We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Working locally - booked through my work travel agent so ended up with a small room - but it was OK and the location of the hotel was great - the food was excellent & the staff were really friendly. So in short I'll be heading back there next time I'm working in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarum2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    109
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
85
309
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Super restaurant serving the best of local cuisine. The scallops were fantastic. Good attentive service. The location of the hotel above Mullion Cove is superb. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I will be planning a long weekend here in the next few months.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

the hotel is in a stunning location, overlooking the sea, there are several good local walks which mean you can walk or run as far as you like. Good views in the summer. Location was very good and Mullion cove is beautiful. Hotel i found was above average but not excellent. Staff where friendly but some good have been a little friendlier. The room isnt bad at all, i didnt get a sea view room which i was disappointed but i suppose i did get a good rate. The room isnt huge so dont bring lots of luggage but it was big enough for a couple. The room was clean, a little dated but i wasnt worried as it fitted with the culture of the building. Beautiful presented building too. Room has tea making and biscuits which is excellent, bathroom had toiletries which is good, lovely big bath and plenty of hot water etc. Bed was comfy and room was cleaned to a good standard each time. overall room was good. Breakfast was good, lots to choose from and some good delights on the menu. Very happy with breakfast. I ate in the bar a few times as i didnt want to pay the expensive restaurant prices. The food was ok, i had steak both nights, one night was better than the other, food was cooked well and presented well but could have been a little more on the plate etc, i.e steak with no onion rings! Wifi was a little slow in places and could do with upgrading but it worked for what i needed. Overall a good hotel but for me not quite a 4 star but getting there. Lacked that little bit more but it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauns_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were staying near by at Mullion Cove Lodge (excellent accommodation) and purley by chance we had a meal on a Saturday night, it was recommended to us. We all had the fish and chips, beautifully presented and wonderfully cooked. The service was excellent and we had a bit of banter with the manager (Chris) and all in all a very nice evening.

Room Tip: Gi in the daytime and not the evening as view will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Whilst staying in a self catering house nearby, we decided to venture to this nearby hotel for lunch. We were not disappointed, everything was perfect, service, food quality, ambience and all for a very reasonable price. We had a 3 course meal with champagne for £80 (2 people), which was incredible value - will visit again if in this part of Cornwall.

For lunch I would opt to stay in the bar, it had a nice calm atmosphere, whereas the restaurant was a little too quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtravel1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have stayed here previously but this time we were in a holiday cottage and were able to take a lovely coastal walk to the restaurant to take advantage of the excellent three course Sunday lunch which I can recommend for qualitly, quantity and price. Obviously roast beef and the trimmings was on but I opted for the fish. Puddings are a feature here and we both left feeling very full but also happy. Hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buspassnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We've just spent four days at this lovely hotel in a 'partial sea view room' no 224,(upgraded from standard due to a hiccup when we booked). The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious with both a walk-in shower and separate bath. We peeked into a couple of empty adjacent rooms of the same quality and view and they were smaller and only had bath OR shower, so we were very fortunate! There was a lift which we found useful being slightly less mobile. We found without exception the staff helpful, friendly and professional.

My only real criticism was the food options. We ate in the brasserie one night, which was a la carte, but the menu didn't change, and with no 'specials', it was a bit limiting when staying more than a couple of nights. Our four-night offer included a three course meal plus coffee, in the restaurant one evening, which we enjoyed, but found a bit rich for our small/elderly appetites. This did change nightly with nice choices, but at £36 each, plus wine, it really would bump up the cost of the holiday to eat in every night for a week! It would be nice if they offered an a la carte option for the restaurant menu, perhaps to eat in the brasserie if they didn't want to waste a restaurant table? Breakfasts were lovely with nice cooked choices and fruits and cereals, various fruit juices.
Parking: there were a few spaces at the front of the hotel - beware the sheer drop if you don't engage reverse! Public parking just opposite was very convenient, but you had to arrive back early to secure a space. The hotel's own car park was not very accessible for the less mobile, as it was at the far side, and either quite a walk back round, or a short cut through across a very difficult couple of very high steps.(We watched people needing to be helped across from our window). We had to park there on return from the Mullion pub one evening in the dark, and, after dropping me off first, my husband parked and took the short-cut back and he said it was lethal, with no light to help!
We visited The Old Inn at Mullion, a mile away, for food two of our nights and it was very good, and a fraction of the price of the hotel. If you have the money, the stomach and the mobility, this is an excellent hotel to stay in and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memberChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Property: Mullion Cove Hotel
Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing