We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended: Very comfortable & convenient dog-friendly B&B”
Review of Ragstones B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ragstones B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This B&B is a real gem and not to be missed if you are looking for pet-friendly accommodation in a quiet location; situated close to Fowey and St Austell with easy access to the main roads for exploring farther afield.

We were given a very warm welcome and our large dog was greeted equally amicably by Amber & Charlie (the resident canines).

The good-sized double room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with TV and a small but perfectly functional en-suite including a spacious and powerful shower. There was bottled water & milk in the room for hot drinks along with a good selection of biscuits and many added touches to make our stay convenient.

There was also a wonderful view over the large garden which was absolutely stunning with colourful azalea and other early blooms. Nothing was too much trouble for Jacqui and George who provided information and leaflets on the local area.

The full english breakfasts were excellent and freshly cooked to order with homemade jam and toast to follow if you could manage it.

Thanks very much, we will be back
Joe, Pauline & B

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthranger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqui061, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Pauline and Jo, Thank you for your wonderfull comments it was a real pleasure to meet you and hope wewill see you again soon Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

My Fiance and I visited a number of wedding venues in Cornwall over the Easter weekend and stayed at Ragstones. This was a lovely start to our trip. We arrived after visiting the Eden Project in the morning, and were greeted by the owners and a Cornish Cream tea which was delicious.

We had a large double room which was extremely comfortble. It included a shower room and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a beautiful garden area which was a pleasure in the good weather we experinced.The building has also been restored thoughly to a very high standard.

We had dinner locally in the village pub under the recommendation of the the owners and where not disapointed, the food was delicious.

Ragstones was ideally located for us as we drove over to Rock that evening to meet some friends.

The next morning we had a delicious English breakfast and continued on our journey.

This was one of the nicest B&B we have stayed at and would recommend it highly. It was brilliant value, We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan_Durkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqui061, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you so much for your review. It was really good to have you stay and I hope we will see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We were really surprised at how quiet the b&b felt even though it was so close to many attractions. We went to Eden and it was easy to reach. Jacqui made us feel very welcome and was interested in what we wanted to do. She suggested some walks that were a short drive away, Luxuylan Valley is a must! But you could also take some lovely walks straight from the house.

The room was clean and comfortable and the views from the room are great.

Breakfast was served in the kitchen and Jacqui couldn't have done more to make the meal more enjoyable. Excellent food.

Thank you Jacqui we will be back to see you again.

Room Tip: Google maps helped us find the drive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and received a very friendly welcome. We had a large room, with a quiet outlook over the large garden, a firm bed and a compact ensuite. The breakfast was generous with a good choice of food, including a veggie option, and we were also given a very full hospitality tray. Parking is down a slope, with room for 2 visitor cars, although if you have a 4 by 4 the size of Utah you would find the parking rather tight. The Eden Project can be reached by car in just a few minutes along a very quiet road. Altogether, a very nice B & B with an exceptionally good level of service at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Very easy access to the Eden Project
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cglock_991568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fchaum_309433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
4.0 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 97 in St Austell
268 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 97 in St Austell
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragstones B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragstones B&B

Address: 23 Lower Kilhallon, Par, St Austell PL24 2RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: £67 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ragstones B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragstones is an award winning four star silver bed and breakfast set in the peaceful location of Kilhallon.We offer two spacious ensuite rooms with free WiFi, Freesat tv, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and toiletries. We are a dog friendly establishment and have a large garden and a secure patio for your pet to enjoy.Close to the Eden project,Mevagissey and Fowey, Ragstones makes a great base to explore beautiful Cornwall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ragstones B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragstones B&B Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing