We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the place for the perfect "Chill out"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Island View

Island View Holiday Apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments Pat's Den Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Island View Holiday Apartments
View from the apartments
Pat's Den Lounge
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Bedroom 1
Pat's Den Kitchen
Dining Table in Pat's Den
Fisherman's Loft Lounge
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 1
Fisherman's Loft Bedroom 2
Fisherman's Loft Balcony
Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
View from Tregwyn Lounge
Tregwyn Patio
View from Tregwyn Patio
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Lounge
Tremellin Bedroom 1
Tremellin Bedroom 2
Island View - Side View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mullion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
steve w
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“the place for the perfect "Chill out"”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just the perfect place for a relaxing break, Great view from the balcony and everything inside that was needed including a really,really good shower most welcome after long coastal walks.
Nice and clean and the bed was very comfy, we will be back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Island View, we were glad to hear you slept really well and will be delighted to welcome you back.
ps we love the shower too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexjen26
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved it, very clean and comfortable, well equipped with everything you might need, liz and Joanna was very friendly and helpful, very nice sitting out on the balcony over looking the bay, will definitely be back to tremellin. Highly recommend x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review. It was good to meet you both, and we appreciate you leaving the apartment so clean and tidy upon your departure. We are currently offering 10% early booking discount on all 2018 holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mermaid20...
cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked Pat's Den for a week and left after the first night. The small bedroom had a loud droning noise coming from a pump, which made it impossible to sleep. It could also be heard to a lesser extent in the double bedroom. The mattress in the double room had no give in it and was quite hard, I woke with a sore back (as commented from some other visitors). My sister made up the bed settee but the mattress on that was very thin and you could feel the springs with your hand. The description quoted the small bedroom had a door leading to a patio. This small area had a large shed and the rubbish bins. The housekeeper was lovely and offered us mattress toppers but we had brought our own so they didn't work. The location is quaint and you are right by the sea. We have had to book and pay for another cottage which is lovely with quality fittings. We have emailed the owners 24 hours ago but so far they have not been gracious enough to reply.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
We are very sorry to hear that you chose to leave the ground floor Pat's Den apartment, one of 4 apartments at Island View, and apologise for our delay in getting back to you. It’s disappointing to hear that you were not happy with the situation regarding the comfort of our beds and the white noise that comes from the plant room which is located directly above the single bedroom.

The plant room houses the pump and alarm for our sewage treatment plant which unfortunately does create some noise and this is unavoidable given its location. There is no mains sewage in Mullion Harbour so it’s imperative for us to have the treatment plant, and it does have to be maintained and managed within the confines of our property.

As far as the beds are concerned, we apologise they were not to your taste. Obviously beds are a very personal thing, some people like a hard mattress, while some prefer softer. The beds are a little over five years old and each of the SilentNight and Visco Magic mattresses were given very good reviews prior to our purchasing them.

We certainly do not advertise anywhere that the 2nd bedroom leads onto a patio area. Having reviewed our website, we did mention that there is a patio door in bedroom 2. In order to avoid any possible confusion, we have now removed this description. However, we clearly state that there is a small patio area at the front of the property leading from the lounge/dining area for which patio furniture is provided and offers fantastic views of our stunning harbour location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“The views from this apartment are amazing, will definitely go back.”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It would be difficult to beat the location, the apartment was comfortable and well stocked.
The shower was great, there was three of us and if I have any complaint it would be that the 2nd bedroom was used to store cleaning items.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Thanks for your positive review. It was good to meet you during our stay too! We are sorry that cleaning items are stored in the 2nd bedroom. We'll look into finding somewhere alternative for these things. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisanja...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Tregwyn on the ground floor and would certainly recommend the property to anyone. We had a look at the property upstairs as we were leaving and they are all very similar. Yes, it's nice to have a balcony and make the most of the stunning views and sunsets but the ground floor worked really well for us being able to just let the dog out of the front door. She never wanted to come back in and made many friends throughout the week.
We had a shortlist of two properties (Jayne had found a cottage in Porthleven) but I won the argument based 100% on location. We arrived late at night and, when we woke up the following morning, she had to admit it was the right choice! The location is just wonderful and the apartment was excellent too. It was very clean, and had a well appointed kitchen, a lovely bathroom, a very comfy bed and a woodburner. What more can you ask for? Joanne who looks after the apartments introduced herself on the first day and was always around for local advice and any help if we had needed it.
The property is well situated to explore the area and right on the South West Coast Path. We took the stunning walk to Lizard Point which is well worth doing. You can always cheat like us - there are buses every hour from Lizard village to Mullion then it is about a mile down into the cove.

A great property in s simply fabulous location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
We are glad to hear you had a lovely stay and are glad to hear that you would recommend it. That's our goal and what we strive for! We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamietall...
Crediton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked Pats Den at short notice, Liz and Mark were extremely helpful when enquiring and booking! It was our 4 month olds first holiday, and what a place to have it! The apartment was clean and well maintained. The view from the front room was stunning. We will definitely be back very soon. Perfect place to base yourself for seeing Cornwalls best spots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
We are glad that you had a great experience for your first holiday with baby Bertie! We hope you'll continue to return and he can enjoy making sandcastles and eating ice creams from the café next door as he gets bigger!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolaind...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful situation with everything you coud need”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Tremellin which has a balcony with fabulous views into the harbour and over to Mullion Island. The nicely decorated apartment has a hallway (ideal for sandy shoes), 2 bedrooms, bath/shower room and combined lounge dining and well equipped kitchen. You could spend all week sat on the balcony watching people and boats, the tides coming in and out and watching the beautiful sunsets. There's a small café in the harbour ideal for lunchtime pasties and cream teas with Mullion village nearby with a few pubs and takeaways. All in all a great place to stay, our second time there and definitely not our last. This apartment was accessed via some quite steep stone steps so if you have mobility problems make sure to book a downstairs apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review, and we were glad to welcome you back for a second visit. We agree, you could just sit all week and watch the world go by and hear the lapping of the sea 24/7. We appreciate you taking the time to write.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;