We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the location...........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polurrian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“It's all about the location...........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay. We love and cannot fault the location, it's our go to area to get away for R & R, and the sea view rooms, following their recent refurb are very good.
The food is very good and with enough choice to suit our tastes, the portions are only just large enough to not be called small, but only just. The coffee at breakfast is very weak, we like our coffee and we like it strong, even when we asked for strong coffee we were still served a weak brew, its a small thing but for coffee drinkers the morning coffee at breakfast is very important.
Although breakfast it till 10.00hrs, if you would like to have a croissant you need to be there before 09.00hrs, I asked 2 members of staff about the lack of croissants and received bland mumblings that there were croissants available earlier!! We arrived for breakfast at 09.10hrs.
The service is still hit and miss in the restaurant, long waits between courses (35 mins on our first night) having to ask for water or bread or toast twice. It does let the hotel down.
It was also disappointing to be told the pool was unavailable to guests during certain times each day as the local swimming clubs use it, this should be clearly explained when you book.
The door slamming is a problem as a previous reviewer states and I would hazard a guess that it is probably the children who are running along the corridors and slamming the doors.
Summary, location is clearly superb, service is still hit and miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review following this your third visit to the hotel. I am glad to hear that you still enjoy the location and thank you for your observations for improvements. It is always useful to receive feedback and share it with the respective teams. Interestingly we recently had a meeting with our coffee supplier and installed a coffee grinder which dispenses consistent measures to our cafetiere's. Next time you visit please just ask for double measures to ensure it is up to the strength you prefer. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Yvonne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    203
    73
    26
    6
See reviews for
245
365
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. Both times we noticed just how much energy is wasted, and how little is done to encourage guests to recycle. Lights were left on all day, even in sunny areas, and the temperature in the large communal areas was far too hot. A standard response from the hotel might be, "We can't please everyone all the time." But that would be ill-advised - there is an ambient background temperature which is known to suit humans, and this hotel was way off mark. This lack of responsibility towards the environment puts us off going again, I must admit. I did leave written suggestions for the hotel staff (they encourage you to do so) as to how they might become more environmentally friendly, but I had no acknowledgment of this, let alone feedback for my suggestions. I think they just ask for suggestions so people like me feel they've said what needs to be said in private, and won't share it on sites like these! That would have been the case had they replied to me. They even sent a standard email after our stay asking for more feedback! I replied, but still nothing. Insulting really. What's important is that the environment matters - this hotel hasn't grasped that idea yet.
Value was good for our stay as we had a Groupon deal.
Breakfast great - plentiful and tasty. Evening meal disappointing - we didn't feel we'd eaten a hearty, satisfying meal and therefore the meal didn't match the price, we thought.
All staff - except one - were friendly, efficient and had a professional interest in us as guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review after your visit to us in January. It is good to know that you enjoyed your visit overall. I was however sorry to learn that you had not received a response to your email. My personal email address would have been visible on our "post visit" email to you - perhaps you would be kind enough to forward your original email to me and I would be only too pleased to reply. Thank you again for visiting and for your review. Yvonne Colgan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were very pleased with our four night stay at The Polurrian Bay Hotel, Mullion in February 2014.

The food was excellent. The restaurant for dinner (at least in the winter) offers a fixed choice menu of around six starters, mains and desserts. This remains the same every night but they also offer a different chef's special starter, main course and dessert each night.

The staff in the restaurant and hotel were well trained and very attentive. One waiter had rather a lot to say for himself, however after the first eveing he went off on three days leave anyway, which we were pleased about! All the other staff were brilliant. There is no bar now as such. You have to rely on waiter service in the lounge rooms and the Vista Lounge. This was no problem as the service was quick and effficient. Breakfast was excellent on three days but only "good" on one day when there were no pastries or fruit salad put out - restricting our choice. I did not raise this with management as it was a minor issue.

The room comfort was good and spacious. There was no real drawer space which was odd, but there was plenty of hanging space in open wardrobes in the room. It would have been nice to have some drawers to put undies, hankies and folded clothes in, but we managed without. The extra large double bed was extremely comfortable, and the walk in shower very powerful and efficient. The wifi worked fine in the room and lounge area until the last day / night. I raised this at reception who told me there was a fault which they put down to the wet and windy weather.

There is no way a hotel in that location could remain open throughout the year if it wasn't of a certain standard. The Polurrian Hotel achieves this because everything about it is quality. I would recommend it to any of my friends who were visiting Cornwall and wanted to base themselves on the Lizard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this comprehensive reveiw and to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate that quite often it is the small things that can make a very big difference - so thank you. We hope to be able to welcome you back at Polurrian soon.
Clare & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for one night in January at this lovely cliff side hotel with wonderful views down the South Cornish Coast. We had a fantastic bedroom facing the sea, which was very comfortable.
The food was delicious for both dinner and breakfast and the service was excellent. Looking forward to returning. Mr Dart.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms really have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J, Front Office Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do this lovely reveiw and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back soon
Clare & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Dennis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I enjoyed so much about the Polurrian Bay Hotel. Its beautiful location combined with really stunning and relaxing decor make for an exceptionally peaceful stay. The food was gorgeous and the staff were among the friendliest I have ever encountered, I cannot wait to get the chance to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tremodrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased your liked the hotel and found it a relaxing place to be. The team will be so happy with your feedback about them. They put so much of themselves into looking after our guests and your review will mean a lot to them as it does to me. Thank you again for posting a review, it is really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back. Yvonne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

As soon as you come through the door you are greeted with stunning sea views from the magnificent vista lounge. We found the hotel very comfortable throughout and I couldn't wait to climb into the soft comfy bed. We both really enjoyed the dinners and breakfast was a real treat as well - smoked salmon and scrambled egg was our favourite.
The sea view rooms are worth paying a bit extra for.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. It's so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As I write the sea has been whipped up by the strong southerly wind making for a spectacular seascape. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the Duchy. Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location on top of the cliffs - must be extra special in the summer when you can sit outside

Nice crisp cotton bed linen but could have done with a second chair in the bedroom

Food good but could have done with a bit more choice - if you were not keen on fish - meat options limited and yet for breakfast no fish option - would have been nice to have had kippers or smoked haddock

Staff friendly and helpful - good ethos of customer service. There was an error on our bill at check out but resolved easily with no fuss

No lift so make sure you let them know when you book if you have mobility problems

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. We are always happy to add an additional chair into a guest bedroom if requested. Being located on the coast we do as you mention focus our menu on the great fish supplies landed locally but we can be flexible to client tastes, just let us know. Thank you again for your review. Yvonne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
16.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Property: Polurrian Bay Hotel
Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing