We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Warm Welcome”
Review of Mullion Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mullion Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Myself, my girlfriend and my dog took an early morning walk from Kynance Cove to Mullion Cove. We'd heard there was a nice cafe there but arrived half an hour early.

Hungry and thirsty we thought we'd try our luck at the hotel on the hill. They not only made an exception for us but were so kind and friendly. They treated us like guests of the hotel. Amenable, we sat outside and they served us coffee, juice and a wonderful fresh full Cornish.

Staff were chatty and polite but not obtrusive. It was a lovely surprise with stunning views.

We will be back for lunch. Recommended. I'm local, it's now on my favourite regular haunts list.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    112
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
95
328
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I first came to this hotel about 25 years ago. It is very pleasing to see the transformation. It looks amazing. Considering that dogs are welcome, you would never know they were present. We stayed for three weeks and did not find a single dog hair. We heard the occasional bark but nothing to worry us. Our room was awesome. We did however pay extra for full sea view but it was worth it. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The reception team were always helpful and willing to make a call or research something for you. House keeping we're just amazing. The hotel is spotless and the rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. The food was generally good although we were disappointed with the seafood platter which was an extra £35 supplement. The quality was poor and it was way overpriced. The supplements were too much considering the price for the meal is already £28 or £35. A fillet steak costing £16 supplement for example. The variety of the fish and meat was very good and we enjoyed the selection although the veg and pots were restricted. This is probably not an issue if you stay for a shorter time. Overall we loved our time at Mullion and will return. It is priced at the top end for travellers though.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Mullion Cove Hotel in early August 2014 for six nights (with our dog.) The staff couldn't be more welcoming, the food was very good and the hotel clean as you would expect. We chose the half board option (breakfast & evening meal.) The evening meal was a high-end classic four course feast. We didn't eat at the bar but others told us the standard was good also. We had a premium room which overlooked the harbour with a small balcony, our room was plenty big enough, I can't comment about the size of other rooms as I didn't see them, others staying at the hotel remarked that these rooms were sufficient but choose a room with a full sea (or harbour) view if possible for the full effect.. Many people chose to use the hotel as a base to walk the SW Coast path and other hiking routes nearby. I can testify that the cliff top views are spectacular and the walking tough in places for those who are not as fit as they could be but the dog was in her element! On this subject there is a "Dog" lounge where you can eat with your dog if you wish, we took this option and it was joy to find a hotel of this standard that accepts dogs. Clearly the hotel has undergone a makeover but this did not affect the ambiance in anyway, the staff made our visit pleasant, it's a people business after all. It's a great place and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour or to the front overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blue235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've tried to write a balanced review of the MCH., so there is a lot of positive stuff as well some negatives.
A review for other travellers may help in the areas of importance to them, but what is important? For me it's value for money. I don't mind paying for good quality accommodation and food. But there's the rub, what suits me may not suit another. So enough of this shilly shallying. The MCH as others have said is in a fantastic position perched on top of the cliffs overlooking the cove. The SW coastal path runs past the hotel. The hotel was refurbished when the present owners took over about 7/8 years ago. Some of the bedrooms now need another refresh. There are several lounges including one dedicated to dog owners and their pets. The bar area has recently been refurbished and I understand there are plans to extend the dining area out towards the road. there is ample car parking space albeit most is just outside the curtilage of the hotel across the road. Staff are friendly and helpful and you get a complimentary cuppa when you arrive.
B&B at this time of year (July/August) is £150 for a standard room, you can add dinner in the restaurant for £28 per person if booked at the same time.Given the standard of the standard room we had and the food portions for breakfast and dinner, I would say the hotel seriously overcharges and this is where I wouldn't rate it highly for value for money.
So in summary if you want a fantastic view (assuming it's not misty), easy access to the coastal path, mainly peace and quiet (though when we were there, there were a lot of screaming babies) you may decide this hotel is for you. However if price, food portions and large bedrooms (without paying a premium) are what you require you may be disappointed.
It did seem to us, having travelled to Cornwall since the 1940's, that the tourist spots are very pricey, the only people who didn't seem to mind paying large sums were the poor, hard working, families whose pay we are constantly being told has fallen behind the cost of living. For them money seemed no object, but then I'm forgetting it is their holiday after all. For me whose savings have fell behind inflation for over 10 years I have to weigh up the price and value carefully even on a holiday.

Room Tip: The premium rate rooms (ie anything other than standard) are probably larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 36staffboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at this hotel. Sat outside as we have a dog. Spectacular view over the Cornish Coast. Right on the coastal path. Lunch was excellent. I had a crab salad with home made bread. My husband had mussels. Staff were very friendly. Would love to stay at this hotel one day

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

5 of us had a very enjoyable meal at Mullion Cove last night. The food was excellent with a wide selection and choice for all 3 courses,the presentation of the food was exquisite and tastes to satisfy all of the taste buds in our mouth.

The setting of the restaurant with views over the sea and beyond were magnificent. Above the staff were all very attentive, extremely obliging and happy in their jobs. Full credit must go to the main man ( Richmond, London) who obviously looks after his staff very well and puts the hotel in such good light! Mr Grose give the man pat on the back. Simple things that certain other Seaside hotels could learn from!

Mackay Party (Thurlestone,the Lizard and Leicester)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed in the Mullion Cove hotel last week for four nights with my partner. My parents and brothers were also staying in the hotel.

The staff were brilliant. Moving us to a different room because we were not happy with ours. Also I had hurt my neck while I was there and the reception staff went back and forth to the kitchen for me heating up a gel pack thing and putting it in the freezer when I needed it cold.

The food was also amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superfoodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullion
0.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
8.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullion Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullion Cove Hotel

Property: Mullion Cove Hotel
Address: Mullion Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion TR12 7EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mullion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mullion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mullion Cove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mullion Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mullion Cove Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing