth a trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This traditional Cornish inn is located in the pretty, fishing village of Mevagissey and it is less than a minutes walk to the harbour. It is a St Austell Ales inn and serves a good choice of their ales both on draft and in bottles. The menu is the standard St Austell offering but uses locally sourced produce and has some interesting choices including fresh fish daily, weather permitting. The Inn is atmospheric with lots of small areas, some wood panelled, and with lots of fishing memorabilia on display. Staff very friendly and helpful, we arrived after food service had ended officially but they prepared food for us anyway, which was much appreciated. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just spent a lovely weekend in the very cosy Ship Inn. Good atmosphere in the bar and though not much choice as out of season our first night dinner and breakfasts were good. The Ship makes a good base for touring - we went to Fowey, Truro, Charlstone and The Lost Gardens. The harbour area is very pretty too. Our room No.5 was warm, very clean and a VERY comfortable bed. We would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyMSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Came for a bite to eat and left totally contented !
I visited ships inn for a Sunday lunch with my Chinese girlfriend and told the owners I was a vegetarian. even though they did not have a vegetarian option to replace the meat , the chefs cooked me an alternative nut roast style dish ..
The lunch was such huge portions I could not believe it.... Was under 8 pounds .This was the best Sunday roast I have tasted and my Chinese girlfriend agreed as well ..
Beautiful food and beautiful pub.. my thanks to the 2 female chefs who cooked this sumptuous beautiful food ..and the home made cheesecake was the best. ..thanks also to the owners who made our stay so welcome ...I highly recommend this pub to anyone who wants to taste real home cooked food ...beautiful !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jojoremeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch while visiting Mevagissey, nice friendly owners and the dog was welcome too. Had a lovely homemade fish finger sandwich which was made from whole chunks of fillet in fresh cut brown bread. Really tasty and would visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Wheelhouse
The Wheelhouse
#25 of 35 in Mevagissey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#16 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: Fore Street, Mevagissey PL26 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old cornish pub built in the 1600`s situated in the center of mevagissey fishing village which has a working harbour bringing in fresh fish daily...Meander around our streets and visit a choice of shops or catch the ferry across to fowey or just enjoy a fishing trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Mevagissey
Ship Inn Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing