We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was small but clean.”
Review of The Wheelhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wheelhouse
Ranked #21 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed for one night here. Glad it was for no longer as Seagulls kept me awake nearly all night ! We had a choice of 2 rooms and room 2 was slightly larger so we opted for that one. It was clean apart from a dollop of seagull mess on the windowsill and the back of a chair. To be fair though the window was wide open and there are a lot of gulls ready for a feast on leftover food etc. The view across the harbour was fantastic.
We had to pay £4 for overnight parking on the carpark as hotel has no dedicated parking but this is to be expected in a small fishing village. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was fine if a little slow to arrive. The local fisherman were also eating breakfast here.
We also ate in the restaurant in the evening which i have reviewed seperately.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shropsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 148 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2008

I'm sure that the other person who reviewed The Wheelhouse stayed somewhere completely different, because this is possibly the worse place I have ever been and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone I would call a friend.

The rudeness and ignorance of the staff beggered belief! But its not surprising considering the management have the same attitude!

We decided to move to another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mrs_Smith28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelHouseMevagissey, Owner at The Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2008

Having read this review, we were obviously extremely concerned. However having checked all our June customers we know that nobody left early, made any complaint to our staff or management. Perhaps " Mrs Smith" would like to contact me? To indicate that our rooms are dirty, poor value and in a poor location is disgraceful. This is a 3 Star Guesthouse in a Waterside location with rooms starting at £35 per person. This review is not the work of a genuine guest and is clearly someone making mischief.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I was very impressed with this small guest house. Room 2 is small but still adequate for 2 people but the ensuite shower is on the tiny side but there is another room which is much larger. We had a triple aspect room with views right over the harbour. The towels were new and very white and fluffy and the room and ensuite were very clean and tidy. The staff here were very helpful, all the girls that worked there were happy & enthusiastic (which makes a change!) The room had tea/coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits, TV, shower gel and shampoo but no hairdryer. The breakfast consists of cereal, toasts and a full fry up which was lovely. For £60 per room per night I think it is very good value and it is not a chintzy naff old guest house like a lot. Would definitely stay there again and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.2 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stone's throw Cottage
Stone's throw Cottage
#11 of 34 in Mevagissey
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#24 of 34 in Mevagissey
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse

Address: Wheel House West Wharf, Mevagissey, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheelhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheelhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelhouse Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing