We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated for visits to Eden Project and surrounding area”
Review of Elmswood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elmswood House
Ranked #4 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Elmswood for three nights and were very well looked after. The house is spotless and the proprietors very helpful.
Breakfast is plentiful with a good selection.
The room we had (4) was very well appointed with a nice view over the countryside. Elmswood has a couple of residents' lounges, one with an "honesty" bar.
We went by train and it was only ten minutes walk from Par Station.
There are good eating places within walking distance The Ship Inn (15 to 20 minutes) and The Royal Inn (10 to 15 Minutes) Our preference was the Royal Inn. A bit more upmarket than the Ship with enormous and beautifully cooked servings and delightful staff.
The Eden project is only a short taxi ride away (cost £7) and if you use A & J Private hire (01726 814892) they will collect you at a mutually convenient time.
A car in high season in Cornwall could be a disadvantage rather than a benefit and it is very easy and not too expensive to visit the surrounding country by train or bus particularly if you have a rail card. The young man who mans the ticket office in Par station is very helpful and a credit to his employers.
St Ives, Penzance Newquay etc are all within easy travelling distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay
Graham & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

very good accomodation very comfortable rooms very good breakfast using local produce butchers sausages ,dry cured bacon .
room three has a king size bed ,sunny aspect ,vues through the village , not for from the local frendly pub
I will stay again
can not recemend enough

Room Tip: room three has a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the start of a coast path walk. We arrived by train. The house was easy to find and we were made very welcome. We had a large, attractive room looking out over countryside. It was comfortable, and we had a good breakfast. The house and the room had a strong fragrance of soap and cleaning products.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have stayed at this B & B 4 times in the last 7 years. It was always consistent, The rooms were comfortable, had everything i needed ( Good Bed , T. Making facilities, TV. En Suite) and were very clean . I found it very easy to get to Fowey in fact only10 mins drive. Or about £7 by Taxi at night if your want to go out for Dinner. There is also a nice Cove near by, called Polkeris, great for a day on the Beach or i went by Taxi for Dinner to a Pub called The Rashleigh & another night to a restaurant called Sams, both i would recommend you book. Not much parking so get a taxi at night. In this B & B I was only 10 mins from the Eden project &, Helligan took me about 35 mins and i then linked that with Mevagisey. Another day i visited Charlestown about 15 minutes. On a different visit i got on the train, in was so easy to walk to the station , so i went to St Ives for the day and relaxed all the way ! I then decided to use the train another day , and i went to Plymouth, took in the Barbican and a bit of shopping. In the village of Tywardreath there was a nice Pub for a drink , also a good Thai take away, a small shop and a great Butchers ( I took some amazing sausages home) . From Tywardreath i also drove to Golant ( 10 mins) and had a good Pub Meal in a Pub called The Fishermans Arms ( By the River Fowey). There was so much to discover in the South East of Cornwall, and indeed the Rest of the county, after 4 visits to Angela & Graham & Elmswood House B & B & Tywardreath i moved here! It is still a very nice place to stay and if i dont have room for friends or family they stay there and it is still amazing !!

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter but front rooms have fantastic country views & and are not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

From the moment we entered Elmswood House we were made very welcome indeed after a long five hour car journey. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the countryside - we could not have asked for better. Breakfast was first class, a good menu choice and cooked beautifully. The service provided by Angela and Graham was superb and were very helpful with information on places to visit as well as useful directions. Nothing was too much bother.....we would certainly come back again. Thank you Angela and Graham.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyceeden301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time and trouble to review us so positively and hope that you are able to visit us again one day
Many Thanks from Graham & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Thanks so much to Angela and Graham who made our stay very welcome. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and shown to a spacious room with wonderful views over the country side. Breakfast was beautifully cooked with plenty of choice, the local butchers sausages are rather tasty! Our bed was very comfortable but too warm. On mentioning this our duvet was exchanged for a blanket which made for a much more pleasent sleep. After our second night we decided to stay on and to our delight they could fit us in though it meant changing rooms. Another spacious room and again spotless and beautifully decorated. The two pubs that were recommended are within walking distance and serve lovely evening meals, the fresh fish was awesome. To sum up a wonderful B&B with excellent hosts and not too far to go anywhere in Cornwall as we visited St Micheals Mount, Minnack Theatre, Lands End, Eden Project to name a few. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We are pleased that you were enjoying your time with us so much that you extended your stay and were able to visit so many interesting places in Cornwall. Many thanks from Graham & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is now the fifth year of staying at Elmswood House. Angela and Graham were as usual perfect hosts and always make us very welcome. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. We have also eaten in some of the restaurants in the area and visited the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. Lanhydrock is a must for National Trust members. All in all we can highly recommend Elmswood House and the area in general. On this visit we took friends who have recommended Elmswood House to some of their friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardsfanGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We feel that one of the highest compliments we receive is when our guests regularly return. We are pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Par hotels
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
0.4 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#7 of 16 in Par
23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penarth Guest House
0.9 mi away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 16 in Par
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmswood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmswood House

Address: 73 Tehidy Road | Tywardreath, Par, St Austell PL24 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmswood House is situated in the historic village of Tywardreath, Cornwall, just 4 miles from Fowey and the Eden Project, and close to Heligan, Mevagissey, local beaches and many popular attractions. This lovely rural village inspired Daphne du Maurier to feature Tywardreath in her classic novel "The House on the Strand" We offer king size,double,twin and ground floor/2+1 en-suite rooms which are beautifully appointed and feature quality bedding with Egyptian cotton sheets, Freeview digital TV, tea & coffee making facilities and many extras. Guests can relax in the garden view lounge, the TV lounge, or sunny gardens with views over the sweeping valley landscape. The village is served by the Fowey-Mevagissey bus service and Par railway station, on the London-Penzance and Aberdeen-Penzance lines, is only 5 minutes walk. Newquay Airport is a 40 minute drive and for motorists we have a private car park. Breakfast features a home cooked English breakfast using delicious local produce, fresh fruit, yoghurt, home made marmalade, cereals, and as much toast, tea & coffee as you wish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmswood House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing