We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable self-catering accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Acres Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Acres Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Par
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable self-catering accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed at the Greenacres Cottages, Par, twice now - once in a single storey cottage and once in a double storey cottage. The cottages are consistently immaculately clean, spacious and the furnishings comfortable and sturdy. The single storey cottage had heated tiles in the bathroom and a heated floor in the bedroom which was very pleasant in cooler temperatures. We found the beds comfortable in both cottages - although on the softer side - and the bathroom had excellent amenities including heated towel rail and a good shower. The 2 storey cottage has two bathrooms which, for 4 people, is very convenient. The kitchen is also well equipped. The there is a log fire available in both cottages but we have not used it and a communal pool - which we have also not used.

The cottages come with a dvd player but no dvds, and to make things really perfect it would be good if there were dvds or games available for rainy days/nights.

When we recently stayed, our bedside lamps had blown bulbs when we arrived, but the staff were very obliging in fixing them the next day.

Greenacres Cottages is located a driving distance from the nearest pub, restaurant or take away, and the nearest decent sized supermarket is at St Austell. However, the cottages are very convenient for exploring the nearby coast with Looe, Polperro, Mevagissey and Fowey all an easy driving distance. The view from our cottage over the hills was fantastic, and some cottages even get sea views. In the paddock next door were some lovely horses and there's a bird sanctuary a very short drive away.

Overall these cottages are very well presented, excellently priced and feel like a home away from home. I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with less mobile people or children, choose a single storey cottage. In winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Moriarty_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at one of the cottages for 4 nights with our 2 dogs in February with some of the worst weather Cornwall has had for many years. The cottage was beautifully clean, well equipped and well heated for a winter stay. The bathrooms, all 3 of them are heated, which made for no chilly baths or showers. The cottages are well located for many visitor attractions or for going to the coast, dog walks etc.

Room Tip: Best cottages for adults probably number 5 or 10, both have hot tubs. Dog cottages are limited, we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found a great offer on late rooms to stay here in December and it was fabulous.
The cottage was spotless and the views were spectacular. The minute we walked through the door, we were so impressed, we booked another 2 nights immediately. We are in our 20s with a 1 year old so we requested no stairs in the cottage, as we would need a baby gate. We were given the end cottage which was rounded with spectacular views. There are stairs outside up to the door, so this was not suitable for wheelchair access (although I think next door had a back door with no stairs). A baby high chair and travel cot was provided. As was an iron, two hair dryers etc. There was a bathroom and en-suite toilet with a large shower. It was modern and really comfortable with almost everything you would need. Dishwasher and 2 tablets provided, take washing up liquid, washing powder and kitchen roll etc, but everything else was provided including towels. Bring your own for swimming.
The pool was really nice, clean and spacious. There was nobody there when we stayed. It was on the cold side, however it was December. The baby loved it, but he did have a lot of swimming gear on to keep warm. It's better for a swim than a relaxing soak.
It is close to many nice beaches, Eden project and places to visit. No shops within close walking distance, but many supermarkets and local villages close by car.
We cannot wait to return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in September in a pet friendly cottage. Well equipped and maintained, though we did have to vacuum the carpet and found the remains of the previous occupants' snacks under the seats in the lounge.We also found the heating in the cottage overpowering and couldn't manage the heating controls. However we don't have central heating at home so most people who do would probably be okay with the temperature. Overall we were pleased, except for the beds. We do short trips away about five or six times a year and these mattresses were the worst we have ever attempted to sleep on: springy and very soft - they literally squashed right down when you sat or lay on them. My daughter had the same problem as us and she is in her twenties. The beds themselves were also quite low to the floor. They suited the style of the cottage and its furniture but not two 60+ year old backs (and one 20 year old back!). It was a blessed relief to get back to our own bed with its 28 year old, but still firm, mattress. But we love Cornwall and there are always compensations! Such as lovely countryside views from the rear of the cottage and a small walled and gated yard at the back. Outside the open areas were well looked after and there were designated parking areas - these were a bit tight for our mpv, but there was spare space elsewhere if needed, which was fine for our son who joined us later and brought his own car. There are nearby easy countryside walks ideal for exercising a dog off-site. Swimming pool water on the cool side (I'm told), but nevertheless my husband and son used it twice and enjoyed their exercise. The ambient temperature in the pool building was lovely and warm though, ideal for keeping an eye on the swimmers. We were impressed with the standard of this pool given the small size of the cottage complex. As previous reviewers have said, there are no pubs within walking distance, but within several miles is Fowey which is packed with eateries of all descriptions. The north coast is within easy striking distance as well. To sum up, this is a lovely little complex, well planned and equipped, ideal for those with or without dogs, with the bonus of a really nice indoor pool. We would happily visit again except for the beds - I'm not sure I would want to cope with the loss of sleep again. If you can rest your head successfully on anything it won't bother you, and if you fancy a quiet self catering break in beautiful green countryside, try it. Cost wise for four adults it worked out at £25 each per night. Pretty good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapitandsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for a week. The cottage was well very appointed. Beds comfortable, kitchen well equipped and views excellent. We had a hot tub which was nice but rather exposed. The swimming pool was very cold & my daughter was unable to use it until the last day, when it had got to a reasonable temperature. We found it difficult to communicate with the offices to let them know of problems.You tend to get an answering machine. They also don't seem to return calls.

Room Tip: Cottages 9 & 10 are on one level once inside (useful for toddlers). They also have south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Cottage excellent, perfect for a peaceful and romantic break. Also good for families with the indoor pool. Not in walking distance of any pubs, but plenty of nice pubs and restaurents in th local area. Loved the britannia waves, sam on the beach and the rashleigh inn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Really well equipped cottage everything you need for a self catering holiday, we stayed in VIP cottage No 6 with hot tub, we used the swimming pool every day which was brilliant as most of the time we had it to ourselves. Locally we ate at the Crown Inn in Lanlivery which was fantastic and we also ate at the Ship Inn Polmear which was good for a Bar Meal. Fowey was lovely but we thought Polperro was amazing a little bit further along the coast but well worth a visit. I would definitely recommend Green acres for the location and Cottage all in all we had a great week. One very small criticism the floor boards in the bedrooms were incredibly noisy and a bit annoying at times but I still have to give it 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.8 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Cottages

Property: Green Acres Cottages
Address: Penpillick, Par, St Austell PL24 2RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Acres Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Acres Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenacres Cottages Hotel Par
Green Acres Cottages Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing