We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two people giving of their very best”
Review of Elmswood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elmswood House
Ranked #4 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Dy and I stayed with Graham and Angela early in July 2014.Our room was at the rear of the house overlooking the carpark. We had an enormous bed that was recommended by Angela.We have all seen those Lenny Henry adverts about a good nights sleep well....he hasn't stayed in that bed at Elmswood. We haven't slept so well in years. We did mean to ask the make of the bed but forgot. If you read this folks can you let us know.Staying anywhere away from home is always a gamble and neither of us bet :-) .We took a chance on Elmswood after reading other reviews and we were delighted.It was a special trip for us catching up with friends in the locality that we hadn't seen for 30 years and we thought that it couldn't get any better until Graham invited us to a musical evening in St Austell where he was singing with a group of shanty men. Angela and Graham both sing in local choirs and they are a must if you are staying at the right time.Our welcome at Elmswood was warm,Angela and Graham pulled out all and I mean all the stops to ensure our stay was perfect, the rooms were so clean and the breakfast so tasty that if I had a Tardis we would be back in 5 minutes.Excellent beer and cider and bonhomie in the village pub and Elmswood is a first class centre for exploring Cornwall.We will be back when I return the copy of Ivanhoe that you very kindly leant to me when we shall do more hugging.Well done you two and thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the house on the first floor. Very quiet in the night. We stayed for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismY130NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I think this is the best place we have ever stayed in! Some places excel in different areas, but the Elmswood has it all! From the welcome upon our arrival to the delicious breakfasts, the beautiful rooms, and everything spotlessly clean. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. Location is perfect and so quiet. The church chiming is wonderful to listen to, but isn't disturbing at night at all as there is double glazing. Thank you so much! Would love to come and stay again one day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Emma W for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you feel that this is the best B&B that you have ever stayed in and delighted that you and your family enjoyed your 5 night holiday with us and appreciated the benefits of this friendly and peaceful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First of all, what can I say, the welcome was brilliant, warming and inviting. We stayed in two rooms, the first was room 2 which is upstairs it is a twin room with all the accessories you need plus more. The second room is room 6 this is situated downstairs. This is a family room with all the accessories you need again plus more. The beds are very comfy. The breakfast is very good with a great range of food to choose from. The owners are very friendly indeed with great knowledge of the village and more around. There are great places to eat especially ‘The New Inn’ which is about 100 metres down the road. Last of all, this is just a great stay for however many nights you are staying for. Thank you for a great stay! From Tom.

Room Tip: Room 2 and Room 6 but I expect all the other rooms are just as good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Tom for a great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us. The Strand Bistro at The New Inn in our village is proving extremely popular with our guests, the food is of an excellent standard as you found yourself. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had to go down to Cornwall at very short notice as my father was seriously ill and in hospital in Truro. Angela & Graham were fantastic ... Because of the situation we didn't actually know how long we were going to stay and only let them know every morning if we needed a room. We were with them for 5 days and had 3 different rooms, all absolutely spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and beds to die for ... The breakfast each morning were delicious and set us up for a long day at the hospital.
We could not have wished for anything better. We have no hesitation in recommending this small and fabulous hotel .. People should definitely try it, you will be as pleased as we were. We will definitely be using this amazing place again. Thank you Angela & Graham, you made a bad time easier to deal with xx

Room Tip: We have had 3 rooms, all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Michelle, we really appreciate your kind review. We are pleased that we could make your stay with us as comfortable as possible at such a difficult time for you and hope to see you again in happier circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely room with great view of church and rolling hills. Double glazing so also very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Angela and Graham made us very welcome with a most appreciated cup of tea when we arrived after a 4 hour drive and the breakfasts were super. They recommended a good restaurant in Lostwithiel for our anniversay dinner and the New Inn - a 2 minute walk from Elmswood - serves tasty gastro pub food in its Strands bistro. There is a beautiful garden with chairs and tables to sit and relax to enjoy the views as well as the lounge areas indoors. We were provided with a map of the quickest route to the Eden Project which was a great help.

Room Tip: Our room was Room 3 which we would highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinneandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmswoodhouse, Owner at Elmswood House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you Corrineandjohn for your review, it was good to have met you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed a relaxing peaceful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My parents come down from London to stay with me in Cornwall each year, we have recently moved to a quaint little village called Tywardreath and knowing how fussy my mother can be, we had to keep her close to us and in a very fine establishment, I read all of the reviews of Elmswood house and booked straight away. Am i glad i did!! All expectations where more than exceeded with such a pleasant welcome, superb views, a lovely room with everything you need, and nothing was to much trouble. We joined my parents for breakfast on a glorious Sunday morning and it was delicious with perfect surroundings. From my parents and certainly me thanks you Angela & Graham for a wonderful stay, although where just up the road we may treat ourselves to a fantastic stay, the parents will be staying again in the summer and are very much looking forward to it, Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We were given the best available room on arrival so we didn't even have to ask, ask Angela or Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Elmswood House. The room was well decorated and clean with a lovely view of the village and we slept very well in the comfortable bed.Tywardreath is well positioned for exploring the pleasures of Cornwall and we particularly enjoyed the good food and drink at The New Inn which is a traditional pub which is just a couple of minutes walk away. We are looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Par hotels
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
1 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
0.4 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#6 of 16 in Par
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 16 in Par
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emms Cottage
Emms Cottage
#12 of 16 in Par
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmswood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmswood House

Address: 73 Tehidy Road | Tywardreath, Par, St Austell PL24 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmswood House is situated in the historic village of Tywardreath, Cornwall, just 4 miles from Fowey and the Eden Project, and close to Heligan, Mevagissey, local beaches and many popular attractions. This lovely rural village inspired Daphne du Maurier to feature Tywardreath in her classic novel "The House on the Strand" We offer king size,double,twin and ground floor/2+1 en-suite rooms which are beautifully appointed and feature quality bedding with Egyptian cotton sheets, Freeview digital TV, tea & coffee making facilities and many extras. Guests can relax in the garden view lounge, the TV lounge, or sunny gardens with views over the sweeping valley landscape. The village is served by the Fowey-Mevagissey bus service and Par railway station, on the London-Penzance and Aberdeen-Penzance lines, is only 5 minutes walk. Newquay Airport is a 40 minute drive and for motorists we have a private car park. Breakfast features a home cooked English breakfast using delicious local produce, fresh fruit, yoghurt, home made marmalade, cereals, and as much toast, tea & coffee as you wish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmswood House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing