We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Tasty”
Review of Salty Dog Cafe

Salty Dog Cafe
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Millbrook
Description: The Salty Dog Café offers the best locally sourced, high quality, made from scratch breakfast, brunches and lunches in the Rame peninsula. We fondly welcome dogs, all shapes and sizes with free dog treats on offer. For our "wee Salty" customers we provide a small play area for children and some free sweet treats for them too! We have disabled access and toilet facilities. Free parking and WiFi available too!
Restaurant details
Description: The Salty Dog Café offers the best locally sourced, high quality, made from scratch breakfast, brunches and lunches in the Rame peninsula. We fondly welcome dogs, all shapes and sizes with free dog treats on offer. For our "wee Salty" customers we provide a small play area for children and some free sweet treats for them too! We have disabled access and toilet facilities. Free parking and WiFi available too!
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

What a fantastic place for breakfast or lunch. First day ate the salty dog breakfast which was super tasty nice sausage, large mushroom and egg.

Second day had the chickpea curry with chips for dipping and it was delicious just enough spice and plenty of flavour, would highly recommend this for any passing traveller, first class service and quick hot meals to your table

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2021

Had lunch here in August and really enjoyed it. Friendly staff, very dog-friendly, nice veggie breakfast served all day. Bit of a wait for food but we didn’t mind and the team knocked off the drink price because of this for us. I would definitely recommend going here if in the area.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank sarahC887XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

I’ll start off by saying that The Salty Dog *could* be one of those secret little hideaway gem cafes that mostly only the locals know about and try to keep to themselves but unfortunately *these* locals won’t be returning...
The food is very decent and cooked well. Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy the spiced bubble and squeak as I don’t like cooked red pepper and it didn’t specify on the menu that it was in the dish. The full breakfast arrived on a plate that was too small for all the food so was a bit difficult to enjoy properly. The chai latte I had was bang on. Delicious and usually I need to add a pack of sugar or something but this was so good I didn’t need to.
Our visit was on a day when it was a bit grey and the lovely view of the fields and coast was completely taken away as the cafe hasn’t set up a way to remove the condensation from inside the windows. It was also very hot inside the restaurant and had to step outside before the food arrived to cool down.
Unfortunately the service, in my opinion, makes or breaks a place. The waitresses didn’t seem that happy or glad that we were there. The waitress made a comment about if the chef would shout at her or not when we made a request for something that wasn’t on the menu which made us feel a bit uncomfortable on her part. Before our breakfast arrived, we ordered another pot of tea which didn’t arrive until after we finished eating and had to ask again. The restaurant wasn’t at full capacity and shouldn’t have taken until after our meal for it to arrive. It wasn’t the best place and wasn’t the worst but when you’ve got so many places to choose from, I’d choose elsewhere.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank jesscR1356UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Popped in for lunch and scoffed a delightful BLT with side chips and a latte. Have been before on our annual holiday down here and this is a delightful little place - good, well prepared food and very friendly service. Well done people!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Popped in for lunch today on our way back from Mount Edgcumbe, the food was excellent, it’s dog friendly and prices are reasonable.

Very much recommend to those passing.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank IanB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salty Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Salty Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.