We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have dogs this is a 'must stay' hotel”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was the third time we have visited The Mullion Cove Hotel with one of our dogs and the whole experience gets better each time.
The staff could not be more accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. We expected friends to join us for dinner the first night and a table was laid in the dog friendly lounge for the numbers we provided....only one out of 4 came...but it was not made an issue and we were not made to feel uncomfortable about it; the table settings were simply removed and no more said. The second night another dog was in the dog friendly lounge that didn't like our dog (and ours couldn't understand no to playing) so we opted last minute for room service dinner....again no problem and no fuss made.
So after us being nightmare guests the staff still seemed more than happy to help and make our stay lovely and relaxing.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want to take your furry friend with you and we look forward to our next stay later this year.

Room Tip: Garden Suite opens directly onto lawned area so a must have for dog owners. Sitting having breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in the summer of 2006 for our honeymoon and liked it so much we went back again in 2007. So six and a half years on we went back. Everything was reassuringly familiar but brought up to date. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly. Added to that the weather was brilliant. We certainly left three days later much more rested and relaxed than we arrived. Thanks the Chris and the team for a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for one with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in the Garden suite which I would highly recommend. There were just 2 of us so having all that space and a lovely lounge to sit in was fantastic. The views from the patio doors allow you to just sit and relax admiring one of the best views you could ask for. Food both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent. Breakfast options included many choices as well as the full cornish, so there was something for every taste. We ate evening meals both in the bar and the restaurant - I had superb fish and chips in the bar! Evening meals in the restaurant were very good quality and very reasonably priced. Service throughout was just as you want it, staff attentive to your needs without being on top of you all the time. We enjoyed our short break, it was so relaxing and peacuful, I returned home feeling as if I had been away for much longer. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this establishment during the recent storms and were delighted with our experience. We had opted for the DBB option and found it excellent value. Our room was one of the standard doubles, on the corner of the hotel so we did have a partial sea view which was very enjoyable and possibly a better choice in light of the extreme weather conditions than being at the very front of the hotel. However, friends did have one of the deluxe rooms with triple aspect windows and I was slightly jealous of their view, but not the noise of the storm they had to endure! The decor is very much in the Edwardian style and our large double bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was good but I would have preferred nicer products, is it me, or do blue/green coloured miniature bottles just seem naff? Our first night was quite quiet in the restaurant and dinner was ok but not outstanding. The service was excellent and whole experience very relaxing, ending with coffee in a very comfortable sitting room. Breakfast the next morning was pretty good with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. And a very good choice of cooked breakfasts from the "full Cornish to Smoked Haddock with poached eggs." We definitely needed a good long walk to build up an appetite for eating again. Dinner on the second evening was extremely good with the same relaxed but attentive service. After another hearty breakfast, we checked out and the hotel was more than happy to keep our luggage so we could attempt to walk off our excesses. A great place for a relaxing stay coupled with energising walks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreanna57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

OK, let's get the negatives out of the way first - the Wi-Fi was a little flaky at times and some of the décor a bit tired. As far as the Wi-Fi is concerned I think the network was being upgraded during our stay so this may not necessarily be a recurring problem. There is also a lot of refurb work going on so the second -ve is certainly in the process of being dealt with..
We originally booked a suite but 'downgraded' to a premier room with a sea-view which gave an absolutely wonderful view over the cove. Unless you have a compelling reason for a suite the premier rooms seem to offer more space and better views.
Other than that, perfect pretty much sums up the whole experience. Staff are great, friendly and discreet and the food, quite simply, is to die for! The well-stocked bar actually held a well-kept local ale - a depressingly rare phenomena in decent hotels!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petedvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

After a hairy drive through the storms of valentines day and managing to walk against the wind to get to the door everything was to a good standard thereafter.

We had a premier room on the second floor with a little balcony fantastic views, good space and nice big bathroom with seperate shower and bath, bit stingy with the shampoo etc.

The food dinner & breakfast was good - I like the allocated table for your whole visit thing, but i guess that hinges on whether you get a good table.

Bar is nice and the location for views and walks is great.

Staff helpfull all in all pretty good

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itspog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Wow. Just... wow. This was my third time at the Mullion Cove, my husband's first, and we couldn't have had a better time. From the minute Sarah welcomed us and showed us to our room, we knew we were in the hands of caring professionals who would cosset us completely. And they did!
This was our honeymoon. You want something special on your honeymoon. The team at Mullion Cove make you feel as though you're coming home to your own house and that you can relax and be completely at your ease, AND they'll be happy to bring you delicious food and drink on trays. We spent our first day curled up in the deep cushions of a sofa in one of the sitting rooms, watching the waves breaking over the island and enjoying amazing service without moving a muscle.
All that lurking made us hungry for dinner, at which the team surpassed themselves. Chris, the excellent and attentive general manager steered us around the wine list and Darren, the bar manager made excellent Bombay G & Ts. Ellie made me a Mojito that almost made me cry. Perfection.

The chef Fiona Were is a genius and her team are completely in tune with her. We stayed three nights and the menus were consistently innovative, comforting, gorgeously-presented, delicious and locally-sourced. Our room was beautiful and tastefully decorated. What more can I add? Oh, we've booked for next Valentine's Day already.

Room Tip: 114 faces the Atlantic and has an amazing view from the loo - probably the best in Britain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
820 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,181 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: £124 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing