We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value Sunday Lunch”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

During our Cornwall holiday decided to come and enjoy a sunday lunch at this hotel. The view from the restaurant was quite magnificent. The lunch menu was extremely well thought out providing choices for even the most discerning diner. The 28 day hung Cornish beef is probably some of the finest I have eaten for sometime, and I come from South Devon, proud of our beef. Service was attentive and courteous, presentation of food was first class, selection of wines excellent, and the restaurant was busy when we visited, always a good sign.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    112
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
95
328
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

As many other reviews have stated, this is a first class hotel in a staggeringly beautiful location. The staff are first class and always helpful. The new General Manager was particularly adept at compiling the delicious "Lizard Lifeboat" cocktail - well recommended.

So, any downsides? Well, as mentioned in other reviews, the Wifi reception in the upper bedrooms was abysmal (.5 Mbps!). It meant I had to go to the ground floor to check my email. A repeater hub could be fitted at a minimal cost - please fix!

The food was well cooked and presented in a modern minimalist style - which meant that, for example, the Peach Melba would send Dame Nellie into a state of anorexia!

It's a hotel worth a visit - you'll certainly be well treated.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I came here for Sunday lunch about six weeks ago. We were so impressed that we made a return visit this weekend, and we were not disappointed. Well travelled and exacting foodies, we can be a little difficult to please, and would never consider going back to the same place twice unless we were one hundred percent satisfied with the quality of food, service and facilities, and had been given good value for money.
The hotel itself boasts stunning views, and inside, is extremely comfortable, with a classy atmosphere. You cannot fault the service, nothing is too much trouble, and each member of staff we have encountered has been friendly and polite.
We have now enjoyed the three course Sunday lunch twice. High end, imaginitive combinations of flavours, beautifully presented, and delicious. Depending on which starter you order, you may feel a little disappointed on seeing the size of the portion, but by the time you finish your dessert, you'll be more than satisfied. We both have huge appetites and couldn't have eaten another thing. The quality of food is far higher than you would normally expect in this area, unless you are prepared to pay a lot of money for it. We were so surprised when we were presented with our first bill to discover the cost was only £15.00 per head!!
We will definitely be back (again) !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherHenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this hotel for a lunch time snack and was very disappointed with the quality of the food and the amount. We had a fish sharing platter for 2 but there was only enough for one. The fish cakes were as flat as pancakes. We were very hungry so eat this meal. The waiter came and asked us how the meal was so I told him and he passed the message onto the chief and that was the last we heard, no one came out to talk to us. Would not recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank marie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As usual on arrival in Cornwall, twice a year we have Friday (and Sunday) lunch in the bar at the Mullion Cove Hotel - close to our hearts as we used to live in Mullion.
Friday (9th May 2014) we called in and for the first time they had Ray Wings on the menu. Now, being a sea fishing fan, this was one I had not yet tried - so I did. And it was gorgeous.
very well presented, lovely fish.
and the bar in the Mullion Cove Hotel has a good layout and fantastic views.
Thanks to the manager (who I've know for years) and his team again for a great meal.
The roast beef for Sunday lunch was good too!
Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had a four night stay in the Mullion Cove, on DB&B rates. We had a premier room with sea views.
On arrival we were pleasantly welcomed, and shown round the hotel (a nice little touch). The room was magnificent; large, spacious, comfortable, super view, great bathroom with lovely separate bathroom and shower. It was clean, comfortable, and one of the nicest rooms I've been in for a while.
Helpfully for Cornwall, despite being on the coast, we got mobile phone signal too. It may not bother everyone to be unavailable, but it sure annoys me to stay somewhere without a mobile signal. Not a problem here.
The service from the wait staff at dinner and breakfast was excellent. They were efficient, and friendly, and made an effort to chat briefly with customers. They nicely balanced being friendly without being intrusive, and made for a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
The food was generally good. We were particularly pleased with more simple dishes (lemon sole with caper butter and shrimps). Fish in general was well cooked. A fish medley with a crab bisque was excellent too. A few other dishes tried a little too hard with just slightly too many ingredients (e.g. the spiced raisins/sultanas on a scallop dish). Portion size was well balanced, so that three courses was not too filling. One or two excellent deserts as well, again particularly where things were kept simple (a perfect rhubarb and apple crumble, for example, and a very good chocolate delice).
The location is great too. We took a taxi down to the Lizard, and enjoyed a 5-6 mile walk back along the coast path, fueled by a really nice packed lunch from the hotel.
Any downsides? Well, not many. Their internet is a bit flakey. It was usually good enough for emails and a bit of browsing, but didn't always connect/work well. That would have been about the only thing I'd have changed if I could.

Overall: friendly, a magnificent 'premiere' room, nice lounges, clean, good food… we were happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A return visit here for Sunday lunch was one of our priorities while on holiday for a week in Cornwall.
Super meal which couldn't be faulted, 3 courses for £15. Nice choice of starters and desserts as well. Then coffee in the lounge to relax in front of the beautiful views. Service from the staff also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant if you happen to be at the bottom tip of the country and I look forward to the next time I am able to return. Just wish I lived nearer, I'd be there every week!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarenicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Property: Mullion Cove Hotel
Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing