We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treloen appartment 9” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treloen Holiday Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treloen Holiday Apartments
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treloen appartment 9”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just returned from a week in Megavissey at the Treloen appartments. The views are excellent and the appartment was clean but there it ends. Access to appartment 9 is via 29 steep exterior steps and a long exterior walkway behind the back of the other appartments. Not exactly practical on any leval.
The appartment is badly ventilated (if at all) and smells foisty and feels damp. The refurb is very basic, the woodchip has been painted white and there is some new lounge furniture but otherwise it is very basic. The bathroom is grim and the bed is very uncomfortable to say the least. You pay £16 for the priviledge of using their sheet and pillowcases and a duvet cover that is frankly hiddeous.
Megavissy is lovely and Cornwall is geat but if you go there make sure you are not in appartment 9.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9, the rooms with leval access will be better. Location is only siutable for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treloen, Owner at Treloen Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
We are sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay. Perhaps we can just clarify a few points as we feel this review is misleading.
Access to Apt 9 is down a standard flight of steps from the car park level, 10 metres along a walkway and then up a standard flight of steps. This opens up to the most amazing view of the bay. NB some of the apartments are on a level access from the car park but a lot of the apartments do have steps (standard dimensions), so if there are any mobility issues it is always a good idea to discuss these first wherever you are staying.
Re. ventilation in the apartment - there is an opening window in the bedroom, the bathroom and kitchen area both have extractor fans, the lounge has patio doors.
We are sorry these guests did not find the bed comfortable, the mattress is less than a month old, and the previous week the people asked where we had got it from as they had found it so comfortable - a very subjective matter.
The centre of Mevagissey is only 500 yds away, and you can cut through the park area which is not so steep as the road.
The pictures on our treloen website are a true representation of the apartment.
It is very disappointing to receive a negative review as we work hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience when staying at Treloen, but we are pleased to say that most of our business is from repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    20
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just had a wonderful week staying in the treloen appartments, we had appt 1 which was on the lower level and on the far end.The view was absolutely stunning it was a shame that there wasnt patio doors with this appt but nevertheless there were two large windows so it wasnt that disappointing.The bedroom was adequate for all our needs and everything was very clean.As for the meter it was fine used about £5 all week and the water didn't take long to heat.The appartment is only a five minute walk into mevagissey but be prepared for a climb back up the hill but you have a treat of a seat at the top to take in the views over the harbour.
We arrived at about 1pm and our appt was ready which was a great bonus,there was a trolley to use to take your bags to the room which is a great help.The owners are building some more appt next door but it is not a problem as it is well screened off and very little noise was heard.So all in all we had a great week and would i reccomend it yes i most certainly would.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cathedralcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at Treloen Holiday Apartments. We stayed in No.4 which suits us well. We,ve already booked again for September!
We had a wonderful relaxing holiday, apartments are always well equipped, clean, comfortable bed, the heating is on in a morning and night if we wanted it. The weather was kind so we sat on the balcony quite a lot, taking in the lovely views. Watching the fishing boats winding round picking up their nets, taking their catch into the village, where you can buy fresh fish on the harbour.
We saw a pod of dolphins twice the the holiday, a seal another day, lots of bird life including cormorants, gannets.The perfect spot to enjoy your own Cornish cream teas! We recommend the walk to Chapel Point, great views along the way and a tiny beach at the end.
Treloen is a short walk into Mevagissey, stopping at the top to look at the breathtaking view, its ful of quaint little streets which gives the village its character. Nice shops, pubs, restaurants. We recommend the Sharksfin and the Ship for good food. Everyone is friendly.
We,re always well looked after at Treloen, we won,t be going anywhere else. Roll on September!!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have recently spent a week at the Treloen Holiday Apartments in Mevagissey and are regular visitors. We are never disappointed. We usually stay in apartment no. 10 which has level access direct from the carpark - ideal as my partner has mobility problems. The apartment is always exceptionally clean, windows are open and the rooms are fresh & airy and everything is ready for us. To walk in and see that stunning view out over the sea to Chapel Point is so refreshing - just make a cuppa, take it out onto the balcony, relax and let the stress drain away - wonderful! The location cannot be faulted, all the apartments have the same unobstructed views. There is ample parking on site and the village of Mevagissey is just a few minutes walk away so you don't have to use your car at all if you want to "stay local". The apartments are all well equipped - we have stayed in several different ones over the years and never had cause for complaint over any aspect of our stays. The owners live just across the road and are can always be contacted if there is a problem. The electricity is metered but so reasonably priced. The only thing that ever disturbs my sleep is the gulls waking at sunrise which is part of being in Cornwall. Treloen is the perfect place to unwind and spend quality time - exceptional value for money (just try finding somewhere else in Cornwall with a view like this and such reasonably priced accomodation). Very satisfied customers looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BewdleyTrainspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We've just returned from a long weekend in the Treloen Holiday Apartments.The apartment was exactly as described on the website,very well equipped,two decent size bedrooms with comfortable beds,enough sitting space for all of us-not always the same in other places we've stayed at.The views from the balcony were to die for,made extra special by the appearance of a dolphin pod.
The distance from Mevagissey centre,a real Cornish jewel, is only 10 minutes going (downhill) maybe a minute or two more coming back after eating wonderful fish and chips at the Fountain Inn!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have just returned from our 4 night stay at Treloen with our 16 wk old baby and our dog and will definatey be booking again!!! The apartment was exactly as it looked online and we were not disappointed in the slightest. The apartment was spotless and the views are absolutely stunning which can be enjoyed from the living area and the bedrooms. The service was out of this world and the owners were always very friendly and welcoming. It has it's own laundry room/information room that is bursting with brochures for places to visit. It is only a 5 minute walk to the harbour which is home to a large number of fishing boats, a variety of shops, pubs, restaurants and full of character and culture. It even has it's own museum and aquarium stocked with a variety of sea life caught by the local fishermen. All in all if you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday, home from home comfort, friendly people everywhere you turn and the most breath taking views then this is the place for you. Would definately recommend staying at Treloen Holiday Apartments you will be made to feel incredibly welcome and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IVFMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We booked our holiday on the strength of the views advertised and we weren't disappointed! The accommodation was great and it seemed everything had been thought of. All other facilities like sunbeds, cushions etc were free to use and it was lovely to sit out and take in the breathtaking views.You have to pay for electric with a £1 coin meter-not exactly a hardship! We used about £4 for the week.
The location was fantastic and we were in reach of many other lovely places to visit including th Eden Project and Charlestown which has even more beautiful views when walking across the cliffs.
It seems a shame that some reviewers are so petty and we hope this won't put others off as you would really miss out on a fantastic holiday location-if you want the best views you need to stay in apartments 1-8. thanks again to the owners!.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishy8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.2 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#1 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#3 of 35 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloen Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloen Holiday Apartments

Property: Treloen Holiday Apartments
Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 apartments situated on the cliff tops overlooking Mevagissey Bay. Superb sea views, each apartment has either a private balcony or patio, secluded cliff top gardens, parking, 5 minutes walk from harbour, shops, restaurants and beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treloen Holiday Apartments Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing