We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely get away”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel back in June for an impromptu break away from home. First and foremost, the location was simply outstanding. And just right for what my hubby and I were after! Beautiful sea views surround the hotel with a refreshing touch of salty air to really make us feel relaxed. Most staff were very accommodating, though some could do with a bit more 'pep' as they weren't always very talkative (very awkward when waiting for a drink to be served..)

On to the food! As a food lover I have to say the desserts were a real pleasure for me. Unexpected little touches fondled my plate and I didn't know whether to eat mine or my hubby's plate first! For a hotel that isn't of rosette standing (that I'm aware..) they are very lucky to have snapped up someone with such a delicate touch with the food. For this alone we will be back.

The room itself was extremely clean and fresh; through slightly old fashioned corridors but not overly so. Just enough to bring up some nostalgia!

Overall a lovely short get away and we will be back. A shine up here and there would just add to the wonderful atmosphere in this very relaxing part of the country.

ps. wifi could do with a definite wake up! Not so much of a problem for us but can imagine it would frustrate those in need of internet

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, sit back and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for a week in June. The food at dinner was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the views from the sea facing rooms were great. The main problem is the WiFi it just does not work and is always going to be fixed tomorrow

Room Tip: Avoid suites as WiFi is not available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

During our Cornwall holiday decided to come and enjoy a sunday lunch at this hotel. The view from the restaurant was quite magnificent. The lunch menu was extremely well thought out providing choices for even the most discerning diner. The 28 day hung Cornish beef is probably some of the finest I have eaten for sometime, and I come from South Devon, proud of our beef. Service was attentive and courteous, presentation of food was first class, selection of wines excellent, and the restaurant was busy when we visited, always a good sign.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As many other reviews have stated, this is a first class hotel in a staggeringly beautiful location. The staff are first class and always helpful. The new General Manager was particularly adept at compiling the delicious "Lizard Lifeboat" cocktail - well recommended.

So, any downsides? Well, as mentioned in other reviews, the Wifi reception in the upper bedrooms was abysmal (.5 Mbps!). It meant I had to go to the ground floor to check my email. A repeater hub could be fitted at a minimal cost - please fix!

The food was well cooked and presented in a modern minimalist style - which meant that, for example, the Peach Melba would send Dame Nellie into a state of anorexia!

It's a hotel worth a visit - you'll certainly be well treated.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I came here for Sunday lunch about six weeks ago. We were so impressed that we made a return visit this weekend, and we were not disappointed. Well travelled and exacting foodies, we can be a little difficult to please, and would never consider going back to the same place twice unless we were one hundred percent satisfied with the quality of food, service and facilities, and had been given good value for money.
The hotel itself boasts stunning views, and inside, is extremely comfortable, with a classy atmosphere. You cannot fault the service, nothing is too much trouble, and each member of staff we have encountered has been friendly and polite.
We have now enjoyed the three course Sunday lunch twice. High end, imaginitive combinations of flavours, beautifully presented, and delicious. Depending on which starter you order, you may feel a little disappointed on seeing the size of the portion, but by the time you finish your dessert, you'll be more than satisfied. We both have huge appetites and couldn't have eaten another thing. The quality of food is far higher than you would normally expect in this area, unless you are prepared to pay a lot of money for it. We were so surprised when we were presented with our first bill to discover the cost was only £15.00 per head!!
We will definitely be back (again) !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherHenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this hotel for a lunch time snack and was very disappointed with the quality of the food and the amount. We had a fish sharing platter for 2 but there was only enough for one. The fish cakes were as flat as pancakes. We were very hungry so eat this meal. The waiter came and asked us how the meal was so I told him and he passed the message onto the chief and that was the last we heard, no one came out to talk to us. Would not recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank marie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As usual on arrival in Cornwall, twice a year we have Friday (and Sunday) lunch in the bar at the Mullion Cove Hotel - close to our hearts as we used to live in Mullion.
Friday (9th May 2014) we called in and for the first time they had Ray Wings on the menu. Now, being a sea fishing fan, this was one I had not yet tried - so I did. And it was gorgeous.
very well presented, lovely fish.
and the bar in the Mullion Cove Hotel has a good layout and fantastic views.
Thanks to the manager (who I've know for years) and his team again for a great meal.
The roast beef for Sunday lunch was good too!
Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
821 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,185 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range: £125 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing