We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break and dog friendly”
Review of Ragstones B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ragstones B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Upon arrival at Ragstones we had a very warm welcome, both from the two resident dogs and the owner. Very bright and clean rooms with good facilities, tea making, water, fluffy towels and some toiletries in the on suite in case you had forgotten to pack any.

You are able to choose from a selection of breakfast choices and times, so it allows for some flexibility. We tried the Cornish breakfast which if you ate everything would require a very healthy appetite featuring local bacon, sausage, hash browns, beans, tomatoes, black pudding, toast, mushrooms and egg. All that we tried was great, the freshest eggs ever from resident chickens, and a selection of home made jams etc. Also samples the scrambled egg with smoked salmon, which was lite, tasty and delicious.

Would highly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: We gad room one which featured a view of the lovely garden and had ample room for the trundle bed fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Found this lovely B&B via Eden Project website. It seemed to be about 2 miles from everywhere we wanted to go during a 2 night break to the area, taking in Eden, Fowey, Charleston and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

We received a warm welcome from Jacqui complete with tea and home made cake. Breakfasts were excellent especially the "Jacqui special" of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Really good size room with lots of thoughtful touches to add to your comfort, including a conservatory overlooking the tranquil gardens. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend - excellent all round.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Found this little gem by searching the internet for accommodation near to The Eden Project and what a find it was too. From a very warm welcome following a 270 mile drive to the most comfortable bed we have stayed in a B&B to date and on top of this the cottage is set in the most tranquil location and you get a breakfast that will last you most of the day, and it is served hot and on a hot plate too, we'll impressed, all the best for the future Jacqui. Chris &Helen.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a B&B close to The Eden Project, look no further!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here whilst walking SWCP warm welcome with lovely lemon cake and relaxed in Jackie and George,s lovely garden. We were pretty shattered so had bought picnic to eat in the garden rather than have to go out to find supper - it was so peaceful and weather was lovely. Good nights sleep to be followed by breakfast of eggs from their own chickens and all set for next days walking - would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderfull welcome after a long day's travelling, cornish tea with home-made scones,home-made jam etc., Beautifull house and garden, close to Eden Project, and many more lovely Cornish coves with delightfull olde worlde pubs. Jacqui and George made us very welcome and most importantly relaxed. Breakfast was superb , I put on a few ponds with all the delicious food!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragstones, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Cynthia, thank you for your review, it was a shame your visit could not have been under better circumstances. If you do decide to come again I would welcome your suggestions on how to better your stay with us as it is important to us that everything is as good as it can be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Ragstones as part of our holiday in Cornwall. As other reviewers have said, Jacqui and George are so welcoming, and it was wonderful to sit down on arrival to a lovely cup of tea and a large slice of Jacqui's delicious homemade cake! The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and views out onto the beautiful garden. There was shower gel and shampoo in the ensuite and a full hospitality tray. Despite the proximity to the railway line it was very quiet, and we slept soundly. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, and included a selection of homemade jams. Our dog was made to feel as completely welcome as we were ourselves! Jacqui is a lovely warm person, and when we told her about our allotment at home she gave us a guided tour of her huge vegetable garden and introduced us to her six chickens! This is a lovely place to stay, really you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragstones, Owner at Ragstones B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Kim and all our lovely guests who have visited this year, a whole hearted thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We have met some wonderful people and enjoyed every one of you.
Thankyou Jacqui and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the moment we arrived, everything was just as the other reviewers had said. Jacqui's lovely beaming smile greeted us and I was treated to her delicious Lemon cake and a cup of tea. My husband fancied something and 'bit longer' and was poured a cold beer! As mentioned before, bed comfortable, room and ensuite immaculate and breakfast worthy of a 5* hotel. Our hosts went beyond helpful, when, due to a function at the Eden Project, we could not get a taxi, so George took us to Sam's on the Beach. How's that for service?! We will definitely be back, as we have Eden Project tickets for the year (free when you go the first time) and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank you Jacqui & George (and Charlie & Amber the dogs) for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Par hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 16 in Par
300 reviews
1.9 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
1.7 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Emms Cottage
Emms Cottage
#11 of 16 in Par
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penarth Guest House
1 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#6 of 16 in Par
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragstones B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragstones B&B

Address: 23 Lower Kilhallon, Par, St Austell PL24 2RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: £60 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ragstones B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragstones is an award winning four star silver bed and breakfast set in the peaceful location of Kilhallon.We offer two spacious ensuite rooms with free WiFi, Freesat tv, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and toiletries. We are a dog friendly establishment and have a large garden and a secure patio for your pet to enjoy.Close to the Eden project,Mevagissey and Fowey, Ragstones makes a great base to explore beautiful Cornwall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ragstones B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragstones B&B Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing