We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlestown 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sam's On The Beach

Sam's On The Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charlestown 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Superb meal. Relaxed surroundings and a brilliant menu. I had lobster which was a real treat, partner shared the seafood platter which was amazing.

Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants relaxing dining with a superb fresh food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bouley0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    245
    83
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb seafood restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Situated right on the beach. Inside you overlook the beach, outside tables are situated on the old life-boat slipway.
Advisable to book ahead as it can get very busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So surprised at this review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Every visit to family in cornwall required a visit to Sams it was my must do.Loved the location,food and service but something has changed big time. I was shocked at the quality of my pizza it was half cooked and chef refused to cook it any further.I did get all english and actually ate it dough and all, i followed this with the most burnt and disgusting coffee i have ever had.I am actually in shock at how bad this all went today, i dont know what i will replace Sams with on my future west country visits but will need to start searching now :-(

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another good Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Absolutely nothing to dislike, bit pricey but what an experience, just go for special occasion, fabulous view of the beach. Could be quite romantic !! place to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Real disappointment after many years of visits”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Each year we return to Cornwall and a visit here is a must for our family. Sadly we were very disappointed this time and won't be returning. The service was very poor and the food nowhere near as good as it has been previously. The Rashiegh next door was excellent the following night. I hope Sams get a grip as already there were empty tables.......I know why.......

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbados0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's On The Beach also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Sam's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing