We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We called in at the Polurrian Bay Hotel for lunch and were impressed by the warm welcome we received from the friendly, helpful staff. We ate in The Vista which has stunning views even on a wet, miserable day and was very comfortable. The service was good, the menu interesting and the food was tasty and well cooked. Thank you Sophie, for your efficient service. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your lunchtime visit. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your experience storm and all ! We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Yvonne , Sophie and the Team at Polurrian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
There are newer reviews for Polurrian Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Polurrian Bay Hotel. The views were outstanding from our sea view room. The bed and linen were so comfortable. The vista is a great place to chill for an afternoon (especially for storm watching). Great facilities, really good service from all the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review following your recent visit. We really do enjoy meeting the many local residents who choose to come over for dinner and have a night away from home. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and do have a lovely Christmas. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is perched on top of the cliff - it's spectacular in a storm! The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, very approachable and they seemed to be enjoying their work. We visited when the hotel was decorated for Christmas and it felt really festive. There are lots of little side rooms and additional areas which makes it really easy to hunker down and relax if you want a little time for yourself. The beds deserve special mention, they were so comfortable with fabulous mattress toppers that feel incredibly luxurious, and the linens were all very clean and soft. Thanks for a great stay, I'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It's so nice to get such positive feedback and know that you enjoyed staying with us. Yet another storm is passing quickly through as I write - it all adds to the excitement of visiting the coast at this time of year ! We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Thank you and very best wishes. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location of the hotel is very good,even on a windy wet day. The bedrooms are clean and maintained well. The staff are young but very freindly. the hotel is not a 4 star hotel, I would say more good 3 star. What really upset me was the restaurant and the food served. The portions are small,even the main course could have been a starter. Then when I asked if I would be possible to have some more cheese to be told that there was no more cheese left. The breakfast was the same. A full Cornish with one sausage, tomato,one egg of one's choice, and one slice of bacon. No wonder the Cornish prefer a good pasty!
Sorry but alot has to be done before I come again...especially in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornboy495040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay and I was sorry to learn of your disappointment particularly concerning breakfast. The majority of our guests balance their breakfast firstly dining from a combination of cold items from the buffet and then taking a cooked breakfast to follow hence we try to balance the cooked items accordingly. This works for the vast majority of our clients but I can see did not work for you. If visiting again please do let us know that you would like larger portions and we will do our best to meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and good wishes from us all for Christmas. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is quite remote, ideal for relaxing and taking in the scenery if the weather allows! The staff were very polite and helpful , our room was comfortable and very warm. I enjoyed dinner but my sister who is quite a plain eater found it difficult to choose as the dishes were not plain! The hotel had had a makeover since we were last there with the emphasis on 'family friendly' breaks, if I had young children and could afford to take them I would consider it . On the slightly negative side , the pool was too cool to enjoy ( but the Jacuzzi was good!)

Room Tip: A sea facing room if possible
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your visit. Should your be returning please do not hesitate to ask for something plain to be prepared, we would be only too happy to help. Thank you again for your review. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic - sitting on the cliffs above the sea. We booked through Travelzoo and got a really good deal. The dinners were especially good - although a bit cheffy - so much so that we went for the visitors menu on the last night - too much rich food was having taking it's toll. Lovely walks on the coast path right outside the door. Staff were excellent and our room overlooked the sea. The bathroom was huge, and the lounge areas were lovely. I understand this is a family hotel, so must get busy with children at time, but when we stayed there were mainly adults, and not many of them!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourtsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your very kind review we all really appreciate you sharing your experiences with us and the TripAdvisor community. I do hope we will see you again next time you are visiting our corner of the Duchy. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The views from the hotel are difficult to better. An extra £30 per night gets one a great sea view from the bedroom. The beds are very comfortable. We stayed for three nights because the weather was so good. The dinners were very good, well cooked and tasty. The massage was good and the spa pleasant to use.

The cooked breakfast was very disappointing, well arranged but almost cold and the eggs and bacon had the feel of having sat in a tray for too long, just like a motorway service area breakfast. After the first cooked breakfast we stuck to boiled eggs. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

During the weekend the service was good but on the Monday we waited for half an hour for someone to appear to serve some drinks. We were told that the restaurant would open at 6pm but after standing around for 30 minutes waiting for a drink the restaurant was still closed at 6.30 pm, the time of our dinner reservation.

The views from the new lounge area were fantastic and one wanted to just sit and look. The lounge furniture looked comfortable from a distance but we were unable to get comfortable on any of them, perhaps we are too old for this style of furniture.

The room was clean and tidy but the toilet could and should have been better cleaned as it gave off a strange composted smell and the net curtain was mouldy along the bottom edge.

With the sea view supplement and one massage and drinks the three days cost just under £600. If everything had been perfect this would not have been unreasonable for an off peak break but with the negatives it looks a little expensive.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £30 per night as it makes all the difference to get that sea view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldEagleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for taking time out to post a review following your recent visit. I was sorry to learn that there were a few aspects of your stay that fell short of expectation. It is regrettable that you did not have the opportunity to speak with me or my assistant Clare prior to your departure but none the less we appreciate your kind and constructive words which we will of course share with the team and follow-up where necessary. Thank you again for staying with us and It's good to know you enjoyed exploring the immediate area. Yvonne & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
604 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,165 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,695 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: £94 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing