We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View”
Review of The Wheelhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheelhouse
Ranked #24 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just an overnight stay in November taking advantage of one of the special offers that appear at this time of year. Worth every penny. The room was clean and had all the usual comforts expected nowadays. The toilet/shower area was rather small but nothing that would spoil our stay. The view over the harbour was picture-postcard style. We unloaded our luggage in front of the b&b and found the nearest parking was situated at the end of the pier - just continuing on round from the b&b, cost £4 for a day. We had to go into the restaurant to get a member of staff there to show us to our room, was about lunchtime so were in a bit of a rush. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    46
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
23
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night and I have to say, we had a brilliant time, we were in room two and the views were stunning, I could have sat at that window all night. The room was very clean and comfortable , best night sleep I've had in ages, staff all very helpful and cheery and for the price (£40) absolutely no complaints, breakfast in the morning was humongous and very tasty. Looking forward to our next visit. X

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caledonian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

There is no reception but the bar staff do take good care of you. The room was clean and tidy but if your tall you will find the toilet and bathroom a bit tight.
In fairness the view of the harbour was worth staying there and the staff were friendly.
I would have give them a five star rating if they had parking at the hotel. You can park in the disabled car park outside the hotel to unload luggage but then have to drive 300 yards to the parking area which cost £5 for 24 hours.
All in all a decent place with good food. Fish and chips was brill.

Room Tip: Try to get the larger of the three rooms facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergeddes138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having just stressed to us how busy they were, the waitress actually rolled her eyes to the heavens in a gesture of impatience behind my partner's back when she hesitated for the briefest of moments to order her food. The waitress wasn't wearing a name badge which perhaps isn't that surprising. I'd want my staff to remain anonymous if they behaved like that. To be fair, I did enjoy the food but would not return given the number of other options in Mevagissey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwanKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mevagissey hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Visited August 2013 for family meal (around 6pm).
Hadn't pre-booked and despite restaurant being busy, we were quickly seated and given attentive and courteous service.
Went for the 'Seafeast' from the specials board and it was cooked to perfection (finally somewhere that cooks calamari properly !) - our other meals also can't be faulted.
Great gateaux selection also available for dessert.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cropster_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited Cornwall last week, we went to Mevagissey and looked around for somewhere to eat, this place just stood out for us and so we decided to try it, the food was delicious, the beer was good and the views over the harbour were cracking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had been to the Wheelhouse in previous years and it used to be good. We visited on Sunday 7th. July and this time again we ordered Cod & Chips and what was served up was probably the worst we have ever eaten. I would suspect that the Fish was a type of preformed material ... a sort of flat mushy substance that had been fried into a rounded pre-determined shape,, with Chips quality to match. Horrible. Considering that Mevagissey is a Fishing Port with Fresh Fish available daily one would have hoped that they would be serving the Finest. They charged £8.95 each for rubbish. Its also a sticky type of seating, varnish that sticks to your skin. From the inside it has beautiful views looking out across, such a wasted opportunity. Will never eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stone's throw Cottage
Stone's throw Cottage
#12 of 34 in Mevagissey
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#21 of 34 in Mevagissey
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#13 of 34 in Mevagissey
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse

Property: The Wheelhouse
Address: Wheel House West Wharf, Mevagissey, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheelhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wheelhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelhouse Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing