We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B with stunning views and breakfast !!”
Review of The Wheelhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wheelhouse
Ranked #21 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked for 1 night and enjoyed it so much we extended for a second. We stayed in Room 2 and it was spacious and with stunning views of the harbour. The room cleanliness could not be faulted and the breakfast was amazing. On the first morning we had a full English and the 2nd cereal and toast; both were large portions and very tasty. It is accepted that getting to the rooms involves climbing stairs and hence may not be suitable for all but for the price this is a great venue. I cannot recommend this B & B enough and would certainly like to return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in room 1. Fell in love with the charming little fishing village of Mevagissey straight away. The Wheelhouse added the cherry to the top with its location overlooking the picturesque harbour and fantastic views from the room, which you can enjoy from a lovely window seat.The room itself was very clean and nicely decorated with neutral / pale blue tones and the bed was super comfy and made up with quality bed linen - sheets and quilt. A very comfortable light and airy but cosy room. The room was small and the shower room tiny but certainly wasnt uncomfortable and didnt bother me in slightest though did dream about soaking in a bathtub whilst enjoying the view. Breakfast in the morning did not disappoint it was very tasty and a generous plateful. Staff were smiley and courteous and they even let my guinea pigs stay!! Great value for money and if I could go back now I would. An idyllic setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely clean room with stunning view over harbour . We had already read that the bathroom was small but we didn't mind as everything else was great . Had a huge cooked breakfast which set us up for the day . We only spent 1 night here but really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Room 1 had fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Wheelhouse for New Years Eve, and had room no. 1 a double and room no. 2 twin beds, room 2 is far superior, much larger and excellent views over the harbour, and a large bathroom. The bathroom in room no. 1 can only be used with the door open and even then sitting sideways onto the toilet.
Still a great location and a very large breakfast in the morning.
Parking is just outside of town, but for short stay you can get 4 hours right by the premises cheaper than the car park on the outskirts of the town.

Room Tip: Choose Room 2, the twin bedded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were walking the coast path, and this was a perfect location right on the harbour. We watched boats unloading after dark, and watched the rise and fall of the tide, sitting by the wide windowsill, with a picnic supper. The staff was very helpful, letting us have milk and cereal the night before so we could get away earlier than the bar opened, as we had many miles to go the next day and really had to start early. As others have written, the bathroom was a tight fit, and the room itself was very small, but the view of the harbour made it one of our most memorable overnights.

Room Tip: I think there are only 2-3 rooms, but make sure you have the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just an overnight stay in November taking advantage of one of the special offers that appear at this time of year. Worth every penny. The room was clean and had all the usual comforts expected nowadays. The toilet/shower area was rather small but nothing that would spoil our stay. The view over the harbour was picture-postcard style. We unloaded our luggage in front of the b&b and found the nearest parking was situated at the end of the pier - just continuing on round from the b&b, cost £4 for a day. We had to go into the restaurant to get a member of staff there to show us to our room, was about lunchtime so were in a bit of a rush. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grizzy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night and I have to say, we had a brilliant time, we were in room two and the views were stunning, I could have sat at that window all night. The room was very clean and comfortable , best night sleep I've had in ages, staff all very helpful and cheery and for the price (£40) absolutely no complaints, breakfast in the morning was humongous and very tasty. Looking forward to our next visit. X

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank caledonian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#24 of 34 in Mevagissey
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse

Address: Wheel House West Wharf, Mevagissey, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheelhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Wheelhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelhouse Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing