We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ragstones B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ragstones B&B
Ranked #1 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3rd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Our 3rd visit to Cornwall and apart from being an ideal spot for visiting the Luxulyan Valley,Eden project,etc and the lovely coastal walks the hospitality is superb,friendly and home from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.Conservatory nearly completed and will be a huge asset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragstones, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Mike and Jan,
A pleasure as always and thank you for the beautiful bowl and candle stick. Can,t wait for the next visit to see what you bring next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
106
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a small but lovely cottage who are very family friendly including dogs, room 1 was very comfortable and clean. It's close to walking paths, local station and pubs and st Austell. Breakfast was freshly made and choice was excellent as guests are given a choice menu. We recommend this b&b and would stay again when we returned to Cornwall.

Thank you.

Mr Macer & family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragstones, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments I hope we will see you again soon

Jacqui and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband & myself with our labrador Otis have just had a very enjoyable weekend with Jacqui, George & there 2 Jack Russels.
We were met with a lovely drink & cake & showed to our smashing en-suite room.
Goerge was kind enough to take me out walking with all the dogs as my husband had to work.
Jacqui's breakfast special was wonderful with her free-range eggs, smoked salmon & locally sourced bacon & sausages.
They could'nt do enough for us & were very friendly & helpful - it was a real home from home!
Everything was exceptionally clean & tidy. We can't wait to go again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanotis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a excellent B&B Jacqui is a very friendly and welcoming landlady, when we arrived she had made us a super chocolate cake which we had with cream, the rooms were spotlessly clean as was the kitchen, nothing was a problem for Jacqui, I took a chap there with learning disabilities and epilepsy and she was magic with him. I would deffo recommend this B&B to anybody. Thanks Jacqui you was fab.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Ragstones is a delightful B&B we stayed a single night whilst visiting the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan which were superb. Nothing was too much problem with Jacqui and she really made all of us feel exceptionally welcome. Our two young boys loved the 'tricks' that the dogs did and the boys were asking 'when will we see them again' not long afterwards. The chocolate cake was amazing, the rooms spotless, the breakfast was lovely. I understand that normally the property is for more senior people but as my parents also stayed we filled the full house which made us completely at ease since the children could not cause any annoyance to other guests. The children loved collecting the eggs and running around the garden. Jacqui thank you very much for giving us such a great stay! One word or recommendation I would say for anyone staying my Satnav ended up completely confused sending us around in circles. GoogleMaps found us to the location but in hindsight it would have been a good idea to have printed a map of the location before setting off as it really is very close to the main road just the road to it is very close to the level crossing you can easily miss it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragstones, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review it was lovely to have you and your family to stay.I should point out that I do welcome older children but have no family rooms so most of my guests have tended to be couples with dogs, Even the locals do not always know Kilhallon if you phone us we can guide you in but we are also clearly marked on google.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed one night with my husband, son, daughter-in-law and their two little boys. We were made instantly welcome and given a cup of tea. Jacqui had made the most divine chocolate cake which came with a generous dollop of clotted cream. I was given a tour of her lovely peaceful garden and we chatted away as if we knew each other.
The rooms were excellent and I loved the homely touches like the needlework samplers on the wall. The breakfast was excellent and Jacqui took the grandchildren outside for an adventure which they enjoyed as well as the company of Charlie and Amber. We have some family photos to remind us of the visit. We would certainly visit again if we are that way in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirFresheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Jacqui must be the friendliest B&B landlady we have ever met. She makes you feel at home from the start and we enjoyed chatting over the excellent breakfasts. She also spoilt our westie terrier too!
Very clean and comfortable room with an excellent shower and overall excellent value for money. Jacqui even provides a free wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
1.8 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragstones B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragstones B&B

Property: Ragstones B&B
Address: 23 Lower Kilhallon, Par, St Austell PL24 2RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ragstones B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragstones is an award winning four star silver bed and breakfast set in the peaceful location of Kilhallon.We offer two spacious ensuite rooms with free WiFi, Freesat tv, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and toiletries. We are a dog friendly establishment and have a large garden and a secure patio for your pet to enjoy.Close to the Eden project,Mevagissey and Fowey, Ragstones makes a great base to explore beautiful Cornwall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ragstones B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragstones B&B Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing