We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect apartments with stunning views.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mevagissey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treloen Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from our third visit to Treloen, despite the terrible weather we had a lovely holiday again. It was perfect on the one sunny afternoon we had just to sit and enjoy the stunning views from the apartments, I'd not want to be anywhere else in the world when the sun shines!

The apartments are great, modern, clean and tidy with everything you could need. The private patios and balconies really make Treloen stand out from anywhere else. The owners are warm and friendly and always welcoming.

We seemed to make friends with a gorgeous little robin who came to visit the balcony each morning, taking bread from our hands and rewarding us with a happy little song.

Treloen is a perfect base for exploring Cornwall, Mevagissey is only a short walk away (down quite a steep hill), and is a lovely traditional fishing village. We loved just soaking up the atmosphere and relaxing by the harbour in the evenings.

Would recommend for sure, and we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Stayed this time in apt 4, apt 7 last time - both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollymooDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have just returned from my stay at treloen holiday apartments. The apartment was lovely and me and my partner had a lovely week. The apartment was clean and tidy and had everything that we needed for a pleasant stay. The owner came to greet us from the house, despite our late arrival (the traffic on the M5 was unreal) and the pouring rain. He took us straight to the apartment, gave us a quick tour and left us to get on with it. It could have been our own apartment. We had a lovely stay. the electric meter only used £3 for the whole week (we only used the oven twice and made sure we didn't leave anything switched on when we went out). Families with children would probably require more but none the less, £3 is extremely reasonable I thought. The apartment is located an ideal distance from Mevagissey.
My only critism is the building work that is going on at the moment. We arrived to find that we were pushed to find a space. The building work seems to have taken over half of the car parking spaces. The owners had also parked their rather large boat and a skip in the car park which we calculated took about 3 spaces out of use. For people staying in apartment 12, their view out over the car park was obstructed by the boat. Also the WiFi was not working. My partner had to go and sit in the car to get signal. We could not pick up any signal anywhere in our apartment. I'm not sure if this is due to the building work. I thought the taking over of the carpark was ill thought out and infuriating. If we came back to the apartment anytime after 6 we struggled to park. Move the boat and the skip!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courts186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

As the owners, we would just like to clarify that each apartment has a parking space in our car park, and there is no reason why there should be a problem with finding a space – indeed we are not aware there has ever been an issue, and we are only across the road if there is any problem. We are extremely fortunate to have our own parking on the premises – a rarity in Mevagissey – most self catering have to use the public car parks. If you are bringing a 2nd car please advise in advance and we will do our best to accommodate you. The skip referred to has nothing to do with Treloen – it is being hired by one of our neighbours and is sitting in their own parking spaces in the car park – it is not taking up any of the Treloen spaces. The boat is now in the harbour, but again, was not taking up a space allocated to the apartments. The wifi does work in some apartments better than others, but is available in the car park or at Reception, as stated in the information. (There is no charge for the wifi). I hope this information is helpful and clarifies any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We,ve had another wonderful holiday at Treloen Holiday apartments!
It must be perfect, we,ve been going there for 20 years, usually in No.4 but have been in most apartments. They have all got everything to make your stay comfortable. All with the stunning views across the bay whatever the weather.
We had brilliant weather for our last week, so just stayed local or relaxed on the balcony, dolphins appeared one afternoon. Theres always something going on out to sea, my husband is always made up to see ships on the horizon. Mevagissey is just down the road, Chapel Point is always a good walk, great views from along there. We had a really peaceful 2 weeks in May.
We,ll be back again in September!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our annual holiday at Treloen shared this time with two other adult members of the family. This was our 26th holiday here in 24 years and we enjoyed it every bit as much as we did the first time we stayed at Treloen in 1988. We normally take our holiday in May before the season really gets going and usually we are blessed with at least a few days of good weather. This year was no exception although we did have two mornings of rain but nothing can detract from the view across Chapel Point and the ever changing light conditions.

Our room, No. 11, is not on the front rank of apartments but is ideal for anyone who has trouble climbing steps as it lies but a short level walk from the car park. No.11 is converted from what was two previous apartments and is notable in having two completely separate bedrooms and toilet/shower rooms on opposite sides of the dividing wall of the apartment. The lounge/dining area is well appointed with two leather sofas, a dinner table and four chairs. Entertainment is provided via an 32" LCD screen television which carries the full set of Freeview channels. There has been a vast improvement in reception since the introduction of digital TV. The analogue signal used to be very 'iffy' and subject to weather conditions. A DVD player and wall mounted CD player are also provided. The kitchen area is adequate and equipped with cooker, microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge with small freezer compartment. A full set of crockery, glasses and cutlery is also provided together with all the necessary pots and pans etc. This apartment has the largest balcony on the site and is accessed via two double glazed sliding French doors on either side of the lounge/dining area. A folding table and plastic chairs are provided for balcony use.

Everything was clean and well prepared for our visit. We have stayed in many of the apartments and this has always been the case over the last 24 years. We have read some of the comments on this website and frankly they describe a different place from the Treloen that we know and love. It is true that there is some building work going on at the moment as the owners are having a new building at the eastern end of the site. This is well fenced off and was not the cause of any distraction while we were there.

It is also true that the approach to Treloen through Mevagissey and up Polkirt HIll is very narrow and sometimes requires a great deal of patience giving way to oncoming traffic and manoeuvring as necessary but if this puts you off all we can say is don't do Cornwall at all. All the coastal ports and villages have developed over many century's when the horse or pony and trap was the main form of transport and this is reflected in the width of the streets.

We firmly believe that you will find no better self-catering accommodation with similar views at a similar prices in Cornwall. We were forced to try one year when were both working and our holiday had to be taken in a hurry. There were no vacancies and we ended up staying elsewhere in Cornwall at Perranporth but it was no match for the haven that is Treloen.

Room Tip: Apartments 10, 11 and 12 are a level 20-40 metre walk from the car park. On the front rank (acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our eighth visit to Mevagissey, but our first in self-catering accommodation. We usually stay in either a hotel or bed and breakfast and we would've carried on doing this, but for the new addition to our family in the shape of a small dog! The main reason we chose the Treloen Holiday Apartments is that they are one of very view (could be the only) dog friendly places to stay with a sea view in Mevagissey. We had also walked past the building everyday on our previous visits so knew it had plenty of parking spaces and is in the part of the village that we like the most - Polkirt Hill.

We arrived at about 4pm and were greeted by the man (he didn't give me his name). He was friendly and showed me around the apartment personally,(whilst my husband took the dog for a much needed walk after the long journey), to explain the electric meter and immersion heater (we used about £6.00 in electric over the week). We had booked Apartment 5 with 2 bedrooms even though there were only the two of us plus the dog. We are glad we did as it is quite small. Apartments 1 - 8 are accessed through the garden from the car park via a curvy slope footpath. They supply large trolleys to transport your luggage, so unloading the car was easy - I took everything but the kitchen sink so this made life much easier for my husband!!!

The kitchen/diner/lounge is small, but perfectly adequate. The kitchen was quite well equipped with basic cooking utensils, microwave, fridge with small ice box & electric cooker. As we had never been self catering before I was unsure what to take for the kitchen, but I was glad that I took my own chopping boards, washing up brush, liquid, dishcloths etc. We also ended up buying a non-stick frying pan from Asda, as we didn't like the one in the cupboard.

There is a dining table for four and two sofas, which were comfortable. The flat screen tv offers the usual freeview channels. As it was March, it was quite cold, but the heating was adequate and came on early morning and late afternoon till about 10.30ish. There was also an additional electric heater if you were cold.

The double bedroom was quite compact, but had everything we needed. The wardrobe had loads of hangers and there was plenty of drawer space and a mirror. The hairdryer was quite a good one and I was glad I didn't bother taking my own as it did the job. We took our own bed linen, but pillows, quilt and bedspread were provided. There wasn't a lot of room around the bed, but it did have a great sea view. The other bedroom is the same, but with twin beds and was a good space for us to store our bags etc. This had the same great view.

The bathroom is ok. It's small, but it did get lovely and warm when the heating was on so towels dried quickly. It maybe could do with a new suite, but it was clean and that's all that really matters. A shower with a screen instead of a curtain may have been an improvement.

We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside a couple of mornings on the bench on the patio, which was great. The view of Chapel Point and Portmellon is outstanding and is the Treloen's main asset. It would be lovely to sit out for breakfast everyday with that view or drink wine on the patio and watch the sunset in the summer.

On our first night we ate fish and chips on a bench by the harbour (unfortunately, it must've been an off-day for the chippy as the chips were very dark brown and the fish was vile) . This prompted us to eat in the apartment every other night after a trip to Asda in St Austell to stock up on more food (I had already taken loads with us!!). The Shark's Fin, the Ship Inn and the Fountain (I think) all allow dogs. We took our dog in the Ship Inn for a drink and he received a warm welcome.

Regarding dogs in the apartment. They are only allowed in the kitchen/diner/lounge and cannot go past the kitchen door into the corridor to the bedrooms and bathroom. They are also not allowed on the furniture. This was fine for us as we only have a very small dog, but I think there may be a problem with space if you had a bigger dog. They also have to be kept on a lead outside, which was also no problem to us (our dog probably would've fallen over the cliff anyway!!!)

The owners are always around if you have a problem, but we were left to ourselves all week which we liked. We were worried that we would miss a cooked breakfast made for us, but it was great to get up when you like and eat what you want. We did miss our evening meal in the hotel though!!! It would be good to visit here in the summer (if the weather was fine) to make the most of the great outdoor space available. There were only a maximum of 4 apartments let when we were there, so it was very quiet and peaceful.

We would return to the Treloen Apartments in the future, mainly for the location and because we can take our dog. It has everything you need for a lovely holiday, especially if you are lucky enough to get dry, warm weather. I know our dog is looking forward to going back again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkyandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed at the Treloen Holiday apartments in August 2011. The setting of these apartments is just amazing looking out over the cliffs and sea. The gardens offer a great place to relax and sit to eat and watch the boats as the gardens are private well maintained and have pinic benches.

The room was well maintained and clean. The Appartments are down some steps from the carpark however there is a ramp provided as well.

The appartment we had and the second bedroom off this first this was good for us but may put some off.
This is a very nice place and ideal for exploring Cornwall.

In easy reach in the lost gardens of Helagon.

I will be returning

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We,ve been back to Treloen Holiday Apartments for 2 weeks in October November. Its just the perfect place for a relaxing holiday, a warm friendly atmosphere.
Wonderful view to wake up to, we saw some great sunrises this time. All apartments have a private balcony to sit and let the world go by. Little fishing boats lit up at night like jewels in the sea.
The apartments are always well looked after, very clean and welcoming when we arrive after our long journey. The laundry room at the end is very handy, washing machine, dryer, iron, especially if you,re there for 2 weeks.
We,ve met lots of people over the years we have been staying at Treloen, some we still keep in touch with, most of them go back for another holiday. We,ve booked again for next May and September. Brilliant place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
3 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
368 reviews
0 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon Cove
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloen Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloen Holiday Apartments

Address: Polkirt Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mevagissey
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 apartments situated on the cliff tops overlooking Mevagissey Bay. Superb sea views, each apartment has either a private balcony or patio, secluded cliff top gardens, parking, 5 minutes walk from harbour, shops, restaurants and beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treloen Holiday Apartments Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing