We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent a glorious 5 day break at the Polurrian Bay hotel. Welcome was extremely friendly and very laid back, our room was ready so we checked in 2 hours earlier than expected which was great. Hotel was lovely and clean and the Vista view was just breathtaking. Our room was great and catered very well for us and our Labrador, the surrounding area, gardens etc were lovely too. Only a minor comment but there were two border collies running around off the lead that had a tendency to bother other dogs and also I wouldn't have thought it should be allowed bearing in mind lots of young children running around who may not like dogs, we kept our dog on a lead at all times. Rooms were serviced everyday. Food was delicious. One minor gripe was that service was very good but a tad slow at times, and one evening my meal was kind of thrown down in front of me with dinner almost ending up on the tablecloth. It seemed that the guys serving needed someone to oversee what they were doing and possibly someone to take control a little more. Saying that the food was delicious and the best out of the other hotels, Ickworth and Woolley grange that we have stayed in.

All in all a great holiday that ticked all the boxes for us and our young children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your Easter visit to Polurrian. It's great you know you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for your feedback on a few areas. It proves to be very useful and helps with our training focus. Interestingly we do ask all our guest with dogs to keep them on a lead when in the hotel as not everyone, specially younger children are used to being close to our four legged friends. Having taken you comments on board we will highlight this in the new seasons welcome letter addressed to our Doggy Guests and their Two-Legged Friends ! Thank you for staying with us and I do hope that we will see you back at Polurrian or at one of our other Luxury Family Hotel properties very soon. With warm regards from Yvonne and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful hotel with excellent children's activities. The breakfast was amazing as was the quality of the food in general, although sometimes service was a little slow. Bedrooms were very comfortable and clean. The view from the Vista Lounge was breathtaking and a great place to chill out, which we did for most of the day. Hopefully will be back! Thanks to all the staff for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking time out to post a review. It's good to know you and your family enjoyed your short break at Polurrian. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting West Cornwall. Thank you for staying with us, with best wishes from Yvonne and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We last visited two years ago, and loved it so we have been keen to come back ever since. We were not let down by the weight of our expectation. This is a family-orientated hotel which delivers a relaxing environment for parents with plenty to do for children of most ages - I suspect teenagers may find it slightly more of a challenge but we may find out in another couple of years! For our 11 and 7 year old, this was a great place with both of them rating the holiday as "pretty cool". The swimming, the tennis, the Games Room, the gardens etc all kept them well entertained. The food kept them fuelled and the beds gave everyone probably the most restful sleeps we have had in, well, two years! The beds are like resting on clouds with brilliant mattress covers and pillows.

The service in the hotel is relaxed and friendly. Remember it's a holiday and not everything has to happen at 100 miles per hour!! Everyone is in the hotel is attuned to the needs to their guests. The food is good (if a little expensive) but the entire package is good value.

From a parenal perspective, the Vista, the lounges and the snug are all excellent and our Family Sea-View room (with an extra adjoining room for our lads) was really good. We could have paid more for inter-connecting rooms (and we did consider it) but the Family Room was great value. In retropect, the lads having their own bathroom would have been useful but, from a cost perspective, we were happy with our choice.

This hotel is perfectly positioned on the cliffs overlooking the bay. We know the tennis court suffered some damage in the winter storms but it is perfectly playable and the damage to the court surround is being dealt with by the hotel.

The only other thing to say is that we cannot wait to go back! We love this place!!

Room Tip: Sea View Family Room (207) provides seperate room for children (two single beds) although everyone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your really wonderful review. I am so pleased that your return visit to us went so well and that we secured a "Pretty Cool" rating from our most valued younger critics. I do hope we will see you back at Polurrian next time you plan to visit Cornwall. Thank you for staying with us and good wishes from Yvonne and all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed recently with our 16m and 6 year old - they loved it! We did too! Very family friendly, the children both loved the Den, unfortunately we overslept for the Sunday morning breakfast club!
The only things that made it score less than Fowey Hall were the swimming pool - not as good for a six year old, suddenly quite deep; very small bathroom in our room (unfortunately no upgrade available!), but stunning views and very comfy bed and the hotel wasn't full of families (Fowey was), so we felt occasionally we needed to keep the noise and excitement down. Despite this we would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JaneBunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and note your comments regarding the indoor pool. Should we be fortunate to welcome you back later in the season you might want to brave the outdoor pool which has a constant depth and may work out better for your current needs. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Luxury Family Hotels. With best wishes from Yvonne and the Team at Polurrian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Well, I am not easily impressed but this place was awesome.
It was wet and windy but we were blown away by the service and the facilities on offer.
They are so well thought out for families.
The hotel is lovely. You have places to sit and chill with papers and amazing cakes and also places for the kids to play.
There was a private cinema room that we took our own sweets and watched a movie.
We had dinner in the restaurant, the staff were great.
I took my mum as a treat and my daughter who is 8. The best hotel break we have had.
I would recommend for anyone to stay here. Use the creche, the den was amazing!
They even do a breakfast club for the early ones!
Bad side - ok a little rough around the edges outside but the inside it faultless.
Sam

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menz456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lizard next time you are holidaying in your home county. With thanks and best wishes from Yvonne and the Team at Polurrian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for one night, not our choice the children booked it for us as a Christmas pressie. Didn't know what to expect, the kids haven't got that much money so we went open minded and WOW... a fantastic place to visit, relaxing, fab room and the food was just wow, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Splendid beyond splendidiness - try it and if you want to get away from everything apart from a quality hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 806, beautiful room with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSarah1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind and positive review. I am so pleased that you both enjoyed the gift of a stay with us from your children. I am sure they will also be delighted too. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you all to Polurrian on another occasion. Thank you again from Yvonne and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here, fabulous views, excellent staff and wonderful food. Will certainly stay here again. The weather was very windy but it was perfect for walking the cliffs and down to Mullion. The spa was excellent and we enjoyed time in the indoor swimming pool which most of the time we had to ourselves. Definitely stay again.

Room Tip: definitely have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, General Manager at Polurrian Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at Polurrian. It's always encouraging to know when our guests enjoy their experience, especially when they want to come back ! Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you plan a visit to West Cornwall. With best wishes on a blue sky afternoon from Yvonne and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
704 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,261 reviews
15.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,311 reviews
16 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,769 reviews
7.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polurrian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polurrian Bay Hotel

Address: Polurrian Road, Mullion TR12 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: £95 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polurrian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliffs amongst 12 acres of gardens, this quintessential luxury family seaside hotel offers stunning views across Mounts Bay and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. All of the public rooms have a sunny, welcoming feel, whilst bedrooms feature fluffy towels, super comfy beds and spectacular views. You will find an array of child friendly facilities including a complimentary Ofsted registered crèche for younger children and the Blue Room for the over eights. The restaurant features unpretentious dishes prepared with the finest seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients. There is a comprehensive range of facilities and activities on offer from the sanctuary of the Purity SPA to the newly resurfaced tennis court and the refurbished indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Polurrian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polurrian Hotel Mullion
Polurrian Bay Hotel Mullion, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing